Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic the
Hello,

I recently bought Magic: The Complete Course Book and DVD,
I have alawys been a big fan of magic and wanted to learn more and more of it and so over the past 3 years i have bought many kits and books and needless to say this is by FAR the best one out there.

A few weeks before buying this I bought The Royal Road To Card Magic for four...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by S. Small

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great book rubbish dvd
great book rubbish dvd though - well it's not rubbish it's just obvious i suppose if I hadn't been doing it before hand i would of liked it more though
Published 15 months ago by GiF


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic the, 22 Aug 2011
By 
S. Small (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
Hello,

I recently bought Magic: The Complete Course Book and DVD,
I have alawys been a big fan of magic and wanted to learn more and more of it and so over the past 3 years i have bought many kits and books and needless to say this is by FAR the best one out there.

A few weeks before buying this I bought The Royal Road To Card Magic for four different reasons:

1) I am a HUGE fan of card magic, it's my favourite type of magic to do as all you need is a deck of cards and a person, Simples :)

2) It is the top purchased magic book on Amazon.co.uk

3) The review were good.

4) It was cheap!

Overall....
A BIG MISTAKE!
(For more info on why see my review on that book)

So long story short this book may be double the price of The royal road to card magic, but for the extra money you do get:

- A DVD

- A large variety of different tricks

- Full colour pictures on how to do the tricks

- Easily explained tricks

- (in my case) The best card tricks.

- So, for just over £10 it is very cheap!

Before buying this book i read the reviews and one reviewer stated that 'THIS BOOK SHOULD BE BANNED'
and i agree with him, It is THAT good, there should only be 10 copies of this printed and all should be hidden in secret magic shops, above a Bar/Pub, down dark alley way somewhere, and should only open during the late hours of the night!
Ok, a may be getting a bit carried away with this review,
But really, stop reading this review, just go BUY THE BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Good, 15 Nov 2009
By 
AJ Salt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
OK - This book should be banned from sale on amazon.
YES - banned.

Why - simply this book should only be sold in magic shops - its price tripled and then put in a corner behind all the other books.

This is a fantastic book - I just hope not too many non magicians buy it at this price. If they do it will provide an extremely good primer with the DVD showing what can be done with simple tricks with the right presentation. (Not all the tricks are simple).

Joshua Jay is a superb magician as seen in his videos done for the magic fraternity.

If you are just starting out in magic this is an excellent starting point - also get Mark Wilson's "Complete Course in Magic". With the 2 you will have enough magic to last a long time untill the bug really bites.

(When it does you can end up spending spending and spending - 200 plus books bought at the moment)

So get your magic while its still cheap and and such a high quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book with some genuinely good tricks in it., 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
Most kids magic sets are cheap junk which most of us have seen time and time again. This is on a whole new level as it is a colourful book and comprehensive DVD course on how to do professional magic tricks. My daughter (who is 9) has been impressing family and friends who are still left wondering "How did she do that". Her only complaint is that Joshua Jay seems to assume that it will be boys doing the magic tricks!

Some of the tricks are quite straightforward, some involve some practise, others need a lot of practise. But the book sets out a grading system to show this, so you know where to start.

To do all the tricks will require some special props, most of these can be found on the internet or if you are lucky enough to have a local magic shop I'm sure they can help.

In conclusion, this is a great place to start for anyone serious about magic, and it felt like money well spent rather than wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BUY AT A GREAT PRICE, 1 Sep 2009
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
I have been interested in magic for many years now and have many books and DVD'S ,this book and dvd is a fantastic place for someone starting out and also for people with experience who are bound to find some new ideas and presentations for routines they may know. Joshua Jay is the perfect host and highly respected magician who brings this 'must have' package to the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usefull and very well done. A bargain!, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Alexandre Maron "Novelty Seeker" (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
Joshua Jay's book is a great introduction to magic in every way possible. The book is gorgeous, with loads of photos and great, really great tricks that will help you lose the fear of performing for friends.

The DVD is very well done and incredibly usefull. When I was a kid, there wasn't this kind of aid. It was only books and a lot of interpretation from the reader. Now, with DVDs, everything is easier.

Jay is funny and charismatic and really knows how to explain the tricks step by step.

The whole package is a great bargain. Where else will you find a great book and an amazing DVD with magic tutorials for this price?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide to being a Magician, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Robin Maddy (Church Crookham.Fleet. Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
This is a first class introductory book for learning to be a proficient magician. In fact those who have been performing magic for some time will benefit from some of the ideas and routines described. With the added bonus of a DVD to assist the learning process this has to be one of the best value for money bargains I have experienced for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic The Complete Course (book and DVD) too good!, 11 Jan 2011
By 
A. R. Mousley "alexkazam.co.uk" (Surrey/Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend's son who's into magic after seeing all the good reviews on Amazon. When it arrived I realised it was an absolute bargain, not only does it contain excellent modern magic, well illustrated and explained it contains a DVD as well!

Flicking through the book makes me wish I'd bought two copies- one to keep!

I still have my first magic book when I was a kid and it does not compare to this one.

If you're looking for the ideal magic book for a budding magician- this is it!

- Alexkazam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars incredible value, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
The tricks, sorry effects are good, and it is incredible value when you consider that a dvd is included. I bought it for my grandson (10)to get him started in magic.

I used to perform a while ago, there isn't much that should be put to the back of the magic shop, as many of the effects I saw I was able to see better way of doing them. But there are worse ways too. It's definitely better than some magic set and a good start to get on the road to becoming professional. Definitely had some good ideas as to how to start performing in public before you start charging for your services.

I will almost certainly buy the book on card magic that joshua jay mainly because i think my grandson will get loads out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well presented, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
This is a good purchase for any level of Magican. Jay is an excellent performer and very good teacher. He takes you through step by step and allows you to see exactly how each rountine is done. Overall I would rate this as a very good item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but need some extra magic items, 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) (Paperback)
This is a good book for beginners, but the down part is that you need, some extra magic items, such as coins, cards, rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD)
Magic: The Complete Course (Book & DVD) by Joshua Jay (Paperback - 1 Mar 2009)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews