Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun calendar; ideal gift, 5 Nov. 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
If you are already an expert crossword puzzler, Scrabble player or vocabularly hound then you'll probably be familiar with most of the words in this calendar, but if you just have a general interest in expanding your understanding of language then it's a lot of fun. It's one of my fave gifts, and I wouldn't mind receiving it, either...
The 'New Words' calendar makes a perfect gift for anyone who writes for a living, or who just enjoys word games. It's a desktop or wall-mounted calendar, of the tear-off type with a page per day. Like others of its type the 'New Words' calendar isn't the sort you'd use for long-term planning or managing your workload during a week. It's not a planner or activity diary -- instead it gives a new motto, message or quotation for each day of the week.
I really like these forms of calendars because they tend to make us stop and think for a couple of moments -- normally early in the day, over the first cup of coffee! This one is especially entertaining, providing an educational extension to vocabulary together with details about pronunciation and correct useage. It's fun and useful; and you can share the fun by sending appropriate words/days to your friends as the year progresses.
The only downside is that because it's an international calendar, it doesn't contain info about UK holidays and dates. You should also bear in mind that it's aimed mainly at an American audience. There are also no glossy illustrations or pretty pictures; these calendars focus on the text. The info about word origins is interesting, though, and means that even if you are already familiar with the word itself then you can still pick up a new snippet about how it came to be used.

Especially useful for encouraging kids to explore language (but remember that some words will use US spellings...)
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
This product was delivered promptly and I got it in time to give my best friend as a present. She absolutely loved it and is now having trouble not reading through it all and saving it as a calendar! It's really interesting and a great way to start the new year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 365 New Words a Year - Brilliant, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar)

This is an excellent product and great value for money. Very useful product which also provides entertainment! Would recommend this product to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Page-a-day calendar, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
I had this calendar in 2012 and a) learnt a lot of new words and b) it started my day off well! I therefore bought another for 2013 and also one for my sister who looked at mine and asked for one for herself.
Although some of the words are "Americanised" it is very interesting if you are a "word person"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present for ancient parent., 10 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
I had it sent straight to my fathers address. He contacted me soon after and indicated that he was delighted with it. Based on that I should recommend it to anyone as Dad is very picky. If he`s delighted that is a high score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so interesting, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
Bought this for my husband so he could see what day and date it was easily. ( He has Alzheimers) He has always been interested in words as I have too, so it is a real pleasure every day finding a new word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
This is an excellent page per day calendar. 365 new words with definitions that will expand you vocabulary or stretch your memory to remind you of words you may have forgotten.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious.... ;), 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
I bought this for my teenage nephew who always laughs at my "long words" and he is really inspired. I have challenged him to fit each word into a normal sentence each day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 17 April 2013
By 
Cushkiwi (Essex/Norwich) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
great book with lots of words i didn't know exsisted! my only comment would be to make the back flat so it could stick to walls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar) (Calendar)
Does exactly what you expect of it! Gives interesting words with good explanations and sample sentences, perfect for the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

365 New Words-A-Year Calendar 2013 (Page a Day Calendar)
Used & New from: £17.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews