Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buzzing
Read in one hit. As soon as put it down wanted to start creating and exploring. Thoroughly recommend especially if you find yourself stuck in a rut.
Published 17 months ago by Alex Jayne Taylor

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Left empty
At first look, it's high energy and born out of love. The drawings are fun and there's some sage advice about getting started and working with others and keeping a day job and being physical in a digital world. And yet...after... I still felt hungry. No big take-away from the work. Perhaps I've been round the block too many times: I gave it to my painter-photographer son;...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buzzing, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read in one hit. As soon as put it down wanted to start creating and exploring. Thoroughly recommend especially if you find yourself stuck in a rut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's very difficult to cope, in this day and age, with a perceived lack of creativity. This book has put me in from a different perspective that I'm sure was just under my nose. Thank you Austin, just what the doctor ordered. Highly recommended to anybody struggling with coming up with "new ideas".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Left empty, 27 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steal Like An Artist (Paperback)
At first look, it's high energy and born out of love. The drawings are fun and there's some sage advice about getting started and working with others and keeping a day job and being physical in a digital world. And yet...after... I still felt hungry. No big take-away from the work. Perhaps I've been round the block too many times: I gave it to my painter-photographer son; he thinks it's cool. What do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good one!, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Reza Hamedi (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steal Like An Artist (Paperback)
Exceptional little book which you would probably finish in one sitting. Includes many small ideas that can have a big influence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power and achievement of "artistic theft", 2 Oct 2012
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steal Like An Artist (Paperback)
A 12th century French monk, Bernard of Chartres, once observed, "We are like dwarfs standing on the shoulders of giants." I thought of that observation as I read Austin Kleon's brief but insightful discussion of ten "things nobody told you about being creative," with the first serving as this book's title. There are dozens of quotations throughout the narrative that reaffirm Kleon's thesis: Almost anyone can become more creative in what they do and how they live by applying the lessons that Kleon learned during the past decade. What he learned, of course, is what he stole from others and then applied...and the world wisdom they possessed had been stolen from still others and then applied...you get the idea.

In his thought-provoking book, Ignore Everybody, Hugh MacLeod identifies and discusses a total of 40 "keys to creativity" and, of course, the first is to Ignore Everybody. Taken literally, that would include both MacLeod and Kleon. However, in each of his several books, MacLeod duly acknowledges his appreciation of countless others who have helped him to become the best Hugh MacLeod he could be. My own opinion is that Kleon has a similar objective: To help his reader think more creatively about becoming more creative by introducing his reader to a variety of different perspectives that will help the reader to become more alert, more aware, of how to live a more productive, a more enjoyable, a more fulfilling life.

The quotations he includes are indeed excellent. Several have become classic insights. Here is a representative selection:

o "Art is theft." Pablo Picasso
o "The only art I'll ever study is stuff that I can steal from." David Bowie
o "What is originality? Undetected plagiarism." William Ralph Inge
o "It is better to take what does not belong to you than to let it lie around neglected." Mark Twain
o "Start copying what you love. Copy copy copy copy. At the end of the copy you will find your self." Yohji Yamamoto
o " The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life." Jessica Hische
o "Complain about the way other people make software by making better software." Andre Torrez
o "Be regular and orderly in your life, so that you may be violent and original in your work." Gustave Flaubert

My take on "artistic theft" is that it is essential to the development of more creative thinking. All of the world's great chess players throughout history, for example, devoted thousands of hours to studying and replaying, then evaluating the greatest matches in decades past. The advice "steal only from the best" is relevant to just about all (if not all) human initiatives. However, it is also imperative to then make what you steal your own. In the field of human development, Oscar Wilde is correct: "Be yourself. Every one else is taken." That has been true of Leonardo, Shakespeare, Mozart, and countless other creative artists...and it is also true of those who read this book. I am grateful to Austin Kleon for sharing what he has learned from others and then made it his own: this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read!!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has given me the confidence to get back into the flow of making work. I feel it breaks things down and destroys all the enemies of self doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect teachings, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent lessons to cherish!
You can always recite this book whenever you loose courage
As an artist. I certainly would recommend it to graphic designers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cliche and Boring, 24 May 2012
By 
ÖMER CERAN (ANKARA, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steal Like An Artist (Paperback)
It's a book full of cliches. I found nothing new in this book. If you want to be inspired or inspire other people yu should read Paul Arden's Whatever You Think, Think The Opposite book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 29 April 2014
By 
Maria (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steal Like An Artist (Paperback)
This book explains very well how the artistic world works for people who work in the art industry but did not study art. Highly recommended for anyone in the creative industry to make you feel better about yourself and start being more creative almost immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different take on creativity, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. Pearce "Reg Pearce" (Heathrow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steal Like An Artist (Paperback)
This was recommended but a friend and I can see why. I like alternative thinking and this is just that. Very refreshing even if you don't agree with all of the writer's views. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steal Like An Artist
Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon (Paperback - 1 April 2012)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews