Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best read with a little visual imagination
As a photographer, the lack of photography in this book does reduce its usefulness for me as a source of inspiration for travel ideas, although the sheer volume of the book probably makes it more suitable for flicking through on a rainy day anyway. The author is obviously well-travelled, and the breadth of coverage in the book is impressive, if possibly a little...
Published on 14 Jan 2006 by Ryan Li

versus
58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
This book could have been wonderful, unfortunately it's not! The layout of the book is unfriendly, specific countries do not have page numbers meaning to find eg Italy you need to flick through all of Western Europe. The entries chosen are mostly appropriate with most big name places mentioned however each is followed with a commercial plug for specific hotels or...
Published on 9 July 2004 by J. E. Fowler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let down, 9 May 2011
Asked for this book as a Christmas gift choice but wish I hadn't for all the reasons already given by other reviewers. Much of the list could have been compiled by referencing holiday tour brochures - I know because I have done a lot of them and was hoping to find places of more intense interest that might be overlooked by tour operators or classed as inconvenient or unsuitable by them for mass travel. Many items are too broadly defined - like a whole town or island which makes one wonder whether or not the author has personally been to all these places. Many of the places that are specific are expensive hotels or restaurants whereas pointing to (say) an the outstanding viewpoint for a piece of landscape would be better. The Smoky Mountains national park entry is typical of this. An entry like the Outer Banks fails to capture the magic of the place - the necklace of islands starting at Kittyhawk (not mentioned) where you can get a flight in a single engined bi-plane at an hours notice, going southwards, island to island, first by causeways then by ferries - that is the adventure, not the advertisement for the most expensive hotel en route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no more than 100 are worth visiting!!, 2 April 2011
By 
L. Robinson "Louise loves gadgets" (Salisbury Wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books) (Paperback)
I bought the day-by-day calendar version of this book. Frankly the contents are disappointing. It's obvious that the author is American as every other page is about places in USA, Canada or the Caribbean. Places of natural beauty and deep in culture in Europe and the East are sadly missing. I have scanned through all the pages and reckon that no more than 100 of those mentioned are worth a visit. Books in the 501 must-visit series give a much more balanced view of the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Places for the filthy Rich!, 8 May 2009
By 
I am a very experienced traveller who has lived overseas for decades. This book would be great for a recently unemployed CEO who has much more money than sense. The book covers all the well known spots around the world but totally ignores many other fine and beautiful places located nearby. The Hotels and resorts listed are all at the top of the price lists- no surprise here since Ms. Schulz writes for Conde' Nast Traveler, Departures, etc. Above the title of the book reads: On and Off the Beaten Path. I doubt if Ms. Schulz has ever been off the beaten path and certainly budget travelers and backpackers should save their money and find a more useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books) (Paperback)
Want impressed with a lot of the suggestions. I many countries only the obvious really touristy destinations are chosen. Vry little off the tourist path. Lots of hotels mentioned which were pricey making it less suitable for the budget traveller. Plenty of countries have no mention, would be better if more people had been involved in writing it so more destinations could have been considered, just thought a lot of them were obvious. Also very heavy focus on us and Canada and little on the rest of the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven, but overall interesting, 14 May 2006
Any book like this is obviously subjective. Some of the choices can't be argued with, some are a bit suspect. There are an inordinate number of hotels listed which would lead one to wonder if comps were an inordinate influence. Overall however, its an interesting book. The special indexes are helpful, showing sites based on activities (bicycling, fishing, golf) Living History, Roads, Museums, etc. I doubt anyone will try to read this all the way through when they first receive, but you will find yourself going back to it from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't broke don't fix it!, 14 Jun 2012
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books) (Paperback)
The original book is far better.
In this revised edition there are 300 extra places squeezed in so they instead of having 8 places in Amsterdam they just have "Amsterdam".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great incentive to travel, but not such a variety of destinations, 12 Dec 2011
This book is real handy to have and a great incentive to really live your life to the fullest. The title is sometimes a bit sad, because it makes me feel the pressure of time, but the description of the places I have to go to makes me want to pack my bags immediately and get going.
While some of the places are a bit too far for me to safely say that I'll have enough money to visit them one day, it really makes me feel good that I can already tick at least 30 of them off the list already.
The only thing that is missing is a more balanced out set of countries, because there are some Eastern European countries with a lot more to them than what is recommended in the book (I recently went on a Eastern European tour to Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine and Serbia) and it is surely a reflection of the most popular tourist places, rather than a reflection of the places that are actually breathtaking. I guess the problem is that the world has thousands, not just one thousand places worth visiting, and making a top is surely a harrowing and extremely difficult process.
That being the case, I think that most of the suggestions are fresh and innovative and go beyond the mere touristy places, so it is a good guide to have and to keep somewhere in sight as a reminder of how much we can do with our time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books) (Paperback)
I have been buying this book for many of my friends as a birthday gift. Everyone loves it.
Got one for myself and keep on highlighting more and more places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Book!, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books) (Paperback)
Its so much better in life. A good quality book, very large and heavy, absolutely lovely and the information provided - cannot wait to start travelling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The utltimate book for anyone with a love of travel, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my go to book for any travel at all - whether I'm going somewhere for work or personal travel. I team this up with a Lonely Planet country guide and jobs a good 'un. Honest about whats a 'must see' - the hotels and a bit aspirational for my budget though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books)
1,000 Places to See Before You Die (1,000... Before You Die Books) by Patricia Schultz (Paperback - 28 May 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews