Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book
This book offers great guidance on how to draw cars and also provides the skills which could be easily transferred to other types of drawing in design and technology at school or product design later. A very useful book......
Published on 3 April 2012 by bookworm

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to draw cars like a pro
Dont get me wrong, thom taylor is a fantastic illustrator and all- round artist. I bought this book about 2 years ago, before I enrolled on a automotive design course and I found it wasn't the best preparation. The illustrations are fantastic and demonstrate some truly pro techniques, but he never really explains how to achieve these effects, so anyone who isnt already...
Published on 18 Jan 2008 by jeff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to draw cars like a pro, 18 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: How to Draw Cars Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio) (Motorbooks Studio) (Paperback)
Dont get me wrong, thom taylor is a fantastic illustrator and all- round artist. I bought this book about 2 years ago, before I enrolled on a automotive design course and I found it wasn't the best preparation. The illustrations are fantastic and demonstrate some truly pro techniques, but he never really explains how to achieve these effects, so anyone who isnt already knowledgable with marker techniques, chalks will find it hard to replicate his examples. Only after 2 years on my degree, i can know look back at this book and achieve similar results. Maybe I'm wrong though, other people really rate this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw Cars Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio) (Motorbooks Studio) (Paperback)
This book offers great guidance on how to draw cars and also provides the skills which could be easily transferred to other types of drawing in design and technology at school or product design later. A very useful book......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect foundation for vehicle design, 6 May 2011
By 
This review is from: How to Draw Cars Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio) (Motorbooks Studio) (Paperback)
This book guides an aspiring vehicle designer through the principles of perspective, proportion and shading in fantastic detail.
The content applies to product design alike too.
There are loads of illustrations and step by step sketches to back up the theory and for you to copy, there many artist pictures both in colour and B&W in a number of styles including cartoon so your bound to see what appeals to your taste.

Thom Taylor also has another book How to Draw Choppers Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio). There is some overlap in the principles but its well worth getting too as it covers more complex shadows and simple human figures.
Another book to consider is How to Draw Cars the Hot Wheels Way by Scott Robertson. this covers topics like foreshortening and computer rendering which arnt covered in the previous two titles, ok computers are in HTDCLAP but its a bit 'dated'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on drawing cars, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: How to Draw Cars Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio) (Motorbooks Studio) (Paperback)
Best book I have seen on drawing cars. All subjects thoroughly covered and plenty of inspiring artwork from many car artists. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to draw cars, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: How to Draw Cars Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio) (Motorbooks Studio) (Paperback)
A very good book for the avid car drawer with a load of good pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Draw Cars Like a Pro (Motorbooks Studio) (Motorbooks Studio)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews