Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my son still loves it
This was given to my son when he was 2 when i had his sister. He loved it then and still loves it now (at 6yrs)as he can read it himself and he loves the pictures and story. It is a very positive book as it is honest ... it says the younger child does have needs that will have to be met but as parents we will find the time for you as well and in the end you will have...
Published on 10 Dec. 2010 by cadle

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Thankfully my daughter was given this book after her little sister was born, as it paints a very bleak picture of what life will be like after the baby is born. Neither parent has time for the older child because they are so busy looking after the new baby, and even visitors to the new baby ignore the older child. At the end of the book things brighten up when he is told...
Published on 28 May 2008 by Rosalind


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my son still loves it, 10 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
This was given to my son when he was 2 when i had his sister. He loved it then and still loves it now (at 6yrs)as he can read it himself and he loves the pictures and story. It is a very positive book as it is honest ... it says the younger child does have needs that will have to be met but as parents we will find the time for you as well and in the end you will have soemone to play with and have fun with. It is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable book, 6 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
Such a lovely book! Bought it for my daughter when I was expecting and it became a firm bedtime favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 May 2008
Thankfully my daughter was given this book after her little sister was born, as it paints a very bleak picture of what life will be like after the baby is born. Neither parent has time for the older child because they are so busy looking after the new baby, and even visitors to the new baby ignore the older child. At the end of the book things brighten up when he is told he can play with the new baby - however in my experience it's really not advisable to suggest a toddler can play with a newborn! I would hate to think that any child experiences the rejection this book portrays on the birth of younger sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
Lovely little book, good focus on what might happen after the baby is born.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Za-za's Baby Brother, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
This book was perfect for my 3 year old. We read this at bedtime to help her understand what was happening now that she is going to be a big sister. Lovely colourful pictures. She loved this book and the wording was just right for her to understand, she would even say afterwards 'when daddy takes you to hospital I will have to stay with Grandma just like za-za'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
excellent book heartwarming and good fore it's purpose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not pleasant, 1 Dec. 2008
By 
Mrs. A. C. Wessling "anki" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Board book)
This is a horrible story explaining how a child is made second best to a new baby. Really would not recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, even over and over again., 11 July 2001
This review is from: Za-za's Baby Brother (Hardcover)
In this picturebook Zaza, a little zebra gets a babybrother and from her point of view she tells about the time when the baby is born and how his arrival changes her life. The illustrations are in bright primary colours and very clearly outlined. My twin daughters absolutely loved this book. They were two and a half when their baby brother was born and for months on end I had to read this book to them before going to bed. After having read it several times to them, they knew the story by heart and loved reading it to me. Reading it so many times is not so bad as it sounds, because this book is a joy to read, even over and over again. This is not only due to the beautiful illustrations, but also because the story is written in the first person singular and thus it is very easy for todllers to identify with Zaza. The reaction of my dauthers spoke volumes when we read this book. For instance, they were always upset when the mother and father of Zaza did not have time for Zaza, because they were to busy with the new baby and at the end they were always very happy when the mother of Zaza finally had time to cuddle Zaza and read her a story. I really had the feeling they were talking about themselves when they would read it to me, because every time we read the book the different emotions that Zaza went through would show on their faces. I would like to recommend this book to all people who are going to have a baby and have a child or children in the toddler age. This review is based on the Dutch translation.
There are two dutch authors/illustrators I would like to recommend. Dick Bruna and Max Velthuys. In Holland both won numerous awards for their books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sibling rivalry made simple, 23 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Za-za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
Any child who is already a Maisy / Lucy Cousins fan will love this big format book which describes the problems the sibling faces when Mummy has to go to hospital to have number 2. Granny comes to look after Za-Za the little Zebra, and everyone is busy and tired and doting on the new born. Za-Za gets her share of the cuddles eventually. So it all ends happily. A great way of explaining what is going to happen when this big fat tummy turns into a demanding baby brother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows that life can be hard with a new baby in the house, 13 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Za-Za's Baby Brother (Paperback)
We love Lucy Cousins and this is no exception!

Unlike the majority of 'new baby' books this is both entirely age-appropriate for a new big brother/sister aged around 2 and unafraid to show the downsides. Za Za feels left out and short of attention but soon realises that babies can be fun and (best of all) mummy and daddy still love him (or her - Za Za's gender is helpfully ambiguous).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Za-Za's Baby Brother
Za-Za's Baby Brother by Lucy Cousins (Paperback - 10 July 2012)
£4.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews