Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous
This is a lovely book - photographs are beautiful and the patterns are lovely - there are many that I want to start straight away. i love knitting and collecting knitting books - this one is definitely going to be used. I don't think this is for a beginner, although I cannot fault the patterns and instructions - it is just that Scandinavian style knitting can be better...
Published 13 months ago by redpixie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really!
It didn't meet my expectations at all. I was expecting more laces like the one on the cover of the book.
Published 2 months ago by Argyro Monokrousou


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book - photographs are beautiful and the patterns are lovely - there are many that I want to start straight away. i love knitting and collecting knitting books - this one is definitely going to be used. I don't think this is for a beginner, although I cannot fault the patterns and instructions - it is just that Scandinavian style knitting can be better suited to those who have some experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Spinning Jenny (Godalming Surrey U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
A very interesting and instructive book with lots of imaginative patterns and understandable instructions and pattern 'graphs'
unusually this book is useful for spinners as well as knitters as it describes the weight and length of the wools required
Yes highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Magnusson, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
Helene's second knitting book is as much a tour de force as her first. More than just a collection of patterns, she has shown once again the value of thorough original research. Patterns are provided to cover the body from top to toe, for all ages, including the pattern for the all-important yet humble insole which provided the basis for her first book.

None is difficult, as garter stitch is widely used again. The side bar forays into recipes and historical snippets provide the right setting for knitting within Icelandic life, and record them for posterity. The techniques show the importance of obtaining the right wool, and the reference section helps out with this.

I would happily have paid twice as much for this wonderful work!Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helene's new book, 10 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
I previously bought Helene Magnusson first book on Icelandic Knitting, fabulous patterns for
knitters, just received her new book, with great & new ideas I will trying shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
I've not done any patterns yet from this book but have in the past knitted individual patterns from her ravelry site, hence withholding a star for the rating above. I like the photographs and the history and it looks as though it has been researched carefully. I would recommend it to any experienced knitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my partner, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
Guess I need to get a hobby as from the oohs and ahhs I will not be seeing her after she has been lost in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really!, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
It didn't meet my expectations at all. I was expecting more laces like the one on the cover of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects (Hardcover)
this is nice for my bisnes and my good frends for look for patterns my freand love it so muts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects
Icelandic Handknits: 25 Heirloom Techniques and Projects by Helene Magnusson (Hardcover - 15 Mar 2013)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews