Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but only 4-stars since it's for the XBox 360, not the PC
*This review contains no plot spoilers*. Excellent, buy it! This is a suitably massive 288-page "telephone-directory" -sized guide to an equally massive game. The book's in full-colour, and is vital if you want to avoid having to exit the game to Google for tips on how to proceed - and to possibly trip over major plot spoilers while doing so. Finding vital plot details...
Published on 10 Jun 2008 by Stokie Dave

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but unpolished
This game guide is pretty good: detailed and thorough, which is what I've come to expect from the Prima series. I have little to add to the previous reviews which sum it up well, except a couple of caveats for the unwary. First is to reiterate that the guide refers only to the Xbox 360 version of the game: unfortunately this isn't made very clear (you can just about see...
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by Christine H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but only 4-stars since it's for the XBox 360, not the PC, 10 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
*This review contains no plot spoilers*. Excellent, buy it! This is a suitably massive 288-page "telephone-directory" -sized guide to an equally massive game. The book's in full-colour, and is vital if you want to avoid having to exit the game to Google for tips on how to proceed - and to possibly trip over major plot spoilers while doing so. Finding vital plot details online, simply because you couldn't find the C-Sec Academy for the first time or somesuch, is going to have you banging your head on the desk. Ouch. This books saves you from that horrible fate, and also means you won't have to exit the game to consult some digital fan-made guide on your hard-drive. Be warned that having a handy flippable book assumes the willpower to avoid flipping the pages to find out how the main story / your side-mission ends. Be warned, also, that this book refers to the XBox 360 version of the game, _not_ to the later and vastly-improved PC version of the game published in June 2008. While the plot and characters seem exactly the same in the PC version, the interface, control systems, mini-games, and keyboard/mouse controls are all radically different and improved. Nor does the book refer to the free downloadable expansion mods (which means "Bring Down The Sky", at June 08) offered by BioWare. The book is, in effect, out-of-date - hence only four stars for this review. But even once you've finished the game's main plotline, you'll probably want to play this superb game through again at least once, with a different character / class / mission-choices / difficulty-settings - and so once again this book will be supremely useful for keeping your game flowing/immersive, since there's no way you'll remember everything from a game-world of this depth and breadth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but unpolished, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This game guide is pretty good: detailed and thorough, which is what I've come to expect from the Prima series. I have little to add to the previous reviews which sum it up well, except a couple of caveats for the unwary. First is to reiterate that the guide refers only to the Xbox 360 version of the game: unfortunately this isn't made very clear (you can just about see it in the enlarged image of the cover) and it doesn't describe the PC interface or controls; which won't be a problem for the experienced player, but one could argue that an experienced player doesn't need a game guide! This was unfortunate for me since I'd bought the guide as a manual of sorts: having downloaded it from Steam I obviously didn't receive a printed manual.

The other minor niggle is that the pages, or at least the images, appear to have been rescaled into A4 format from their original presumably U.S. "Letter" format giving them a stretched appearance. This is more of an irritation than a genuine problem, but that sort of dated corner-cutting gives it a rather unpolished feel.

Overall, it is a good guide, but Prima dropped the ball both with the presentation and keeping it up to date: their sloppiness has let it down somewhat. I still recommend it, but more cautiously than I'd prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great. A must have!, 17 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I have never been for strategy guides. Wanted to play the game on my own.
This was the first I ever bought and actualy started to use.
Did a first play-thru without the book. But I noticed after, when I started to read thru the book, that I missed a lot of fun sidequests.
I still only use the book tot check up from time to time.
A real must have if you like Mass Effect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely enlightening and helpful, 5 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this after I got the game for Christmas. I started playing, and as it occured to me that this game is massive, I constantly got lost and stuck in places.

I bought the guide and it is extremely helpful as it told me backstory on all of the characters agve in depth maps and really hlped me to know the best places to level up and how to get side quests. (Listening Post Alpha and Theta are really god ones)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I Got the guide book about 2 weeks after I ordered it from here, Bought it it second hand. and in very good clean condition! Quite easy to follow while playing on my game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
It had everything about the game except for one thing.
The guide for 'Bring Down the Sky'. Apart from that it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This game is honestly the best game ever. in mmy opinion its even better then its sequels as it concentrates more on a telling a good story wth lots of twists and turns. i have spent over 200 hours on this game that's how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
this guide is a must have for anyone who want the most out of "mass effect". it is a huge guide, its in depth and has a walkthrough for every type of playthough. gives you hints and tips on how to upgrade, and explains what each skill does. cannot stress how amazing this guide is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Value, 6 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Extremly detailed and helpfull guide to this art piece - Mass Effect.
Almost eliminates any spoilers, as far as possible, that is.
Every detail on every mission, trully helps to understand the scope and realism of Mass Effect.
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile investment, 1 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This game is so complex, especially for the uninitiated, that you really do need a guide. This book is the perfect antidote for all the many questions that arise during the initial game play, when you're in desperate need of answers to the many questions that seem to spring up from nowhere. It'll also provide answers to questions you didn't even know you had. Invest in this book and you will feel much, much happier. It's certainly a worthwhile asset, especially if you're new to RPG's. This guide will set you on the right road, rather than stumbling about in the dark with sunglasses on, which is about all the manual does for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides)
Mass Effect: The Official Strategy Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) by Stephen Stratton (Paperback - 23 Nov 2007)
Used & New from: £11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews