Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Energency care in the streets, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Great stuff, I have always found this series of books to be an excellant resource for helping me develop my paramedic skills and knowledge, though have admitedly found it tiresome deciding which parts of the book I could incorporate into my own practice. This new version though carries on the all the good tradtions of previous books i.e. clarity, ease of reading and pick-upability (I do not know if this a real word, if not it should be) but all parts of it are now relevant to me and my practice, I am sure it will prove to be a great purchase for all who buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emergency Care in the Streets (UK Version), 21 Jan 2008
This is by far and away the most important Paramedic manual in years. Written in clear precise English designed by Paramedics for UK practising Paramedics. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jon - Paramedic ECP, 30 Jan 2008
By 
This new, anglo version of the cardinal emergency care text is a must for all paramedics, ECA/Techs and ECPs. The chapters are clearly written, informative and have upto date images and contemporary detail. This is both a fantastic study aid and source of reference material. It is well worth investing in this historically pivital pre-hospital text book. Well done NC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning support for tomorrows profession, 17 Jan 2008
By 
R. F. Furber (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nancy Carolines text came to the UK in the 1970's and has been used since then to develop EMT and Paramedic education. The USA version has now been written specifically to meet the needs of the UK, Ireland and most of Europe to support the delivery and development of Paramedic education and training.
The book has been authored by practicing Paramedics in the UK and it has been subject to a thorough peer review.

The text will provide you with a vast range of information and review material to assist you in enhancing your knowledge and skill through the development of Paramedic practice that will meet the ever changing demands on the service provided.

I have been involved with Paramedic practice and education for a very long time and out of all the text I have used during my career you will find this to be the gold standard under one cover. I would highly recommend this book to help you give quality service to your patients.

Roland Furber
College of Paramedics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emergency care in the streets (uk version), 10 Jan 2008
By 
Steven Small "DYM" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
fantastic! its a great read bringing emergency care to the streets of UK - in ENGLISH! the American book is fine but the book relates to our care in our streets and towns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets, 16 Mar 2010
By 
N. Thompson (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets (Hardcover)
I am a Wholetime Firefighter in Northern Ireland and i purchased this book recently to enhance my knowledge & understanding of Trauma & Pre-Hospital Care of patients on our busy roads & streets, the station that i work out of attends a high number of serious & unfortunately often multiple fatal RTC's in the course of any given year. I haven't purchased this book to become a Paramedic or indeed take over the role of a Paramedic but as i have on several occasions now found myself in a posistion where we are first in attendance at a serious RTC & no Emergency Ambulance is available for the intial period the need to deliver good quality First Aid & Trauma Care skills to casualty's that are trapped or not is essential to Save Saveable Lives!, this book enriches you with a level of information & wealth of experience that does just that!, as i have been involved in First Aid now for over 20 years at an advanced level i can see how this book fills the gaps in skills & knowledge that a standard First Aid book fails to explain to you,( i'm not taking away from the standard First Aid book it has a very useful purpose) - if you are a Firefighter with a strong interest in First Aid / Trauma Care or you hold the FPOS (First Person On Scene)qualfication i would strongly recommend buying this book, at first it may seem a bit of a heavy read (literally lol) but take it from me you do not need to know every part of this book inside out but instead it can be used as more of a continual aid to the development of your specific skills & drills.
The level of understanding that this book provides you with is unbeleivable, take for example the chapter that covers Trauma Systems & the Mechanisms of Injury it relates directly to the types of Trauma injuries that Firefighters & Paramedics are faced to deal with intially at RTC's & talks about basic physics, deceleration injuries & the limits of the human body, this helps you to understand how casualties can die so quickly following high speed impacts. As a Firefighter you will be well aware of the phrase the golden hour, but from basic first aid training you only know what it means as a statement of speech, this book explains the golden hour in such detail that you'll be amazed & i beleive you would purchase this book on value alone just to read the text that explains Compensation For Decreased Perfussion (what the body does when it goes into shock) how & in what order the body does things to preserve itself when involved in trauma & how long it can survive for, it is truely amazing & gives you a real incentive into continuing with resuscitation efforts when you beleive there is no point at a protracted case. I am all to aware that Firefighters can only provide basic life support during incidents & operate within there remit for legal reasons but again this book teaches you how to do the basics correctly & too a high standard, which in trauma cases can be the differnce between life & death of a casualty until Paramedics or Doctors arrive on scene to administer Pre-Hospital Care which is another reason why to purchase & read this book because although you can not issue advanced treatment to casualty's you can & often do assist Paramedics & Doctors with basic life support techniques during which times from my experience you will witness first hand what Pre-Hospital Care & Advanced Life Support is all about and if your up there a the front at a call you'll be the person on your watch who is confident enough to step forward & provide assistance, but have you ever listened to or been invoved in a conversation between a group of people who are speaking a language that you don't understand? i have!, & i know how it is extremely frustrating this is! that is the best way that i can describe how you can feel when your working along side these people at a serious call & peoples lives are very much at stake it's nice to know & understand a little of there language & what is happening at any given time because from experience you can very quickly get left behind & from a proffessional point of view this can be quite intimidating.
Read this book after a Trauma call & your knowledge & understanding will improve quickly because this book is so complete. Finnally - from a Firefighters point of view Knowledge is an powerful, extremely light & easy to use tool that you always carry with you to every call! this book is well worth its weight in gold! well worth the money! a strong five stars from me... LT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emergency care in the streets, 20 Feb 2008
By 
S. Doble (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent textbook which covers all aspects of 'out of hospital' care, this surely will become the standard textbook for all future paramedic courses being held in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets (Hardcover)
I bought this item for my partner who is a student paramedic. As a student doctor myself I was impressed with the book. It's very detailed and similar to Kumar and Clarke's for medics. There are so many books out there. I feel this is a good starting place for student paramedics. Most university have it within their reading lists.

Please check you buy a UK version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book., 5 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. N. Pearson "npearson01" (Thetford, Norfolk, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of if not the best paramedical books I have read, until recently it was only available in US version only now being published in a UK version. This I beleive is the reason british training schools have favoured Mosby's as recommended reading, I can see that changing with this UK version.

Although slightly more expensive than some of the other paramedic textbooks I believe this is well worth the extra pennies as it is very thorough but thoroughly readable. A definite must for current and aspiring Paramedics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Aug 2009
Very, very comprehensive textbook, highlighted by the fact that it has over 1700 pages! Has brilliant colour photos, diagrams and cartoons that are clearly referenced into the text. Also has paramedic assessments and then reviews of your answers to help you to apply your theory to different example scenarios with 'You are the Paramedic' case studies.

Another advantage of the textbook that I find very useful and informative is the use of special text boxes to help aid learning and understanding for example, 'At the Scene Boxes' which discusses practical application of material for use in the context of the ambulance call. Other boxes include: Notes from Dr. Nancy Caroline, Special Considerations, Vital Vocabulary, Controversies, Documentation and Communication and Skill Drills. These all help to clarify understanding of the text and draw in extra information to aid learning and more importantly to get you thinking.

In my opinion, well worth every penny, extremely impressed with this textbook and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets
Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets by British Paramedic Association (Hardcover - 10 July 2009)
Used & New from: 30.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews