Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like opening a Marvel time capsule
Roy Thomas and Peter Sanderson have gathered together in this book not only a history of Marvel from Marvel Comics # 1 (1939) up to 2006, which is impressive enough but a whole host of extras from Marvel's past make it a superb collector's item.
From reproductions of sketches of Marvel's WW2 heroes, especially the Sub-Mariner, Marvel's longest lasting continual...
Published on 26 Sept. 2007 by I. R. Kerr

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Received incomplete.
I bought this as a gift for a friend. It took ages to arrive (from America) and was missing some pages. After, I found several other companies that held it in stock at a lower price. My friend loves it and wouldn't let me return it for an exchange.
Published 10 months ago by ucs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like opening a Marvel time capsule, 26 Sept. 2007
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
Roy Thomas and Peter Sanderson have gathered together in this book not only a history of Marvel from Marvel Comics # 1 (1939) up to 2006, which is impressive enough but a whole host of extras from Marvel's past make it a superb collector's item.
From reproductions of sketches of Marvel's WW2 heroes, especially the Sub-Mariner, Marvel's longest lasting continual character, the original Torch being an android. There's a reproduction MMMS membership card (I was a member of FOOM in the 1970's), the no-prize book, Marvel value stamps and many more items, it's a nostalgics dream. There are also truly personal items like Bill Everett's postcards.
Marvel fans are an intrinsic part of the Marvel extended family and although like most families, there are the odd breakdowns by and large Marvel has kept a large and loyal fan-base. It does not gloss over the collapse of Marvel and the comic industry in the 1990's due to corporate over-reach (greed) and the eventual rebirth, through to Heroes Reborn, and the recent spate of blockbuster movies.
Reading through it the names of the people who made Marvel great, Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko, Roy Thomas himself, John Buscema, John Romita and countless others appear and invoke great memories. I was a Marvelite in the 1970's and 1980's and am now catching up on both the stories I read first time round and many I missed out on. This book is full of absolutely wonderful art reproductions that cover almost 70 years and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, 'nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comic nerd heaven!, 20 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. R. Mcghee (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
This is an amazing piece of kit collecting over sixty years of marvel history. Even die hard 'marvelites' (i know it's not a real word) will find a wealth of info and facts unknown to them. The amount of care and attention that Thomas and Sanderson have put into this book is breath taking. Everything is faultless from the autographs printed on the inside cover to the reproductions of early sketches of the submarnier right through to the traiding cards included in slip cases. In the words of smiling Stan the man: Excelsior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gift for a Marvel Fan, 11 Jan. 2008
By 
C. POSTIN (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband as a gift and he loves it. I am not really into the whole Marvel thing myself, but found myself interested enough to read it from cover to cover. Excellent and a great price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good but it is a little fragile, 23 April 2008
By 
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
This book really is a joy. Every Marvelite who gets one will love it. It contains lots of stuff that old time fans will possibly already know about but this is the first time I have seem so many photos of Marvel and Timely staff members in one book. This book is as much about the company as it is the characters and is all the better for that. I love all the reproduction pencil sketches, stamps and cards etc they are very realistic replicas. As a Brit we never really got chance to see any of those things in real life so to actually hold them in my hand is a bit of a thrill. I feel this book will mostly appeal to older comic fans between the ages of 30 and 50 looking for a bit of nostalgia rather than small boys or young fans of superhero films and cartoons. I would go so far as to say that this book is actually due to the ring binding to fragile to handle for any child under 10 (it needs to be handled with a lot of care and only opened on a flat surface. Because of this I almost dropped a star in my rating and I would have given this book four stars. Since it has been discounted so heavily by Amazon though (at the time of writing this) It now has to in my opinion have the full five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing Value, 2 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
Every part of this book is a treat, from the simple but striking cover to
the reproduction memorabilia.

Marvel Vault lovingly chronicles seven decades of Marvel Comics' sometimes
turbulent but always creative history, with particular emphasis on the first
four.

Fully three-quarters of each glossy, colour page is devoted to classic
covers, interior comic panels, photos and even unused artwork. Some pages
look good enough to frame.

The repro memorabilia ranges from the family postcards of Bill Everett to a
menu from a Marvel themed restaurant with much more besides, and says more
about each era than any amount of text.

Don't be put off by the metal ring binding - how else to hold the plastic
sleeves of memorabilia?

Good value at full price, this book is simply unmissable with its current
discount. A great gift for any comic book fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this, 29 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
I bought this for my partner who is a big marvel fan. It was a great buy and interesting to flick through. I agree the wire binding does make it a little delicate but it just needs treating with a bit of care. There are lots of interesting bits tucked away in pockets and it a break from the usual format of most reference books. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel by name - Marvel by nature!, 1 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my eldest son so I can't review it as an owner. That said, if my son's reaction on Christmas morning is anything to go by or the fact that it was the most talked about present I've got him in years or that he hardly put it down, then it must be awesome! Some of the aspects he commented on were the different and historical copies of original documents, the level of detail - something any fan would appreciate. He has wanted this for years apparently but even if waiting had heightened his expectations, he was not in any way disappointed. I pointed out to him the problem other reviewers had mentioned about the weakness of the paper around the punched holes when turning pages. He agreed but again, it didn't spoil his enjoyment - 'if you're a real fan, you're going to treat it (the book) very carefully anyway' - and he moved swiftly on to working his way through the book with a widening smile with every page. Thank you, Marvel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
how fast was this delivery less than 24 hrs amazing and what an excellent gift for xmas if you have a marvel fan in the family its a must ... great service and a great product ... buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 Sept. 2008
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
this collection or memory is amazing it has incredible art and so much information that it is so worth keeping forever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good present for an avid Marvel fan, 24 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel (Hardcover)
Wanted an extra chrismas present for someone who loves Marvel comics. This looked a bargain especially after seeing the price in a large bookshop was £35. It has been thoroughly enjoyed by the recipient. A real pleasure for anyone who loves their Marvel - a real fans gift.

It was very well packaged when it arrived and I can't fault the condition it was in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marvel Vault: A Museum-in-a-book with Rare Collectibles from the World of Marvel
Used & New from: £22.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews