Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


239 of 251 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blair's Thought Police
Not long before 7/7 the government was planning to outlaw hatred of religious groups, a move based on the perception that the Muslim community - or should that be communities? - were victims of said hatred.
Presumably Salmon Rushdie's 'Satanic Verses' would be proscribed under such legislation?
Last year the BBC showed a documentary in which a member of the BNP...
Published on 1 Sep 2005 by T. MacFarlane

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars limited use in UK
There is a lot going on in this book and functions at a lot of different levels. The major problem for British readers is that it is about American Political Correctness. If you are interested in the roots of Political Correctness in America; you will have difficulty finding a better book. If however you are interested in how it spread to the UK; it is of limited use...
Published on 23 Oct 2009 by Mr. J. Hudson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

239 of 251 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blair's Thought Police, 1 Sep 2005
By 
T. MacFarlane "History Nut" (Fylde Coast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
Not long before 7/7 the government was planning to outlaw hatred of religious groups, a move based on the perception that the Muslim community - or should that be communities? - were victims of said hatred.
Presumably Salmon Rushdie's 'Satanic Verses' would be proscribed under such legislation?
Last year the BBC showed a documentary in which a member of the BNP stated the he would like to "machine gun" Moslems as they came out of the local mosque.
So we have two extremes: the Moslem fighting against the decadent West, and a member of the BNP who, presumably, has a rather higher opinion of Adolf Hitler than the rest of us.
This is the importance of this book: the argument that if an opinion is dangerous, it must be suppressed.
As the author rightly argues, the suppression of opinions is now a major plank in what passes for thinking on the left.
And nowhere is this more relevant than in the left's obsession with "multiculturalism".
People who are uncomfortable with this concept - probably a majority - know to keep quiet.
Diversity - pluralism - is a normal feature of an open society.
Multiculturalism, however, is something different. As the author puts it, it seeks " to shield non-European cultures from moral judgements. In the mind of today's multiculturalist, the cultural practices of minority groups are above reproach, no matter where they lead."
And we have seen where they sometimes lead on this side of the pond. There was the African boy whose body was found in the River Thames. His injuries - and death - were the result of witchcraft practices imported from Nigeria.
Many years ago, my next door neighbour sent his daughter back to a Middle Eastern country to an arranged marriage which she did not want.
These are examples of practices which multiculturalism dare not debate, and similar examples are given in this book.
The Thought Police in the UK are active in an unlikely area: criminology. As in the US, there is silence on the matter of black crime statistics. It's inviting a charge of racism to even mention - as the author does - that "the crime statistics speak for themeslves. ... Although African American men constitute only six per cent of the overall population, they account for roughly 40 per cent of the country's violent crimes."
Police officers in the UK who have made similar statements have come to regret it. After 7/7 there was talk of the police "targetting" young Moslems. This was instantly stamped on. Of course white old ladies were just as likely to blow themselves up on the Underground, how could you have thought anything else?!
The difficulty posed when facts are suppressed, is that rational discussion of why young black men are more likely to be involved in violent crime goes off the agenda.
The left undulges in a kind of Christian Science approach to human affairs. The Christian Scientist believes that if you are ill you can think yourself well - by reading Science and Health - because illness is the result of bad thinking, and Mary Baker Eddy's book will correct your thoughts.
So, for the left, thinking that someone is a criminal makes them a criminal: they are the victim of your bad thoughts.
The left's delusional thinking is ultimately an indiaction of its deep seated wish to return to the comforts a closed-society where "I think" has been abolished. It is a victory for Hitler, Stalin, and the Inquisition: someone else knows best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener!, 4 Dec 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Hardcover)
This is a surprising book. Written by a 'pro-choice', lesbian feminist activist, as she describes herself, the book is refreshingly honest. I never thought I'd find myself agreeing with the author, who is so different from me in almost every respect - well, we're both human! Should be read by anyone willing to have an open mind and prepared to confront one's prejudices. Very good - a real eye-opener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposing the agenda of the Saurons amongst us, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Hardcover)
Tammy Bruce explores the disturbing rise of the Thought Police that tries to silence individual opinion. They operate through the media, special-interest groups and the power elite that uses perpetual victimhood combined with speech and thought control to gain and hold power. This is even more destructive when it is done by the Left, the political wing that claims to be the protector of free speech and personal liberty.
The author writes from the belly of the beast, so to speak, as she was president of the LA chapter of the National Organisation for Women and experienced these activities at first hand. At the heart of Thought Police activity is the argument that certain types of speech and the expression of certain opinions hurt certain groups and as a result should be restricted. The explicit message comes in the form of politically correct speech codes while implicitly the message is to remain silent when the virtual assassination of those who oppose the Left's status quo takes place, as in the case of Dr. Laura Schlessinger.
Bruce shares her unique experiences on the inside of a social movement and dispels the myth that only the Left's prevailing opinions are valid. She encourages the reader to think for herself/himself and to bravely explore their own opinions and conclusions about significant and controversial social issues. The book is an appeal for reclaiming ourselves and our culture from the self-appointed Kommissars.
She deals with the evolution of political correctness and its speech codes, contrasting the difference between the Lockean ideal of classical liberalism and today's Left, while exposing the hidden socialist sympathies of feminists like Betty Friedan and others. She demonstrates how the Left has become a mind control cult with the sole purpose of perpetuating itself. Her investigation of the concept of "hate crimes" is astute and enlightening as is her analysis of Groupthink.
Her writing is engaging and often humorous, as in the chapter in multiculturalism which she calls "the individuals. She also shines a piercing light on the double standards in the news media, the entertainment industry and academia, with reference to the disgusting book American Psycho and the OJ Simpson case.
The book ends on an optimistic note with example of successful social activism that was meant to empower and achieved great results and a section on the power of the individual to adhere to sound values and morals. The book concludes with copious notes, a thorough index and a bibliography that includes Hannah Arendt, Andrea Dworkin, Aldous Huxley and George Orwell.
Other must-read books of related interest include In Defense Of Global Capitalism by Johan Norberg, The New Anti-Semitism by Phyllis Chesler, Tales From The Left Coast by James L. Hirsen, The Vision Of The Anointed by Thomas Sowell and Treason by Ann Coulter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly good read, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Cja Carr "Carrsy" (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
If you have ever thought that something isn't right, then read this.

I would normally run a mile from the idea of reading a liberal, feminist pro-choice author's book, you can imagine it being the usual anti-male rant.

But...it isn't. Actually it is very readable, very eye opening, and Tammy Bruce is the sort of feminist I could support quite happily.

Like Chuck D, Tammy is more pro-her cause that anti-everything else. She is pro-female, pro feminine empowerment, but not at the sake of demolishing men.

If Ann Coulter is the extreme Conservative, then Tammy Bruce is the voice of reason. She points out the obvious questions that we have all wanted to ask, but knew that we would be shouted down by the liberal extremists.

If you have questions start here, it is very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the subject that I have ever read., 16 Feb 2011
By 
A. Cadwallender (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
As an expose of the power grab and suppression of freedom that lie behind Political Correctness, Multiculturalism, Feminism, Gay Rights, etc., this book is unsurpassed. It is an American book, but is nevertheless invaluable to us here in Britain, as some would argue that the aforementioned movements actually began in America before crossing the Atlantic. To quote a saying, when America sneezes, the rest of us catch a cold. To fully understand what is happening over here, you also need to understand what is happening over there - the arguments are essentially the same, and the threats to reason, common sense, freedom, and democracy are also the same.

Furthermore, this book is readable. There are several British-produced books on this subject, but most of them read as though they had been written by academics, for academics. They are consequently very dry and difficult to follow. Tammy Bruce on the other hand, writes in a simple style that is easy to understand, and she illustrates her arguments with many examples of left-wing activity in America that are forceful, and sometimes downright shocking. This is the first non-fiction book of which I have been able to say - I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me think!, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
With the latest news from the whistle blower in Hong Kong, this book provides a necessary and important background
study to what is going on.
I would hope that this book would find a wide circulation to educate
someone once said:-
you can fool some of the people all of the time, all of the people some of the time,
BUT you can't fool all if the people all of the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRUTH FROM SOMEONE WHO HAS BEEN THERE., 23 Feb 2013
By 
David J. Hayward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
This book blows the lid on all the dirty tactics used by groups that state they are fighting social injustice to gain power and influence for themselves. Written by someone who has worked on the inside and been victimised by the system for telling the truth and wanting true liberalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food for Political Thought, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Paul Stevens (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
Before I actually start on my opinion of this book I would like to state for the record that I am neither a staunch left or right wing voter, I voted Lib Dem at the last general election mainly because I wanted electoral reform and I support their stance on the welfare system. My political opinions vary depending on the specific issue therefore I am probably best described as a centralist.
I only point this out to pre-emptively counter the oh-so predictable accusations of "right wing apologist" or "right wing fascist". Or the annoying tin-foil-hat obsessive accusations of being involved in some sort of conspiracy to undermine freedom, the rights of the people or the far left cause which sadly have been a common occurrence for me in the past when I've voiced a view that could even vaguely be perceived as being in support of the right (I kid you not).

Tammy Bruce has made a very nice attempt at highlighting the common flaws and utter hypocrisy that, in my view, have become ridiculously common among a minority of the left. Anti fascist's who in many ways are just as fascist as the people they protest against, feminists who call for a female dominant society and scream sexist only when it suits them at that moment (yet keep strangely quiet when it suddenly doesn't suit them). I could go on and on but it probably wouldn't get past the mods since it detracts from reviewing the actual book.

The book is mostly aimed at American politics and therefore doesn't totally apply to UK politics. She superbly highlights several times the concept of "groupthink" which is a subject I've become very interested in recently and have witnessed a great deal over the years (it's a concept that applies to both the left and right wing before people here think I'm solely picking on the left). I also like her criticism of the media and their tendency to fly off the handle and scream isms when there is really no need. Also her criticism of focus groups, such as some gay, racism and feminist focus groups, and their flaws is worthy of praise.

On the downside she seems to be a little too right wing biased at times, she exaggerates on some issues which I believe are not as bad as is made out in this book (although I am looking at this from a UK resident's point of view), she excessively cites examples of Left Wing "fascism" against a Dr Laura (I admit to not really knowing who that is except that apparently she said some things that got misinterpreted and Tammy Bruce is a personal friend) and the whole book has a consistent outraged tone that becomes a bit boring after awhile. Still she's managed to highlight the flaws of an element of the left quite nicely; I don't doubt many of her arguments are up for debate and that is of course up to the reader.

Recommended reading for anyone who's fed up of twisted meanings, shouting opposition down, promoting propaganda and annoying hypocrisy from an area of politics that's supposed to promote equality, free speech and free choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars limited use in UK, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. J. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
There is a lot going on in this book and functions at a lot of different levels. The major problem for British readers is that it is about American Political Correctness. If you are interested in the roots of Political Correctness in America; you will have difficulty finding a better book. If however you are interested in how it spread to the UK; it is of limited use. The author is a `recovering Political Correctness thug' who was involved in many of the early campaigning to impose Political Correctness on the multitude; purely for your own good of course. I have read a number of British books on Political Correctness which make reference to this book; but to appreciate the sheer mindless viciousness of these people you need to read this book. Some of the tactics are of interest since they show the arrogant narrow mindedness of these thugs; but much of the tactics used simply would never work in the UK. As I read my way through this book , I was struck by the similarities between their tactics and the behaviour of the Ku Klux Klan. It was obvious that they had just copied them. Of course this book only gives the reader a highly selective view of the subject and is difficult for British readers to try to get a balanced perspective on the subject. Of course the book is just full of the usual gibberish about America being the country of free-speech. Anyone who has read some of the books coming out of America must be struck by the sheer volume of bigotry between different factions. One word out of place in America and somebody will jump down your throat about `that not the American way of doing things' . It amazes me that a country which must have the largest number of races and religions ; has a single recognised way of doing anything. Anyone who has read about the Ku Klux Klan or the `Scopes monkey trial' has to be shocked at the sheer range of bigotry in America. Only in America can people openly claim that free-speech is bad for you and get away with it. The author makes a number of references to the way various special lobbying groups are hijacked by political parties. To me this implies that Political Correctness has spread through our society because it suits the politicians. If you lie down with dogs; you get up with fleas. One of the ways Political Correctness spreads is by indoctrinating people at school and university and as these brainwashed zombies infiltrate the running of local and national government and the police; you are guaranteed to meet the `three wise monkey' which ever way you turn. Extracting anything useful for British readers will require some serious thinking; since much of the book is not directly transferable to the UK. Interesting in places, very repetitive, can be boring when rambling on about people not known in the UK. The book gives a very one-sided view of the early days of Political Correctness and you can detect the bitterness the author feels for her co-workers who `stabbed her in the back'. I also feel that the author still does not understand the concept of free-speech judging by many of the statements she makes in the book. For British readers the main aspect of the book is the sheer bloody-mindedness hypocrisy of these people. I use the label `these people' to describe these bigots because it is difficult to work out who they are. They are frequently referred to a the `Left' ; but when you snuggle up to main-stream political parties and receive government funding: you are really part of the `Right'. Confused ?. One aspect of the book which is directly transferable from the US to UK; is the extent to which Political Correctness paralyses the thinking processes of a society. The author implies that Political Correctness has its roots in feminism. She also implies that women don't function well in reasoned logical debate; therefore they shout down and prevent their opponents from giving their point of view. I think a lot of intelligent women would find this assessment highly insulting. The author seems to have difficulty in coming to terms with the fact that the disgraceful lobbying methods used are the usual `tried and tested' methods which have been used in America for decades; who knows perhaps even centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconsciously reveals - in part - how money controls American propaganda, 7 May 2009
By 
Rerevisionist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Thought Police (Paperback)
Published 2000 so somewhat outdated, though in a way this can help give perspective. The material is mediocre - all the topics are north American 'news' items, formatted as separate pieces thrown together under chapter headings. Important, trivial, joke, and irrelevant items follow one after another. The cultural stuff is almost exclusively film and corporate magazines and other material. It's obviously aimed at a mass market of people assumed - probably rightly - to be 'dumb' - with the accompanying tripe - 'award-winning'.

She assumes the naive modern American dream:-- the Civil War was about freeing slaves/ Walter Cronkite was truthful/ Martin Luther King was a great reformer/ 'for over 300 years, people have left everything behind... [for] freedom' when in fact many came for money, and many kept connections with their roots/ the 'Holocaust' happened as in the media.

To keep this review short, I'll make notes:--

[1] Secrecy. Steinem, Ireland, Friedan are revealed to be 'communists'. NAACP gets some mentions, including its handling of Rosa Parks. So does ACLU with its 'pro bono counsel'/ and the ADL 'one of the more respected Jewish hate-monitoring groups'. All this of course shows the Jewish influence which is at least officially unmentioned. It's difficult to tease out the other threads - obviously other groups have interest groups too.

[2] Examples of money. By comparison with national scams, the sums are tiny, of course. Note therefore the evasion of serious issues involving money including the likely funding of anti-free speech groups:--
* Jesse Jackson has three homes.
* NOW - National Organisation of Women, only a few thousand members - took $800K during Clinton/Lewinsky (1995 on)
* 'ebonics' invented to try for money for bilingual teaching

'The left's assault on free speech' is something of a code phrase. If you want to understand the bizarre way some crimes are ignored and others made into endless 'news', and how pressure groups work and laws become corrupted, this unfortunately isn't the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Thought Police
The New Thought Police by Tammy Bruce (Paperback - 26 Mar 2003)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews