Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endearing book for all you animal lovers, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
This book opens your eyes to how animals can be incredibly emotional and socially accepting of one another in unforseen circumstances. It is a beautiful book which will have you going 'aaah how sweet', 'ooh thats cute' throughout. A mismatch of animals finding a friendship bond, despite breed, creed, colour or race. Great photos, some unbelievable - a lion, tiger and bear together as friends, really? Well written stories which will warm your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendship knows no barriers..., 3 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
...and certainly no barriers as superficial as species! Very beautiful book, with many photos of tender moments between animals you'd not think to see together. Many of the stories are actually moving. Amazing animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
This is a very welcome gift for anyone who likes animals. Kids and mature adults enjoy it equally. After reading the whole book, I thought "Why can't we all get along like these animals?" A delightful, heart-warming read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual book for animal lovers., 14 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. J. CAMPION (Essex,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
Was given this book while i wasn't well and it was the first thing i felt up to reading as it is full of short,individual tales of unusual,animal friendships-[as i had a very short attention span also at the time it was perfect.]As i recovered and could read more i found that it was even more enjoyable and i was able to recommend it.If you love animals you should love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A snugly wugly read., 23 Feb 2012
By 
E. D. Jones (Crewe, Cheshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
I bought this book for my niece for her birthday, and she loves it. I've had a sneaky look myself and the stories are lovely and heart warming. If you like animals you'll love this easy read to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read !, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
Great stories and photos - if you love / like animals - you'll love this and makes a wonderful gift !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mutations in emotional possibility, 16 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
A collection of stories about oddball animal friendships, documented with great photos. Among the 47 cases of strange affection, we have a cow snuggling with a wild leopard, a cat with an iguana, sled dog with polar bear, or a cat serving as a seeing-eye guide for a blind dog. This could be a bunch of silly anecdotes, but the collection shows that even fish, birds, and reptiles have quirks of personality that can override instinct, allowing for long-term friendly relations that break every mold. These friendships are like mutations in emotional possibility, which can lead to new social patterns among beasts and people. I suspect our first domestications of animals arose from such oddball friendships between species, which became learned behavior for the future generations of those concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
I like the thought of animals which would not usually get together, making great friends and companions. The book has great photos and text. I really enjoyed reading and just looking at the photos. The book lives on my coffee table and visitors always pick it up and say what a great book it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
I saw a photo from this book, of a gorilla cuddling her pet cat, in a newspaper and bought it on the strength of that. If you know any sensitive soul who is an animal lover and a bit down, then this is the book that might make them smile. It is not sickly, it does not attribute human emotions to animals, just reports how animals alone under pressure sometimes cross species barriers in their need for companionship. What most interests me is that the chosen "friend" from another species for whatever reason allows and appears to enjoy that relationship. Truly, there is more to "dumb" animals than our human species chooses to recognise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars monkey business, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship (Paperback)
Bought this for my girlfriends birthday, she absolutely loved it! Very nice presentation and the narrative compliments the pictures perfectly. I thought the price could be a little more competitive as I've seen it sold cheaper in other stores since but that aside I would highly recommend buying this book, it sparks the imagination of young and old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship
Unlikely Friendships: 47 True Stories of Animal Friendship by Jennifer Holland (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews