Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to journalism
This book is a must for any would-be journalists, journalism students or interested citizens wanting to know how the media works. Harcup manages to bridge the difficult divide between a good practical and anecdotal account and the supporting academic/sociological theory. Throughout he has the good journalist's habit of writing interesting clean copy which makes its points...
Published on 28 July 2010 by Mojodo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VG BK FOR A CAREER IN JOURNALISM
NEVER HAS IT BEEN SUCH FURTILE TIME TO BE A JOURNALIST.WITH SO MANY CORRUPT POLICE ETC BEING EXPOSED THERE ARE MANY SUBJECTS THAT ARE OF PUBLIC INTEREST.GET OUT THERE AND EXPOSE THE SCUM.GD LUCK IN UR CAREER
Published 5 months ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to journalism, 28 July 2010
By 
Mojodo (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must for any would-be journalists, journalism students or interested citizens wanting to know how the media works. Harcup manages to bridge the difficult divide between a good practical and anecdotal account and the supporting academic/sociological theory. Throughout he has the good journalist's habit of writing interesting clean copy which makes its points clearly and neatly without much fuss.

The layout allows those only interested in the practical/anecdotal stuff to read it while ignoring the theorerical/academic underpinnings which others will need. So the book serves both audiences well.

When I went from practising journalism to teaching it some years later,
I browsed through a lot of "how to" books and this was the only single volume that
I could honestly say covered most of what a would-be journalist needed to know or think about. That was the first edition and my one reservation was that it was perhaps a little behind the game on the growth of electronic/digital media. This second edition brings that up to date well enough as far as I am concerned. I would now unreservedly recommend to students that if they can only buy one introductory book on journalism this is the one they should choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing for up and coming journalists, 2 Mar 2009
im doing a module in journalism for one semester at uni and it basically tells me everything i need to know for my assignments of writing a feature and a news article. it also has so much more information about becoming a jounalist. an amazing book for anyone interested in pursuing journalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and insightful, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many thanks for the timely send, this book is a great guide for beginners and questions all stages in which a noteworthy journalist could be born. Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A motivating, insightful, and complete guide to begin our life in journalism or to re-evaluate where you are in the field.
Part of my reading list before starting an MA in TV Journalism and its does and don'ts linked to a very original presentation - practice in one column and theory/principles in another really helps you base your thoughts in the context/environment of journalistic philosophy, ethics and law.

Light to carry around and worth keeping close when in need of reference. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VG BK FOR A CAREER IN JOURNALISM, 12 Feb 2014
NEVER HAS IT BEEN SUCH FURTILE TIME TO BE A JOURNALIST.WITH SO MANY CORRUPT POLICE ETC BEING EXPOSED THERE ARE MANY SUBJECTS THAT ARE OF PUBLIC INTEREST.GET OUT THERE AND EXPOSE THE SCUM.GD LUCK IN UR CAREER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journalism: Principles and Practice
Journalism: Principles and Practice by Tony Harcup (Paperback - 26 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews