Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Morgan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
Being a fan of Marilyn Monroe's for almost 30 years, I have encountered the good, the bad and the ugly in MM books. This, I am very happy to say, is definitely one of the good. No, correct that, it is one of the great. In short it is nothing less than superb. The book is thick - much thicker than I thought it would be - and has many photographs that I have not seen before. The pages are heavy, the text is entertaining and informative, and the whole product - from the cover, to the beginning, to the end, is just amazing. I would recommend this to all Marilyn Monroe fans, as well as anyone interested in vintage fashion, and the Golden Age of Hollywood. Incredible book. Well done to all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn In Fashion, 23 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
Just received this book this morning and was very impressed. Superb quality, informative text and hundreds of photographs, both black and white and colour, dozens of which I have never seen before. I have over a hundred books on Marilyn so expect to have seen most of her photographs and there are usually a couple in each book that I haven't but not in this case! Highly recommended for any fans who are looking for new pics of Marilyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made with love, 10 Aug. 2012
By 
M. Bijlsma "Marc" (Hilversum, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book, with great photos and beautiful artwork. It is clearly made with love and is not another attempt to cash in on the name of Marilyn with a piece of rubbish. This publication is a must for any fan of Marilyn, but also for people interested in dresses of the 50's and 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
I had to wait beyond the original date quoted by Amazon but the wait was worth it. Starting with the beautiful pearlescent cover (containing a photo I had never seen before), this book is an absolute must have for all Marilyn fans. It really is a beautifully produced book. The photos, the layout and the text have all been organised and chosen with care and attention to detail and make this book really special.
With reference to the previous review by "Loreleilee", the similarities to Platinum Fox in terms of the productions values and layout can be easily explained as Cindy De La Hoz who is the author of Platinum Fox is also the editor of this book and both books were published by Running Press. However each book has a different theme and different photos. Don't miss it at this price as it is exceptional value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn & Fashion what more could you want?, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
I am a huge Marilyn fan (who isn't) and a lover of vintage fashion so this book was a definite must have for me. It is a lovely thick hardback book with a gorgeous pearlescent dust cover, in pink, silver and black. If you lift of the dust cover the hardback front and back cover have black and white photos printed on them as well, which is a definite sign that this book has been created with genuine Marilyn love and attention, (most books would leave the cover under the dust jacket plain).
The book it's self is filled with over 250 pages of gorgeous pictures of MM in some stunning timeless fashion. It looks at the fashion that MM wore over the course of her career, from her youthful natural days to the blonde bombshell we all grew to love on the silver screen. The book focuses on the designers that MM wore, the ones she worked with, the ones she made famous and the influence that this had on fashion in the decades that followed. It also looks at where she wore them and for what movie/event. For example the infamous Seven Year Itch pleated floaty white number.
Marilyn was a fashion icon and this book explores this with many sumptuous photographs and just enough informative text to add the story to the pictures. This is another reason why I love this book so much is that the text does not overshadow the delightful photos.
I would recommend this book for MM fans, fans of vintage fashion or just people who like designers and clothes as this book gives a different take on the creations of some dresses and looks that you don't always get from the standard designer led books.
A fantastic book that now looks great on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy!, 24 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
I recieved my copy of Marilyn in Fashion today, and it is a beautiful, real treat book. I don`t know why, but it kind of gives me associations to the Platinum Fox book-its a different theme, but the quality and layout/design of the book reminds me of it. Great topic, of Marilyns stylish fashion sense and lots of beautiful photos (both color and black and white)-rare photos as well,not just the overused ones. Get a copy and enjoy, you wont be dissapointed by this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising Marilyn, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book with amazing photographs and an insight into Marilyn's short and tragic life. She was not the image that was projected and it is so sad that she was so trusting of those around her.
The book is however a fabulous history of her inimitable style and she was a true fashion icon and merits a little more credit than she receives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Fashion Bible, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book with wonderful photos, some I haven't seen before which says a lot as I have a big collection of Monroe books! Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautful tribute to Marilyn's style., 28 Jan. 2015
By 
Bumpkin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
As a Marilyn collector and fan since 1984, I've seen and read many Marilyn books, some of which weren't worth the paper they were written on. This is not one of those books. Marilyn in Fashion is beautifully presented, the photographs are of excellent quality and it is accurate.

Each section focusses on a different designer and the detailed text is accompanied by both colour and black and white photographs. My only (very slight) niggle is, I wish more of Marilyn's very simple but classy personal wardrobe was included, as much of this book is about her film wardrobe.

The book is beautiful. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn in Fashion (Hardcover)
This book is just lovely to look at! It is a must for anyone with an intrest in this iconic figure,and especially,as in my case,in the clothes Marilyn wore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marilyn in Fashion
Marilyn in Fashion by Christopher Nickens (Hardcover - 21 Jun. 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews