Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 March 2010
`Soul Eater' is a rather strange manga about the students at the Death Weapon Meister Academy as they try to turn their weapons into a Death Scythe, a weapon wielded by Shinigami-sama himself. The main characters are the weapon meister Maka and her demon scythe Soul Eater, the loudmouthed and egotistical ninja Black Star and his demon shadow weapon, and the sun of Shinigami-sama Death the Kid and his pair of demon guns Liz and Patty Thompson.

At this early stage of the manga before the overall story arc has kicked in the manga is good but not brilliant. The art is good with a nice individual style and the characters are all interesting. I would definitely recommend 'Soul Eater' to any manga fan although I would have to say that the series doesn't get really good for a couple of volumes yet but it is definitely worth sticking with.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
I picked it up (from a bookshop) a few months ago as a boredom induced impulse buy- now I own the next 5 in the series and 2 DVDs of the anime!

While not a perfect manga I found it a very enjoyable one. The characters are all fairly decent (Death the Kid being the highlight), with the plot soon improving once the initial prologues have passed.

The drawing is consistently good with the translation being of a good quality too, some pointless fanservice scenes are included but they are at least presented in a humorous way and do not distract from the overall quality of work.

Certainly worth purchasing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
This is a great series. The artwork is good but occasional appears unfinished due to censorship. This has occassionally taken a little flak because of the age of some of the characters and because the manga is a little more ecchi than the anime so when people who have watched the anime read the manga they are sometimes disappointed/angry. Without the manga though the anme would never have existed and this is just fantasy so that seems grossly unfair to me. The story is very enjoyable. I love Maka. She's cute, a little crazy and very interesting. Her relationship with Soul is full of fun. There are lots of different characters that could be considered main characters. Because they are all introduced so early on this can disrupt the flow of the story and make it seem a bit fragmented, but they are all interesting and unique personalities. For example death the kid with his obsession with symmetry is just the funniest character ever! There's so much fun to be had with this series that it is worth a read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Bought for my son who loves japanese aname series, he loves it and cant wait to get more, arrived really quickly.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I bought this after watching the anime series as I wanted to find out the rest of the story since the anime cuts off about 1/3 the way though and goes its own way. As mangas go, the artwork is top notch and a lot is covered very quickly. But what makes soul eater stand out above many other series that I have read and watched is the characters. It is filled with great memorable people that build character though the story and change as time goes on. The principle theme to me makes me think of Soul Eaters universe as a concept of what would Harry Potter had been created by Tim Burton.

But I love it really for the way it combines such a creepy art style and universe with the humour so flawlessly, one scene could have blood everywhere whilst five minutes later everyone's joking and having a good time.

If you're looking for a good manga series or have just finished watching the anime (the plots diverge around vol.11) then please read these books, I highly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Two words sum up "Soul Eater's" overall flavor -- Halloween kitsch. Fortunately Atsushi Ohkubo's horror/comedy manga has a bit more than its silly-spooky style going for it. While "Soul Eater, Volume 1" spends most of its length introducing the trio of main characters (and their talking weapons), it spins up some hilarious characters and plenty of bizarre supernatural confrontations.

Every scythe meister wants to have their shapeshifting weapon/partner turned into a weapon worthy of Shinigami-sama. To do this, the weapon/partners must devour ninety-nine rotten human souls, and one witch soul. In that order. If they screw up, they have to start again.

As the story begins, Maka and her brash partner Soul Eater have nabbed their ninety-ninth soul -- now they just need a witch, and he'll be a Death Scythe. But their battle with the Witch Blair becomes a very complicated one, since she's not only powerful but has some weird secrets of her own. In the meantime, the narcissistic ninja Black Star and his partner Tsubaki have nabbed the last of their souls... but to get a witch, he'll have to fight her bodyguard!

And while these two are struggling, Shinigami-sama's son Death the Kid is on a mission of his own with his twin pistol-partners -- they have to infiltrate a pyramid infested by mummies, and clean it out. Too bad Kid's OCD is slowing them down. And in the main story: Soul, Maka, Tsubaki and Black Star are all called in by Shinigami-sama, who is assigning them a mission. They have to eradicate a former teacher who has become a zombie and is attacking students -- and if the students don't succeed, they'll be booted out of Death's special academy!

Fanservicey witches in pointy hats, haunted forests, cemetaries, jack-o-lanterns, a leering moon and sun, big spooky castles, an angular skull-faced Death, zombies and monstrously freaky villains -- all set in a vaguely European night-world that is crawling with supernatural creatures. Reading "Soul Eater Volume 1" is a bit like having an adventure inside a Halloween haunted house, where the intent is more to entertain than to scare.

In fact, "Soul Eater" isn't very scary -- Ohkubo usually balances out supernaturally-charged action with plenty of comedy and fanservice (usually followed by somebody getting severely injured -- think a shuriken in the head). The first three parts are a bit limp storywise, since their main intention is to introduce the main characters and show them in action. But the last story is when the plot starts blossoming, with the introduction of zombies, superpowers, and a new Big Bad Guy.

All the meisters and their partners are pretty much standard opposites -- Maka is an uberserious girl with a violent streak, while Soul is rough around the edges and kind of rude; Tsubaki is sweet and mellow, while Black Star's ninja stealth is directly at odds with his tendency to grandstand. As for Death the Kid, he's utterly hilarious -- uptight and obsessed with symmetry, and even willing to vanish during battles just to be sure that a picture is perfectly straight.

"Soul Eater Volume 1" is a fun (if overly fanservicey) little manga, introducing us to Atsushi Ohkubo's eccentric characters and setting up the world they live in. Worth a read, if not the best the series has to offer.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Soul Eater is amazing. It has a unique art style that I haven't seen before and it works extremely well. The characters are ostentatious and surprisingly funny! The story is interesting and I can see myself getting hooked very quickly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
Soul Eater is a gripping maga following the story of Soul Eater and Maka Alburn. It is a nice read and the comedy is very amusing. Over all I think it's a great novel but isn't right for everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Great my daughter is loving this series
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
As this was a Christmas present I have not read it so unable to give it a rating. Sorry, but will say it came on good time for Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)