Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic suspense thriller
FBI Cave Agent Nick Ward knows the stake is rescuing an abdcted child twelve years old Sveti from the Russian mafia chief Vadim Zhlogo. Clues take him to remote Frakes Island, a millionaire's recluse. However, to his chagrin and libido, he observes Becca Cattrell skinny dipping on the island. He is unsure how she fits in as she could be a mob hit woman, but he soon finds...
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by H Klamme

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read,although a bit simular
More of simular type of story. Good suspense, sex a bit over the top... but hey that's why we buy it. Have already bought the rest of the series
Published 17 months ago by jeanett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic suspense thriller, 27 Jan 2008
This review is from: EXTREME DANGER (Paperback)
FBI Cave Agent Nick Ward knows the stake is rescuing an abdcted child twelve years old Sveti from the Russian mafia chief Vadim Zhlogo. Clues take him to remote Frakes Island, a millionaire's recluse. However, to his chagrin and libido, he observes Becca Cattrell skinny dipping on the island. He is unsure how she fits in as she could be a mob hit woman, but he soon finds himself rescuing her.

Nick and Becca flee for their lives while he still seeks clues to the child. One kiss leads to another, and though the s3x is the greatest he ever had, Nick assumes she is professional sent to distract him. As they get closer to the child, Nick errs in judgment leaving his target and Becca in jeopardy.

Though the EXTREME DANGER seems over the top, readers will not care as the latest Cave romantic suspense thriller (see EDGE OF MIDNIGHT and BEHIND CLOSED DOORS) grips the audience from the moment the hero sees the woman sknny dipping and concludes she is trouble. The story line is fast-paced from that first encounter and the lead couple is dynamite as the hero keeps arriving in the Nick of time, but it is the deep look at organ harvesting and traffcking as a lucrative cash crop that brings a morality issue to this fine thriller!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gritty,intense sexually-charged read! 4.5 stars!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Danger (Mass Market Paperback)
this is the 5th book in Shannon McKenna's 'McCloud Brothers' series.i have read this series in order and can say that it is a good one.in my opinion the series has got better as it has go on,with the author providing us with colourful characters and great action-packed plots.
this book for me is no exception.it had her usual fast pace and intricate plot.in fact i will say that it was a surprise and if i'm honest quite the standout book so far.Nick's character was nothing like i thought he would be,which for once in a series wasn't a disappointment.this book is gritty,intense and full of action.the romance side of things i found a bit different in this book.this was no slow building love affair.this was more of a lust crazed somewhat volatile relationship,with plenty of sex.for me this was brilliant as it made the characters standout from those in the other books.
i will say that this is NOT a light read.its edgy,unpredictable and not all will enjoy the plot in this book,where a group are taking children,abusing them and trying to harvest their organs for profit.further,the use of prostitutes and level of violence in this book will also put some off.for me it was a great read.
i have read all the books in order so i had a good background knowledge, which for me in this series you need.i suppose this could be read as a stand-alone as necessary points are made,but i think it would be more appreciated if the other books were read first.this for me anyway has not been a waste as i have loved this series so far.
i would highly recommend this book and series so far.if your into edgy,intense, fast-paced romance that grips you from the first page,you'll love this!the next book is 'Ultimate Weapon' which is Tam's much awaited story.
series order:
1. Behind Closed Doors (2002)
2. Standing in the Shadows (2003)
3. Out of Control (2005)
4. Edge of Midnight (2007)
5. Extreme Danger (2008)
6. Ultimate Weapon (2008)
7. Fade To Midnight (2010)
8. Blood and Fire (2011)
9. One Wrong Move (2012)
10. Fatal Strike (2013)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read,although a bit simular, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More of simular type of story. Good suspense, sex a bit over the top... but hey that's why we buy it. Have already bought the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCITING AND PACY, 28 Jun 2011
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nick Ward is under cover he has infiltrated Vadim Zhoglo's organization, he is at a house on Frakes island, waiting for Zhoglo and his team to arrive. Nick is working on his own on this case he has resigned his position at the FBI, he believes that Zhoglo has kidnapped the daughter of a former colleague a young girl called Sveti. While waiting for the bad guys to turn up he notices a woman a naked woman swimming in the pool. Becca Cantrell is staying at the property next door, her bosses boyfriend has allowed her use of his house as she has a bad time recently, her ex fiancé Justin cheated on her in a way that put it into the public eye, embarrassed and humiliated she was glad to get away. She was told that the nice guy next door was okay with her using his pool, so here she was swimming naked when this larger than life man pulls her from the pool pointing a gun at her demanding to know what the hell she is doing there. After much explanation Nick tells her to get lost. Unfortunately she has left her keys and glasses by the pool, and decides to return the next day to retrieve them, just as Vadim Zhoglo was arriving. Spotted by Zhoglo Nick improvises and tells him she is the housekeeper. Becca finds herself thrown into a very dangerous situation which Nick eventually has to save them both from. Once again we have a very exciting and fast paced story from this author, Nick is the usual Alpha male bossy and very sexy, while Becca is the naive and beautiful girl that gets drawn in. The sex as usual is very hot, and the story is engrossing, the McCloud brothers as usual are heavily involved, as well as the mysterious Tamara, can't wait for her story! HIGHLY RECOMMEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy Shannon McKenna's work and I love this series covering Seth & the McCloud brothers, but something was missing from Extreme danger.

The story is well written and as with all Shannon's books the characters are well developed, but for some reason I couldn't quite get in to this book. I can't explain it. The characters didn't grasp me and the story didn't pull me in.

All in all, the story is good, well written and there is definitely an eliment of excitement, but it just wasn't for me. However I will say, i found it necessary to read this book to keep up with the story across all the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine thriller, 26 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: EXTREME DANGER (Paperback)
FBI Cave Agent Nick Ward knows the stake is rescuing an abducted child twelve years old Sveti from the Russian mafia chief Vadim Zhlogo. Clues take him to remote Frakes Island, a millionaire's recluse. However, to his chagrin and libido, he observes Becca Cattrell skinny dipping on the island. He is unsure how she fits in as she could be a mob hit woman, but he soon finds himself rescuing her.

Nick and Becca flee for their lives while he still seeks clues to the child. One kiss leads to another, and though the s3x is the greatest he ever had, Nick assumes she is professional sent to distract him. As they get closer to the child, Nick errs in judgment leaving his target and Becca in jeopardy.

Though the EXTREME DANGER seems over the top, readers will not care as the latest Cave romantic suspense thriller (see EDGE OF MIDNIGHT and BEHIND CLOSED DOORS) grips the audience from the moment the hero sees the woman skinny dipping and concludes she is trouble. The story line is fast-paced from that first encounter and the lead couple is dynamite as the hero keeps arriving in the Nick of time, but it is the deep look at organ harvesting and trafficking as a lucrative cash crop that brings a morality issue to this fine thriller!!! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine thriller, 26 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: EXTREME DANGER (Paperback)
FBI Cave Agent Nick Ward knows the stake is rescuing an abducted child twelve years old Sveti from the Russian mafia chief Vadim Zhlogo. Clues take him to remote Frakes Island, a millionaire's recluse. However, to his chagrin and libido, he observes Becca Cattrell skinny dipping on the island. He is unsure how she fits in as she could be a mob hit woman, but he soon finds himself rescuing her.

Nick and Becca flee for their lives while he still seeks clues to the child. One kiss leads to another, and though the sex is the greatest he ever had, Nick assumes she is professional sent to distract him. As they get closer to the child, Nick errs in judgment leaving his target and Becca in jeopardy.

Though the EXTREME DANGER seems over the top, readers will not care as the latest Cave romantic suspense thriller (see EDGE OF MIDNIGHT and BEHIND CLOSED DOORS) grips the audience from the moment the hero sees the woman skinny dipping and concludes she is trouble. The story line is fast-paced from that first encounter and the lead couple is dynamite as the hero keeps arriving in the Nick of time, but it is the deep look at organ harvesting and trafficking as a lucrative cash crop that brings a morality issue to this fine thriller!!! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extreme Danger
Extreme Danger by Shannon Mckenna (Mass Market Paperback - 1 May 2010)
4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews