Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book
I love this book. Not only does it contain fantastic greek receipes but it provide you with a really good insight into greek culture and history.....whilst there are no pictures, you do have receipes that are not seen in tourist areas........excellent!!
Published on 14 Aug. 2010 by Mrs T

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars did not please
Hi , I bought this book but was very dissapointed in it , it is not the real Greek cooking as I remember ,when I lived in Greece, I had 18 years experience of eating Greek food, so if you would like the real traditional stuff dont but this book, I can however recommend Culinaria Greece I bought it about the same time and it has never dissapointed me.
Published on 14 Mar. 2011 by di


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 14 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. Not only does it contain fantastic greek receipes but it provide you with a really good insight into greek culture and history.....whilst there are no pictures, you do have receipes that are not seen in tourist areas........excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great details on Greek Life, 6 Dec. 2010
I love this book as its very detailed and has most Greek dishes in it that you would ever need. My husband is Greek so it was a good purchase to make some of his mum's favourite dishes. Not ideal if you only want a few recipies though as its a big book! Also I find the recipies need experimenting with to work out properly. It has great little bits of history and customs in it- which i love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars food of the GODS, 21 Oct. 2011
having eaten beef and olives in a Taverna (IN my now home of crete) i found a recipe for said dish by susanna hoffman , i made the dish for myself and then JUST HAD TO HAVE THIS BOOK! its full of the most delicious Greek recipes and wonderful anecdotes. every dish is do-able even if you don't live in Greece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great recipes, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought recipes were very good. Quite authentic and in tune with life in Greece. One thing I did not like was measurements being in cups etc and not kilograms etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars did not please, 14 Mar. 2011
Hi , I bought this book but was very dissapointed in it , it is not the real Greek cooking as I remember ,when I lived in Greece, I had 18 years experience of eating Greek food, so if you would like the real traditional stuff dont but this book, I can however recommend Culinaria Greece I bought it about the same time and it has never dissapointed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Order well in advance, visually boring, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
J. Latraille - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivery slow, book artwork (photos) not very inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good price. Happy with the purchase, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivered quickly, good price. Happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Olive and the Caper, 22 Aug. 2011
Excellent recipes and genuinely interesting historical perspectives on the development of food in Greece. Perhaps a pity that the budget didn't run to some colour images. Nevertheless, well worth the price.

Fitz, August 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Olive and the Caper: Adventures in Greek Cooking
The Olive and the Caper: Adventures in Greek Cooking by Victoria Wise (Hardcover - 1 Aug. 2004)
Used & New from: £17.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews