Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!
All I can say is fantastic! It has everything you need. Has a massive section on how to build your own characters and inlcudes all the missions including both the expansion packs.

And at about an inch think I could rave about this game guide but all I shall say is if you love oblivion and want the most you can get out of it - buy this guide. It doesn't ruin...
Published on 24 Oct 2007 by Neil Wood

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but annoying lack of index
This book on the whole is really good, stuffed full of informative articles, maps and lovely colour illustrations. I even really like the paper used! Its the perfect book for a rainy afternoon to sit and read through with a cup of tea and some biscuits..... I have already learnt a great deal about the game, aspects that I didn't previously realise and that are already...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Ms. G. B. Catton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Neil Wood (Manchester (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
All I can say is fantastic! It has everything you need. Has a massive section on how to build your own characters and inlcudes all the missions including both the expansion packs.

And at about an inch think I could rave about this game guide but all I shall say is if you love oblivion and want the most you can get out of it - buy this guide. It doesn't ruin anything for gameplay but tells you things and locations of places that you wouldn't find unless stumbled upon. For example all the side missions - you have to kind of bump into them. This guide tells you how to activate them and where.

Basically buy this guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap paper dodgy binding but a very informative book., 2 Jun 2008
By 
R. Craig (Valencia, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This is a great book and it's packed full of information not only with all the quests and maps but also detailed explanations on game play, monsters, weapons etc. Its the players handbook of Oblivion.

The only thing that I don't like is the darn binding and the quality of paper. The binding is one of those typical books that you need to force open in order to read the text near the spin. Very annoying. The paper used is very poor. Its the same paper they use for comics, cheap an tacky. Come on guys invest a little more in your book please.

Apart from that the book is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guides I ever own!, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Göran Olsson (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
If you own Oblivion this guide is a must have. It describes almost everything about the game. All from how you build a character that suits your gamestyle best to a walktrough to all the quests in the game. The only negative about the book is the quality of the paper that are a little thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but annoying lack of index, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This book on the whole is really good, stuffed full of informative articles, maps and lovely colour illustrations. I even really like the paper used! Its the perfect book for a rainy afternoon to sit and read through with a cup of tea and some biscuits..... I have already learnt a great deal about the game, aspects that I didn't previously realise and that are already useful in game play.

However, I find the lack of index incredibly annoying,in that when in the game I come across a new and unknown enemy or a new cave etc,I have to do an awful lot of hunting in the book to find information on the creature, or if the cave is vital to a quest and I should leave it for a while that kind of thing. I still can't find information on the unicorn - why is unicorn not in the creatures section?
In short it is not nearly as useful as it could be for in-game consultation.

Thank goodness for on-line websites where I can search for anything and immediately find out not only the information on the specific item but a clue then as to where I mind find the detail in the book!

I appreciate that an index would take up a large portion of the book, but I really do think it would be worth its weight in gold. Could an index perhaps be made available on-line?

I don't regret buying the book, but I don't think its as user friendly as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With reference to the "Good but incomplete" review, 21 Feb 2008
By 
G. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
The maps are there; on my version they are from pages 499 - 544.

They are not on the main contents list but they are there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but not essential for all., 6 Aug 2009
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
A Prima strategy guide for the Classic game Oblivion. but should you buy it?

The guide is comprehensive and covers most aspects of the vanilla game. it is written clearly and helpfully.

Oblivon is a very big game so it is difficult to recall everything (even after playing it as much as I have) and I have spent a lot of time finding out new information so on that basis it is a good buy.

BUT.

If you are a PC Version owner I would not recommend purchase of this guide. the PC version of the game allows for user created modifications to the game that the PC user will inevitable end up using.
These dramatically change the game and thus make the guide obselete.

also most of the information is available over the internet.

but I still bought it, I like it and it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you could ever need !, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This guide has everything you could ever need to know about The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, From a large map to a Beastery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth buying, 7 April 2013
By 
M. H. Stagg (Kent, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
this book is simply your bible to everything to do with elder scrolls 4 - oblivion. simply everything is inside this book to do with the game and everything is explained in easy to understand language. this book is now very hard to get hold of. i am glad that i do have a copy of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its good and thorough, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. M. Sheen (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
It does the job .
The book is alittle flimsy but it will probably outlive your playing of the game .
It has alot of info - some of it you would not encounter in game without it .
It covers all dlc too so it covers everything .

In all you wont be disapointed - i own this and if it wasnt up to the job i would of course said so . Do a search elsewhere and see the book - try youtube then your get an idea of the scale of the book .

Dont pay more than say 30 quid for it - even second hand your get a book thats very well looked after - stay away from ebay - trust me ive done the running around for you ....

The book is well layed out - it is very similar to the skyrim book - and thats a well put together book in its own right .

In all its good , its complete it includes all dlc , thorough and well " if you have this game , you should get this book "

You wont be disapointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Really pleased with this book. Arrived earlier than expected and in fantastic condition. My son loves it and has taken it everywhere with him since it arrived. Great help with game play. Will account for many reading journal homework entries this term!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides)
Used & New from: £11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews