Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of the Purse!, 30 Nov 2003
By 
Megan (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
This book has everything for the bag lover. it shows a range of designer handbags which are facinating to look at. It inspires you to start a collection of your very own and contains everything from evening bags to novelty bags. I highly recommend this book. It will have you flicking through it for hours and I often find myself refering back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but somewhat lacking in structure, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
On first impressions the cover is beautifully glossy and the thickness of the book is quite impressive. However, the book is only about the size of a postcard and (I find) quite awkward to hold.The photos of bags inside are plentiful and give beautiful detail - but I'm left with the underlying sense that the whole thing could have been so much better developed if it hadn't been presented in such a small format (effectively shutting down the idea of a series of photos of any given bag). Yes, this book will fit inside your bag - but then, show me a serious bag addict who doesn't own a shopper/tote that could accommodate a more regularly-sized book!

Inside the book, although there are subsections these don't feel selected for any logical reason beyond the fact that the author liked them. The text is fairly sparse, not particularly informative (other than when dealing with particular brands which the author seems to prefer - Hermes is clearly a favourite) and suffers greatly from the lack of an index - I'd like to be able to dip in to a book like this and cross-refer. There does seem to be a general bias towards American bags and a couple of favoured designers/brands... but then, what bag shopper doesn't have their own preferences?

Overall, a nice little coffee table book that's presented in a somewhat awkward format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bag addicts delight !, 16 Mar 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
This is a wonderful little book all about handbags....and it's small enough to slip into your bag! Full of gorgeous photos of all kinds of bags, from the funky, fun type to the serious office bag and from the beaded extravaganza to the funtional tote. It also gives a brief history of bags and some background info on some of the designers. A handbag addict will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handbags, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
Lovely little book which covers the subject well.The colour photographs are excellent. A wide variety of handbags are described clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 24 Oct 2013
By 
SOFIA B. Kr (Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
Small but great book! There are pictures of today collections and past centuries also. Very very good book! Recomend to anyone who loves handbags!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handbags, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
An useful guide to handbags. Invaluable to anyone who likes handbags, collects handbags or is in the fashion business. A must have guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handbags, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
I received this fantastic little book way before it was due, I'm very happy!!! Brilliant service, it's in excellent condition and it was bought as 'used'.
This book is just a superb purchase I definitely recommend any artist, designer , fashionista to just get this book....it's a brilliant find and one for keeping forever! It's cute in size but full of fab info and lovely photographic imagery....love it!
Handbags
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petite but precious, 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: Handbags (Paperback)
Being a student of Fashion Accessories I found this book extremely useful as visual inspiration as well as informative with well researched and interesting text. The book covers the history of the handbag and the purse well ans shows a wide range of styles and functions, from classics to precious, through quirky and epoque designs. I would highly recommend this book to anyone studying fashion design or any other type of design. And if you love handbags, you cannot help but love this book. It really is a little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handbags
Handbags by Anna L. Johnson (Paperback - 31 Oct 2002)
8.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews