Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2001
Although it focuses on restoration, these sections give you great advice when doing repairs and upgrades. The maintenance section is more then big enough for general maintenance. It helps in more then just restoring as it can be used as a guide to repairing. Good guide to models, a nice chapter on performance tuning and easy to understand.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2004
Wonderful book!
As with most 'Vespisti', I use the Haynes manual(s) daily and despite their faults had never really found much which has persuaded me to look elsewhere, until I borrowed this book (and subsequently bought it very quickly!)
The pictures are clear, the detail is superb, and the writers really KNOW what they are talking about.
O.k. so it concentrates almost wholly on restoration rather than maintenance, but that's not a bad thing!
I would reccomend this book combined with the relevant Haynes manual for a comprehensive workshop!
tim
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
Darnell and Golfen present a well written and easy to understand handbook for amateurs who want to investigate the inside of their Vespa scooters. Pictures, step-by-step instructions and warnings make the job easy. A short history of the Vespa scooter opens the book. Recommendable reading for all Vespa enthusiasts.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
This book is good if you want to learn about the history of vespas...but unfortunately it's terrible if you need to restore your old vespa! the photos are way too old, they are in black and white and the quality is very poor...so don't count on them if you need some help visualizing what you are about to do!
If I could go back...I would not buy it....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2000
I ordered this book in the hope that it might provide useful tips on how to maintain my Vespa. Given that they are not complicated animals the idea was to save money and get to know my scooter better, but there are exactly six pages on maintenance and circa 110 pages on restoring! Unless you are looking to undertake a comprehensive restoration of your Vespa I would consider this book a waste of time and money.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
This is a nice little book for the restorer who is new to the world of Vespas. It starts with a comprehensive overview of the early models, and continues with a guide to restoring the three major component groups; engine and transmission, bodywork and frame, and steering and controls. The coverage is wide, but of necessity a little shallow, since the book attempts to cover all the early models. Its a fine primer and a good introduction, and contains a great deal of useful information, but will need to be backed up by more specific details for the particular model in which one is interested. Good value for money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
Darnell and Golfen present a well written and easy to understand handbook for amateurs who want to investigate the inside of their Vespa scooters. Pictures, step-by-step instructions and warnings make the job easy. A short history of the Vespa scooter opens the book. Recommendable reading for all Vespa enthusiasts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
brought this book. as my partner is into restoring vespas. always finds it helpfull if he gets stuck on anything. also brought him the lambretta book. that his like his bible. loves them. and a great price to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
This book is only good for sitting on your coffee table! Okay if you want to look at pictures of Vespas or know the scooters history but useless for restoration. I already have a Haynes manual but as I am rebuilding my Vespa T5 engine was looking for any further tips or help. Sadly I read the other reviews and thought the book would be worth buying, sadly you cannot trust all reviews!

This book contains very little actual information. It gives pieces of restoration advice but all models are mixed together, rather than have it sectioned by model i.e Small frame, P range etc. You have to read all the pages and then highlight what refers to your model of vespa. Very annoying and time consuming and none of the advice is new or well written.

I will stick to my Haynes manual and on line forums and consign this useless book to the bin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
This is a very nice little book. Its an American publication but a Vespa is a Vespa. It is well written and a good source of general information. The sections covering the engines, gearing and electical systems are the books strong points. If used with the wealth of techinical info available on the web it will be a usefull companion when carrying out repairs and over hauls on several Vespa models. An over-view not a haynes manual but none the less a very helpful and well layed out book. It will also look nice on the coffee table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse