Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite
This is quite simply a beautiful edition, illustrated as follows:
How the whale got his throat - Peter Sis
How the camel got his hump - Clare Melinsky
How the rinoceros got his skin - Christopher Corr
How the leopard got his spots - Cathie Felstead
The elephant's child - Loiuse Voce
The sing-song of old man kangaroo - Jeff Fisher
The...
Published on 25 Aug 2005

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Minus the glories of the original
This is a beautiful book, and the illustrations are fantastic; but as a lover of the original (I still have the copy my Dad received from his Uncle in 1943), I can't help but think 'What a shame'. It has been adapted for a more modern audience - but, in my belief, they have taken away some of the glories of the original to the detriment of the book.

What a...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by E. Heckingbottom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Foreign friends introduced to, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. G. Curran (Horsham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
I introduced some foreign friends to the cat that walks by him/herself etc. hugely grateful they do not have this type of bed time story for small people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
My son loved all the storys about the animals and really loves this book. A lovely book for a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children tales, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
A great author made accessible to children who get hooked to some of the stories. For bed time and throughout the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children's book, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
This was a birthday present for a yound person who absolutely loves the stories and illustrations. Excellent book. Great service and excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just So Stories, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
I bought this for my little grandson for bedtime reading. It is a beautiful book which tells the Rudyard Kipling stories I remember as a child. I am sure my grandson will enjoy it. It arrived on time (I wanted to give it to him for Christmas) and was in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a keepsake gift for a child after someone bought it for my eldest.Gorgeous artwork that compliments the traditional tales. A lovely gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kipling Just So Stories, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read for older children. I am taking my copy to Australia for my grandchildren to introduce them to something different and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rudyard Kipling, Just So Stories, 27 Jan 2011
Bought for my mum for old time sake. She used to read the stories to my youngest sister many years ago. Mum has sadly since died, but I know she got a great deal of pleasure reading through the book I got from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A children's classic in a greatly appealing format, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
Beautifully-told, ironic, whimsical, instructive little tales, which I remember vividly from my childhood. The language is extraordinary vivid and inventive (literally), and the presentation in this new volume will be enormously appealing to children, with large print and colourful illustrations. Each story has a distinctive visual style, as each is illustrated by a different artist. A delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites, 19 Oct 2013
By 
B. Brown (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories (Hardcover)
Old favourites beautifully retold and illustrated for today's children. My ten year old granddaughter is delighted with it and her parents love it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories
A Collection of Rudyard Kipling's Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2004)
13.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews