Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the experienced
This book does exactly what it says on the cover. It is clear and concise with plenty of ideas from the basic to the advanced, and from designers and experts already in the field which is essential. I disagree with the previous reviewers, but in my own personal opinion, I feel that anyone that has previous knowledge and drive for making the best bag possible this is an...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice ideas - terrible instructions and serious inconsistencies
This is a beautifully presented book: the photographs and discussions regarding styling and handbag generalities are superb.
However, there are some major problems. The projects, which are nicely illustrated using plain white canvas examples, have instructions which simply do not apply to the finished products. The plan sheets are not to scale and do not match the...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Royston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice ideas - terrible instructions and serious inconsistencies, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Royston "Roy" (Northumberland,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented book: the photographs and discussions regarding styling and handbag generalities are superb.
However, there are some major problems. The projects, which are nicely illustrated using plain white canvas examples, have instructions which simply do not apply to the finished products. The plan sheets are not to scale and do not match the instructions. The instructions to enlarge these sheets by 200% are wrong, resulting in plans far too small - no worry here though as the plans are incorrect anyway.
I have been making bags of all sorts for years and consider myself reasonably good at interpreting instructions - not so here. Steps are omitted, terminology changes mid-project, descriptions on the plans bear no relation to the components in the instructions. Using the photographs as inspiration I have created my own plans and invented my own instructions, hindered, not helped by the book. In that sense the book has been a very successful education aid, forcing me to stretch all my skills to overcome the inaccurate, inadequate and misleading information.
I understand the publishers of worthy cookery books insist on all the recipes being tested before publication - I think this step must have been left out for Handbag Designers 101.
Good for inspiration, bad for hands-on projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not clear instructions, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
This book looked to be a good reference point..

Some of the patterns are incorrect and ask you to cut material that isnt needed. The instructions are unclear and incorrectly sized.

I wouldnt recommend this to anyone unless they know what they are doing, not good for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handbag designer 101, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
This book has good points and bad points. The patterns, although clearly photographed are difficult to follow and the pattern pieces, in my opinion have been altered during the printing process. For instance they say to enlarge by 200%, but this is still not large enough the make the bag to the stated size and then some of the pieces do not fit together. If you are an experienced sewer then this book would make a lovely addition to your collection, but if you are a beginner you will soon become frustrated.

The business advice is very interesting and well worth the read, as are the costing forms. It is printed for the American market so you have to get around the difference in terms.

If you like handbags and you love sewing then you will want this book too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
I have made a few bags but I am far from an expert so this book looked so inspiring and it has some good advice. I was particularly looking forward to making all the bags from the patterns in it, however... whoever made these patterns has done a very sloppy job.
The instructions are wrong in many ways and unclear at best, the patterns don't fit together and the quantities of material needed are incorrect. It is obvious that no one has checked that these patterns actually work, which is very poor for a book that is supposed to help you become 'a handbag designer'. The author obviously cannot sew herself, so she should have bothered to let someone else check the patterns worked before publishing. Waste of my time and my xmas gift voucher. Very poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Check the contents page first!, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
Having used the "look inside" feature on Amazon I was really looking forward to getting the pattern for the shoulder bag as pictured on page 11 and this is why I bought the book. It was just a shame that I didn't read page 7 which said that "you will find paterns and simple how-to instructions for the 15 key handbag silhouettes" and realised that there were going to be 4 patterns missing from the 19 silhouettes shown on page 11. It looks like it is going to be a great book so long as you don't want to know how to make the Trapeszoid, Shoulder bag, Wristlet or Luggage Handle bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the experienced, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
This book does exactly what it says on the cover. It is clear and concise with plenty of ideas from the basic to the advanced, and from designers and experts already in the field which is essential. I disagree with the previous reviewers, but in my own personal opinion, I feel that anyone that has previous knowledge and drive for making the best bag possible this is an excellent addition to their library. I refer to it regularly and along with my other books, I look forward to designing better and better handbags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It does not have detailed pictures to show you how to make the bag., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
The book may write for someone knows a lot about the bag making. I have found it does not help as I am a beginner. For example, the detailed description of tote bag make has only 5 pages which also includes one page of pattern (You have to enlarge it by 250%).There are only 6 illustration figures to help understanding the make of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, poor instructions, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
The concept is a good one, to have online patterns, show other deisgners' work. However, the fundamentals of bag design are missing -- namely the key construction types being explained (as opposed to focussing on the styles, which is a different thing, as bags combine the basic construction types to create a 'style'). The instructions are not clear. I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover), 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags
Looked on a US site and found the correction for the error on the pattern sizing, you can down load all the patterns with the corrections. Just look under the tab corrections. I hope this helps. See the link below.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handbag Designer 101: Everything You Need to Know About Designing, Making, and Marketing Handbags (Hardcover)
this book is full of info for just starting out in business from how to work out how much to charge for a bag to profit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews