Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book
Not tried the recipes yet but instructions look clear and attractive pictures.
Published 1 month ago by Annie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A review from someone who actually tried out the recipe
I purchased this book a month a go based on the rave reviews this book got on Amazon. Finally had the time to try a recipe today and it was a complete failure. Let me preface by saying I have made macarons before with very good results but decided to get a book that offered a variety of flavor combinations.

My major issue with the book is that the cup vs...
Published 14 months ago by JO


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A review from someone who actually tried out the recipe, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
I purchased this book a month a go based on the rave reviews this book got on Amazon. Finally had the time to try a recipe today and it was a complete failure. Let me preface by saying I have made macarons before with very good results but decided to get a book that offered a variety of flavor combinations.

My major issue with the book is that the cup vs grams conversion is off! For example the recipe says to use 1 tablespoon or 5 grams of egg white protein. THOSE AREN'T THE SAME MEASUREMENTS! I ended up following the US measurements to stay consistent and followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. The end result are macarons with no feet and cracked shells.

The book does offer some interesting ideas but the recipes and method is far from satisfactory. I've had better results with recipes from a blog - which is free! What a waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
Not tried the recipes yet but instructions look clear and attractive pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
Good book that really helps you make the wounderful Mcarons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't learn to do macaroons with this book, give up, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
Gus (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
I have a seriously large library of cookbooks and this is certainly the best one in my opinion. One single subject but investigated from every single angle and extraordinary passion. Little tips such as ageing your eggs to increase the protein concentration, and how to turn you wrist to avoid leaving a tail on the top of the macaroon are just amazing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
What an amazing book!
Fabulous ideas for flavour combos and written by down to earth Macaron loving professionals.

A beautiful book I will read time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
A book to pore over! Options for different methods, and good troubleshooting section. Inventive flavour combinations also, can't wait to try some of them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beauty, 19 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
This macaron book seems to be complete. It shows with lots of pictures how to make macarons. And it doesn't stop with explaining one method, no it explaines three different ways of making it (from difficult to easy). It is quite a thick book, with inviting pictures. Not all the recipes for the macarons or the fillings have pictures. Yesterday I received this book, so I have not made any macarons yet with one of this methods. But I have made it before and the 3rd way of making (the easy way) is the way I usually make it with. And this works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
Still looking at this book again and again, not just at recipes but ideas. Lovely book and can make a very good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book !!!, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Petits Macarons (Hardcover)
yet to make them, but looking forward to doing so...ther are so many falvours i am excited to try and experiment with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Petits Macarons
Les Petits Macarons by McBride (Hardcover - 22 Sept. 2011)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews