Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text book
This isn't the simple 'how to do book' for dummies who ought not to be on a Masters level course. It's a long book yes but crammed full of good advice and knowledge. It's for the serious postgraduate student whether Masters or Doctorate. Chapters on finding a topic, developing a research proposal, sampling and research methods are invaluable...
Published on 29 Nov. 2005

versus
30 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far too cerebral for me. Is there a MSc for dummies?
I don't have time to be exhaustive, but this book was for me a complete waste of money. I wanted a book that would tell me how to write my Masters Dissertation..... The title kinda fits, does it not? What I really needed was a prescriptive, write this section (in this way for most marks) and then this section.
etc. etc. This is one of the most unreadable text books...
Published on 9 Aug. 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text book, 29 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
This isn't the simple 'how to do book' for dummies who ought not to be on a Masters level course. It's a long book yes but crammed full of good advice and knowledge. It's for the serious postgraduate student whether Masters or Doctorate. Chapters on finding a topic, developing a research proposal, sampling and research methods are invaluable. The chapter on methodological assumptions is one of the few in the literature to make sense of ‘theories’. The chapter on methodological consequences shows what we commit ourselves to when we make choices about what methodological position to take: the examples from sociology, psychology and anthropology are fascinating. The chapter on different types of dissertation made me see there are choices. This is a pedagogical textbook that refuses to ‘dumb-down’, that uses lots of diagrams to explain complex ideas, issues and debates in the social sciences. The appendices list sources on different research methods – very useful. The skills it embraces are those recommended by the UK research councils that all postgraduate students should acquire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Detailed ....., 25 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
Looking for as much help as I can, I needed to purchase a book that gave enough guidance for me to complete my dissertation. This certainly was the book, very detailed and thorough.
I will say it is a little complicated as I read in one review. However, thinking about it, you are completing your masters dissertation, it in essence should not be easy, it might take a little bit of work!!!
Its not the type of book that you can flick to a page and find out what you need. You need to read the book from cover to cover. Mainly because the author often talks about issues that are related to previous issues you need to read etc.
Good book Mr. Hart, but please improve the research methodology section!
Cheers,
James Wilson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Helpful, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
Murt O'Seaghdha (Dundalk, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
This was one of the recommended books for a masters I'm currently doing. Normally I'd borrow it and take notes. But I'll be needing to refer to it frequently over the next few months. So I decided to buy it. Its very comprehensive, combining theory and practical helpfulness, for anyone doing a masters research dissertation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Prospero77 "Prosp77" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
The variety of dissertations covered is what sets Christopher Hart's book aside for me. There are so many MA 'Guides' out there but this book is, like previous Hart publications, extremely well organised and visually pleasing to read. I've been referring to this regularly during my Masters and it has proved invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buyer experience., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
Product is exactly as ordered, so nothing but credit due!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, you wont regret the purchase, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
Essential purchase, very helpful, recommended by university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 25 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
Great book. Well advised for anyone who wants to do well in their dissertation or assignments building up to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far too cerebral for me. Is there a MSc for dummies?, 9 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) (Paperback)
I don't have time to be exhaustive, but this book was for me a complete waste of money. I wanted a book that would tell me how to write my Masters Dissertation..... The title kinda fits, does it not? What I really needed was a prescriptive, write this section (in this way for most marks) and then this section.
etc. etc. This is one of the most unreadable text books out there. OK quantum mechanics for russian cosmology professors is a little trickier, but I have just totally wasted £20.
This reads more like a PhD thesis, loosely hung around the pretence of a text book. Rubbish. Nice door-stop though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series)
Doing Your Masters Dissertation (SAGE Study Skills Series) by Christopher Hart (Paperback - 16 Dec. 2004)
£23.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews