Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful fantasy wall calendar
Boris Vallejo has been publishing fantasy calendars for many years, to the best of my knowledge since about 1980. Every year since 2001 he has produced a joint calendar with his wife and fellow illustrator Julie Bell.

These calendars have always been beautiful to look at, whimsical and often amusing, frequently with a story linking the pictures together, though...
Published 16 months ago by Marshall Lord

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Present
It's for someone else, so hopefully they will like it, it came well wrapped up and in the appropriate time.
Published 17 months ago by Caroline Fairhall

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful fantasy wall calendar, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
Boris Vallejo has been publishing fantasy calendars for many years, to the best of my knowledge since about 1980. Every year since 2001 he has produced a joint calendar with his wife and fellow illustrator Julie Bell.

These calendars have always been beautiful to look at, whimsical and often amusing, frequently with a story linking the pictures together, though not this year. (The best such story was written by C.J. Henderson for Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy Calendar 2008, in which a Brigand is perplexed by the tale of "The Games of Nod.")

As ever, the 2014 Boris and Julie calendar is visually stunning, this time covering a diverse range of subjects with one or two pictures appearing to veer towards science fiction and others towards very different types of fantasy. One picture, in which a man and woman are confronted by a Thark and a six-limed white ape, is obviously set on Edgar Rice Burrough's Barsoom (Mars), the others on a range of SF or fantasy worlds.

The only common themes for the 2014 calendar is that all the pictures include a beautiful woman and almost all the pictures include something that flies: four of the women have wings, other pictures include birds, dragons, spaceships, or arrows.

There are a total of thirteen pictures in the calendar, one for each month of the year plus a double page picture between June and July. The cover image above left is a detail from the January painting. Six of the thirteen pictures are signed by Boris Vallejo, six by Julie Bell, and one by both.

If you like fantasy calendars you will almost certainly like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of fantasy on your own wall., 23 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
Consistent with the level of artistry of these two great artists, I could only recommend it to anyone who is a fan of their work. Very well published, arrived in excellent condition and within the specified arrival period. And as a fan of fantasy publications I suggest you buy it before it is exhausted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell Calendar 2014, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
These are two of my favourite fantasy artists, I have never felt let down by their abilities to create a world we can believe although it is pure fantasy. Some so-called artists of today could learn a lot from their imaginative images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For my Partner, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Lesley Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
I purchase the Vallejo and Bell fantasy calendar each year for my partner, as he loves their artwork. This year's calendar didn't fail to please and impress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Fantasy artwork, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
Some of the best fantasy artwork I've seen. Although I could do without the monthly comments, which I find unnecessary and frankly pathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning art, beautiful creatures, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
This is one of the best Vallejo/Bell calendars so far. Lovely pictures, beautifully executed. Can't wait for January 2014 to hang it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boris Vallego & Julie Bell Fantasy 2014 Calender, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
This is a great buy for science fiction fans this is a gift for my husband and i know he will be very chuffed i was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art work out of this world, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
The art work is why I chose this calendar, each month illustrates art work from the mind of two incredible artist .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Present, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
It's for someone else, so hopefully they will like it, it came well wrapped up and in the appropriate time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic V&B, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar (Calendar)
As usual, I am awfully delighted by works of Boris and Julie. It has its undeniable part of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Boris Vallejo Calendars opens new browser window
  www.calendars.com/Boris_Vallejo   -   Mother's Day Sale-Buy 1 Item Get 2nd 50% Off. Use Code:MomBogo

This product

Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar
Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2014 Calendar by Julie Bell (Calendar - 6 Aug. 2013)
Used & New from: £40.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2015 Calendar
Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell's Fantasy 2015 Calendar by Boris Vallejo (Calendar - 1 Aug. 2014)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock

Dreamland: The Fantastic World of Boris and Julie Bell
Dreamland: The Fantastic World of Boris and Julie Bell by Boris Vallejo (Hardcover - 4 Sept. 2014)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2)   
Buy new£25.00
In stock

Luis Royo Official 2015 Calendar
Luis Royo Official 2015 Calendar by Pyramid International (Calendar - 1 Aug. 2014)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)   
Buy new£10.00
In stock