Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Great book and lovely pictures.This was a present for me a boy who loves Motocross and at the moment in hospital
Published on 25 May 2010

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Motocross Bikes
This book should be titled 'A personal tribute to Japanese Motocross Bikes'
To jump from Sten Lundins 1959 Monark/Lito to a 1971 Yamaha does not do justice to the true legedary bikes from the late 1950's to those of the early 1970's that have given us the machines of today.
No doubt there is a place for these Japanese machines but to omit motorcycles such as the...
Published on 17 Sep 2009 by Lodekka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Motocross Bikes, 17 Sep 2009
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
This book should be titled 'A personal tribute to Japanese Motocross Bikes'
To jump from Sten Lundins 1959 Monark/Lito to a 1971 Yamaha does not do justice to the true legedary bikes from the late 1950's to those of the early 1970's that have given us the machines of today.
No doubt there is a place for these Japanese machines but to omit motorcycles such as the 1965 twin port 250 & 360 CZs and the later single port CZ's both of which Joel Robert & Roger DeCoster took to numerous world titles, nor to mention the BSA Victor that Jeff Smith rode to a world title with really does result in a totally misleading book title.
Greeves (European championship-Dave Bickers), Husqvarna, Maico & KTM are four others that immediately come to mind as world championship winning machines but again there is no mention of them.
Sorry but I am disappointed because in my mind the books title does not reflect its contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffe book, 28 Nov 2009
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
....I agree 100% with 'Lodekka'.I owned a works Suzuki RH250 & ex-works(Vic Eastwood) Maico 250 and to miss out the European machines is a great injustice... Where would Roger D,J Robert and ALL the rest of the MOTO-X circus who taught the yanks via the trans-am series have learn their skills except on (sometimes)inferior european machines.. No,nice coffee table book for the current motoX riders but to have seen these stars on 'natural' circuits over here in europe is something I'll always remember.Can you tell the difference today between motox 'stars'?Maybe I'm too old but I can't,they all look the same.... Sorry,Al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
Great book and lovely pictures.This was a present for me a boy who loves Motocross and at the moment in hospital
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motocross, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
Good book for the geek. I sold mine for twice the price I paid for it. Good photos. Will buy another soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Covering the angles, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my dad. I was keen on getting it as we have a shared interest in VMX, so it was really always going to be shared!

The images used in the write ups of each model are a good mix, and the contributions from riders are particularly welcome with a nice touch of a signature at the end. The story of how Marty Tripes Works Honda ended up in the hands of a privateer is priceless...

The book seems to cater for most bikes that were prominent in racing between 1961 and 1989. It's great to see the interest in these bikes isn't diminishing. If you've been involved in in Classic/Evo Motocross or simply have a passing gaze at these machines from time to time then I'd recommend this book. You might even be tempted to buy a barn find!

Epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary MX Books, 21 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
Ordered 3 MX (Scrambling) related books as Xmas presents - this is the best, which is good as this one was for me....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Championship Winning Factory Works Bikes, 30 Oct 2009
By 
KC1961 (West Lothian) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
I have to say that after browsing through this book my initial impression was one of disappointment due to the almost total lack of bikes from the 60s. However, upon starting to read the book I quickly became fascinated by it's content. I hadn't realized just how "special" a "works bike" was. I think that most people with an interest in any branch of top level motorcycle sport would enjoy reading this book as they will almost certainly be amazed by how much work the factories were prepared to put in to achieve the desired results. So although the book wasn't what I was hoping for due to the shortage of the machines that I would've preferred to read about I rate it at 4 stars as it is a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Motocross Bikes Book Review, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Robert A. Kinsey (Ashbourne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legendary Motocross Bikes: Championship-Winning Factory Works Motorcycles Described by Their Championship-Wining Riders (Paperback)
Great book that goes into detail on each of the works bikes with excellent photo's, showing components of every bike. One of the best parts is also the comments from the riders on each of their bikes, little insight's into what was a great time for motocross bike development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews