Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2011
The book is well written and very clear, but it is more focussed on the slaughter of the animals than the use if the meat.
If you are in the UK beware as it is an American book and the cuts, ingredients and tastes are different to ours.
It is a good book if you want to set up a slaughter house but not too good if you want to cure meat and make sausages.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
This book is a must for anyone wanting to learn about butchering an animal. The instructions are clear and precise and written in a way that one can easily understand. I highly recommend it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
i bought the above book for my partner. It is endorsed and sold by Fearnley Whittingstall of River Cottage and fulfilled by Amazon. We have our sheep slaughtered in an abbattoir. They are first in in the morning, he watches them 'done' to make certain all is done properly without stress. Butchering is expensive so he decided to try diy.

We were appalled to find instructions in it for smallholders to 'stick' a sheep without stunning, after either immobilising it on a table or hoisting it by the hind legs. Even if the book is legally sold, surely Amazon and Fearnley-Whittingstall should receive,at least, some public censure for endorsing and profiting from advice such as this? (Extract of letter to the Humane Slaughter Association)

I am returning the book to Amazon.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
An American book with lots of gory pictures giving an overview of butchery and meat curing. Not really specialist enough to use but a good start to get you in the right direction
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Superbly illustrated educational advice in butchery, smoking, curing and sausage making. Especially helpful as a first guide and a great gift for the adventurous cook.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
American but still good
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
My son enjoyed this book I bought him for Christmas. Very prompt delivery thank you. Christmas shopping is good from the sofa and I can get presents like this book that I know will be enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I like to bring my children to know where there food comes from this is just another step I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Bought for friend he has used it several times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
full of useful information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)