Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quite as good as her previous ones
Zan (Alexander) Duncan is an edgy, sexy, volitile, thirty six year old loner with a lot of past baggage and a short fuse. Notably, the baggage consists of the violent death of his father at a relatively early age, and being left holding the blame when his best friend steals a car and then kills a pedestrian. The friend's father covers for his son and Zan is the one left...
Published on 5 Jun. 2007 by LEP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
there are books that make you want to 're read them. this is an ok read but not such a book.buy at your discretion.
Published 12 months ago by Kindle Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quite as good as her previous ones, 5 Jun. 2007
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Night (Paperback)
Zan (Alexander) Duncan is an edgy, sexy, volitile, thirty six year old loner with a lot of past baggage and a short fuse. Notably, the baggage consists of the violent death of his father at a relatively early age, and being left holding the blame when his best friend steals a car and then kills a pedestrian. The friend's father covers for his son and Zan is the one left to take the punishment for him. As a consequence he loses his place at university.
However, he later makes a life and money for himself as a locksmith and then as a computer consultant. The short fuse temper and going in with his fists is mainly aimed to help others i.e. rescuing damsels in distress etc.

Abbey Maitland works for a local museam which is about to have a hord of pirate's treasure on display. Unbeknowing to Abbey and the museam, the display is being targetted by a ruthless character who thinks nothing of murder if that gets him what he wants.

Zan and Abbey meet one night when she calls out a locksmith having misplaced her keys. The instant attraction is mutual; although Zan epitimises the type of boyfriend that Abbey has always been attracted to and is now trying to steer clear of. Long-haired, tattooed, edgy bad-boys. She is now going for the monied executive type - Zan has the money, but that is as far as the stereotype goes.

Zan and Abbey are being targetted as the fall guys in the pirate's gold hoist and Abbey is frantically trying to find out the identity of the mysterious boyfriend of her murdered best friend, who also worked at the museam. As Abbey believes that it is he who killed her friend.

I enjoyed this book, but I don't know, there was just something about the character of Zan which didn't sit quite right with me. He was perhaps a little too petulant. Perhaps if he'd been a bit younger than 36, say about 30, the moods would have worked a bit better for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Night (Kindle Edition)
This book tells the story of Zan the locksmith and Abby the Museum employee. It's not as simple as boy meets girl, fall in love and live happily ever after. Boy messes things up, girl being hunted by mad evil villain, boy rescues girl several times whilst systematically screwing things up!

Some parts of the story are a little far fetched, but I suppose most love stories are, BUT as with most of Shannon McKenna's other work this book works and I absolutely loved it..

The story has all the elements I need to keep me hooked, a flawed hero, who's not as bad as people think, a gripping suspense story, the hot sex (which is a main feature withi Shannon McKenna's work). death, intrigue and love. The story will have you hooked from the beginning.

I would definitely reccomend it to all you romantics out there that need a little bit more than just a love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-down-able!!, 30 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Hot Night (Paperback)
This was the first Shannon Mc Kenna book I read, and I've since gone on to buy all her books and anthologies.

Zan is a lock smith called to help out Abby(who's locked out of her house). She works in the museum and initially they seem complete opposites. The story unfolds suspense and romance, well blended. both the characters are very believable and at times you cheer them on, at others you cry for them. A real page turner, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Night, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Hot Night (Mass Market Paperback)
The story line was good and kept my interest; I thought the female part was a bit sappy in parts in that she was not as strong as I thought she would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Night (Kindle Edition)
there are books that make you want to 're read them. this is an ok read but not such a book.buy at your discretion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Night
Hot Night by Shannon McKenna (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Nov. 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews