Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorcycle electrical systems troubleshooting and repair., 17 Feb 2009
By 
Stephen Talbot (Norfolk .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Clear explanations and easy to understand with usefull troubleshooting advice. There is only the Haynes Tech book covering this subject that I know of and while this does not go as in depte as the Haynes book I would say that it is easier to understand for the average non tech person. Both books are very good but I now think I would buy this one first and then the Haynes book if I wanted to go that little bit further into the subject. Buy it I dont think you will be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars certainly worth buying, 5 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
A good buy for the beginner, but I would use this in conjunction with your own bike's manual, and also the Haynes Basics Techbook, and/or Workshop Practice / Electrics Techbooks. This is very clear to start with, and it's good to have simple instructions on using a multimeter to test voltage. This book assumes you have a modern bike, it starts with DC 12v electrics and uses as an example testing a malfunctioning starter motor. If you have an old / classic 6v bike with direct lighting, you won't find the answers here. Certainly worth buying, but not on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
How to get to the heart of the problem with clear and simple explanations (I read it from cover to cover over 2 evenings) - sounds trite but anyone with a little bit of mechanical savvy, this book and a few bits of inexpensive (you can pay more if you want to....) test equipment should be able to diagnose most of what could go wrong electrically on a bike (or indeed satisfy themselves that things are working as they should be). Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic guide !, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Bluepaul (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
This works well as an introduction to MC electrics and certainly helped me with fault finding on my bike.
If you want an in depth explanation of how all bike systems work then this is not it, but it does give some good tips on finding faults and giving a brief guide to starting and charging systems etc.
This is certainly a good book for the beginner or somebody looking to cure a fault on there own bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything you needed to know, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
I`ve had various books on electrics over the years all full of unfathomable blurb. This author cuts straight through all that and gets right to the tests you need to do and how it works in laymen's terms. I have had so many ohhhhh, that's how it works! moments :)
Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's a wonderful book, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
well written and illustrated.. my bike really deserves a book like this. The best book I have found so far. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars handy book for doing m/c repair, 26 May 2013
By 
James Langan (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
great book if doing level 2 or level 3 city and guilds m/c repair
also good for someone wanting to reapair their own bike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simplified and genuinely helpful, 23 Mar 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
Firstly, it must be pointed out that this book is generic and should be used alongside your workshop manual. However, it comprehensively takes you around motorbike circuitry, with the aid of diagrams, making it a most understandable book on motorcycle electrical systems and really useful if you are engaged on a bike re-build. Personally, the electrical system is something that I have always been nervous about tackling, but this book makes the idea seem possible and a workable option. It advises on tools and equipment and how to use them, covers all aspects of electrical systems including electronic fuel injection and has a section for troubleshooting electrical faults. Simple diagrams and good photography, makes this well produced book a good addition to the workshop manual: recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 15 Jan 2013
By 
J. White (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
Has some really useful guidance and is well put together. It explains each of the bikes electrical systems / components and guides you through fault finding techniques. Have already recommended it to a colleague at work and he's bought one and fixed his charging issue. Great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is one of those must have books. helped ..., 14 Oct 2014
By 
S. Parker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop): Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) (Paperback)
this is one of those must have books. helped me out no end of times. transferable skills as the knowledge has helped me with cars and vans too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews