Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly wonderful, but with an omission, 15 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
This is nearly as comprehensive a collection of his works as it claims to be. However, I could find no Captain Klutz or Fester Bestertester. This could be due to these characters having had seperate books rather than having been printed in the magazine itself (I believe). However, owning the original books of both aforementioned characters, I can confirm they were published under the MAD moniker and therefore, I feel, merit inclusion in this collection.
This, however, is the single, solitary reason I do not give this release five stars (I would actually give it 4.5 but do not seem to be able to). Otherwise it is a sheer joy to read (although it IS quite heavy and cumbersome to do so - I recommend using the armrest of the chair for additional support), and not a single page was turned without producing at least a chuckle - and then only a chuckle because I had read the strip so many times before.
Highlights are too numerous to begin to list here, but I would draw all attention to the some of the wonderful portraits included, as these one really would need the original magazines to find anywhere else. My favourite is the Beatles one, and I would, could I, purchase the original just so I could frame it and display in a prominent location.
Please buy this book so that the genius of Don martin may once again enrich not only your lives, but those of all who enter your home, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Busted a gut laughing at it and got a hernia lifting it., 5 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
I earn my meagre living from drawing cartoons and caricatures. Mad magazine was my(and everybody elses)inspiration. All the artists were and still are wonderful. But the one who i originally latched onto was a certain Mr Don Martin....Totally surreal,crazy ,animated and strangely for a comic strip,often without a caption, noisy...Due to his self invented sound effects. These two massive beautiful hard back books in an illustrated box binder weigh about a ton and a half. Which is understanable as you have in your hand a whole world, the manic crazy world of Don Martin. And it is a world like no other.
It is fascinating to see the evolution of Martins humour and drawing style. The characters are flattened and angular in the earlier strips, but as you move on the trademark Martin style starts to make increasing appearences and the nuggets of gold appear with greater and greater frequency. The fair, but odd cartoonist become a weird ,but good cartoonist. And he becomes a deranged total one off wonderful cartoonist.
This is wonderful stuff and will take ages to read, so make sure you've something to rest it on, or you'll sever the blood supply to whatever body part your leaning the volumes upon.
I was given it as a christmas present and was absolutly chuffed, it is by the coffee table almost permamentally and i still dip into the crazy world of Don Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!!!, 8 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
Love Don Martin and MAD. Bought it, LOVE IT! A real treat and I will treasure this collection. Be warned, books are quite heavy, so watch your back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heavy legacy of a misspent youth, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series)The sixties didn't start out swinging...us baby boomers still schooled rigidly to produce forelock tugging drones.We found escape in MAD magazine,especially the Don Martin cartoons which in a few surreal panels presented a situation you would laugh about for weeks,regardless of teacher sanctions.
In the pre-Beatles world Don Martin was bigger than Elvis - no surprise then when he had his own books published.Ah those cheap USA paperbacks with the cheap glue that dislodged pages if you opened them too wide...but you didn't care,what was Fester Bestertester doing next?
As previously noted those books are not in this anthology which is two HEAVY volumes.Clearly marketing men want Don Martin seen as an "old master".He was as surreal as Dali,and funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 April 2009
By 
D. Swift "D. Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
This product wasn't for me, it was a present, but I have it on good authority, it's superb. But then, you'd not buy it for someone who wasn't already a Don Martin fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
J. A. Power - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
This is without doubt well worth the asking price. To call Don martin a cartooning genius is not an overstatement. Some of the humour is as dark as anything by Charles Addams. While the artwork is enough to make you laugh out loud on its own. If you like cartoons I fail to see how you could not love this collection. No suprise that Gary Larson does the intro as Don's influence is apparant in his workI just hope the proposed collection of his work for Cracked magazine comes out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
Don martin is the man. I have to keep the book down to stop laugh out loud and also because it is very heavy to hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing edition, 3 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my brother, a Mad's huge fan, and i grant you that it was the best X-Mas present ever. It is a fine quality edition and its worth its 14 pounds in gold :) Very very happy with the purshase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, made them cry, 7 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) (Hardcover)
I don't know much about MAD, but I got it for a friend who absolutely loved it, and it made them cry, deivery posting and dialogue from supplier was also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series)
The Completely MAD Don Martin (Mad's Greatest Artists Series) by MAD Magazine (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: £74.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews