Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like opening a Marvel time capsule
Roy Thomas and Peter Sanderson have gathered together in this book not only a history of Marvel from Marvel Comics # 1 (1939) up to 2006, which is impressive enough but a whole host of extras from Marvel's past make it a superb collector's item.
From reproductions of sketches of Marvel's WW2 heroes, especially the Sub-Mariner, Marvel's longest lasting continual...
Published on 26 Sep 2007 by I. R. Kerr

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Received incomplete.
I bought this as a gift for a friend. It took ages to arrive (from America) and was missing some pages. After, I found several other companies that held it in stock at a lower price. My friend loves it and wouldn't let me return it for an exchange.
Published 2 months ago by ucs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel by name - Marvel by nature!, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my eldest son so I can't review it as an owner. That said, if my son's reaction on Christmas morning is anything to go by or the fact that it was the most talked about present I've got him in years or that he hardly put it down, then it must be awesome! Some of the aspects he commented on were the different and historical copies of original documents, the level of detail - something any fan would appreciate. He has wanted this for years apparently but even if waiting had heightened his expectations, he was not in any way disappointed. I pointed out to him the problem other reviewers had mentioned about the weakness of the paper around the punched holes when turning pages. He agreed but again, it didn't spoil his enjoyment - 'if you're a real fan, you're going to treat it (the book) very carefully anyway' - and he moved swiftly on to working his way through the book with a widening smile with every page. Thank you, Marvel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome present for my big kid :), 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
I bought this for my partner's 36th birthday, he's always loved Marvel and I thought it might interest him. He was chuffed to bits with it! It's an easy read whilst still being very informative, the lay out and pictures are spot on and the extra bits that you can take our and examine are like the icing on the cake. It's definitely not a child's book though, maybe teens +, it's delicate and should be treasured. The ring binding isn't a problem as long as it's looked after, I nearly let it put me off buying The Vault but am very glad I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my boyfriends birthday and cannot wait until he opens it!! the description of 'a museum in a book' is absolutly spot on... its a work of art and the perfect gift for any marvel fan!! even a novice like me couldnt keep from taking a peek! brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good present for an avid Marvel fan, 24 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
Wanted an extra chrismas present for someone who loves Marvel comics. This looked a bargain especially after seeing the price in a large bookshop was 35. It has been thoroughly enjoyed by the recipient. A real pleasure for anyone who loves their Marvel - a real fans gift.

It was very well packaged when it arrived and I can't fault the condition it was in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars marvel vault, 3 Feb 2009
By 
L. MacCaig "laura" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
The Marvel Vault is an ideal present or keepsake for anyone who is interested in Marvel comic book characters. It allows you to delve deep into the minds of the creators of some of the best known and loved cartoons.The book is clearly laid out and well written, with copies of original sketches and clubs memorobilia from Marvel's hayday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Vault - Fantastic but flawed, 2 Nov 2007
By 
David J. Smith "davidsmith200" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
I agree in what has already been written about how good the book is. However, there is a major flaw in the book that needs pointing out. The pages are held in place by a metal ring binding. Even with careful use the pages are going to pull againt this binding and are going to tear and fall out. I could already see slight wear after looking through the book once - Be warned especally considering the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so captain america was missing, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. C. Martin (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
very well put together disappointing no jack kirby or steve ditko signature as the 60s was krbys era. there was no captain america stamp.very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel
Used & New from: 20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews