Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for students undertaking qualitative research interviews, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
I found this book indispensable because, in comparison to other books on qualitative research, it discusses at depth important topics/tasks that are often only very implicitly expressed elsewhere (e.g. how big should you sample be, how to structure your interview research report).It also contains a brief history of interviewing.

The strenght of this book lies especially in its discussion on data analysis.

Examples:

1) The data analysis chapters go into detail on various options available - not just on coding. Full chapters, not merely few paragraphs, are devoted to other types of analysis, e.g. interpretation of meaning, linquistic analysis.

2)Worked examples for different types of data analysis are included, e.g. on how to undertake a deconstruction analysis based on Derrida.

I just wish this book was on the initial list of reading recommended to me or that I found it and read it much earlier, before I embarked on my very own interview research project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what I need, 24 Jan 2009
By 
S. Shuid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
The best available book in the market for the subject. No doubt the book give very simple explanation for very complicated tasks. In my third year of My PhD with no previous experience doing interview research, the book is simply provide answers to my problem in hand. The language also easy to understand for non-English speaker like me studying in the UK. Really recommended for any researchers who intent to use interview technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reliable, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
Great help to collecting imperic data for final thesis. Helps you all the right questions fron A to Z. One more thing. It gives you a 7 step model that it 8s easy to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kvale and Brinkmann's Standard text on interviewing, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
I had been looking for this book for some time but had been unaware that the new esition had been published. The book itself is paperback, some 350 pageslong with excellent subject index and a very good list of references.

The book is academic in nature - which is what I wanted - so anyone looking for a simple book on interview techniques should look elsewhere. This one covers interviewing from a researcher's perspective and is well supported by glossary and a chapter on learning exercises which would be useful for both individuals looking to impreove their understanding or for lecturers to use as a base for group work.

The authors treat interviewing as a craft and provide a great deal of advice on learning, preparation and practice. The section on ethics is particualrly useful to anyone using interviews for research studies. The writing style is academic but not dry and contains boxed sections to draw attention to key aspects and special situations so it is easy to follow. I found it well written and practical with plenty of examples and explanation.

Overall, I found this a very interesting and useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and Comprehensive, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
A good guide to interviewing. Clearly written and useful for my PhD research methodology chapter. Recommended for anyone interested in the art and craft of interviewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
You actually seem to experience as being an interviewer after reading the book. Includes all the messiness and offers stimulus what a researcher can do in such situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interviews: Learning the craft of qualitative research interviewing, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
The must have book if you are doing a research involving interviews, very readable and covers all the essential topics from data collection, how to interview as well as analysis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
By 
H. D. Hoseph - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing (Paperback)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing
36.89
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews