Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great steamy erotic thriller from Shannon McKenna
Having read both of Ms McKenna's previous titles, I am quite a fan. And she doesn't disappoint. Return to Me is a story of old love regained and the righting of old injustices, with a generous dose of hot, spicy sex.
Ellen Kent had loved Simon Riley when they were both teenagers, but when he is unjustly blamed for burning down the local stables, she helps him leave...
Published on 23 May 2004 by bookmad brunette

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I really really looked forward to Miss McKenna's new book hoping it would move on to the next McCloud brother Davey or Shaun. This was not to be, but never mind I said, anything written by her must be good. Not so, I was very disappointed. Lot's of sex yes, but very little else. Don't get me wrong, sex in a romance book is a must for me, but there must also be a good...
Published on 21 May 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great steamy erotic thriller from Shannon McKenna, 23 May 2004
This review is from: Return to Me (Paperback)
Having read both of Ms McKenna's previous titles, I am quite a fan. And she doesn't disappoint. Return to Me is a story of old love regained and the righting of old injustices, with a generous dose of hot, spicy sex.
Ellen Kent had loved Simon Riley when they were both teenagers, but when he is unjustly blamed for burning down the local stables, she helps him leave town with a bag of food, her pocket money and her virginity. It's seventeen years later and Ellen has just become engaged to the local golden boy. Simon's uncle has committed suicide and Simon finally comes home to find out what happened. Ellen is naturally upset to see him again - he hasn't contacted her at all since he left town - and she has made her own place in life and is relatively happy. Sexual and emotional tensions flare between Ellen and Simon and he quickly turns her quiet orderly life upside down. What neither of them know is that there is a madman in town who has a secret that he has killed to protect and will do so again if threatened. And now he's after Simon and Ellen.
The sex in the story is written very frankly and is fairly sexually explicit although not as strong as either of Ms McKenna's previous books. But this is balanced nicely with the emotional ups and downs of both characters - the sex doesn't drive the whole story but stops it from getting bogged down in pages and pages of emotional outpourings. Personally I like a book that has a healthy attitude towards relationships and sex and has a good storyline with a hefty dose of danger and suspense to make things interesting. Return to Me has it all. If you're already a fan then you'll love this one - if not, welcome to your first title by Ms McKenna. I'll definately be waiting for her next outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great way to spend a few hours, 19 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Return to Me (Paperback)
Shannon McKenna has kept her earthy, raw and sexual style in this book. One could almost imagine that the author may be a fan of pornography! Despite that, she is still keen to have her heroines fairly inexperienced.
Anyway, I enjoyed the book thoroughly. Simon is the typical male fantasy stud and Ellen is a strong, loving woman who has never forgotten him. They were each other's first and only loves. Although Simon left the town (the reasons were not really that convincing) when she was only 16, she has never managed to forget him. Now, he's back, investigating the death of his uncle and she's engaged to someone else. However, the mutual passion between them explodes and the engagement is soon ended. The sex scenes are very hot and push the boundaries of this genre of romance book. They worked for me big-time. But, Simon did have his annoying phases, but you could romantically view it as finding it difficult to accept his feelings, etc. However, Ellen was no doormat and remained strong through it all.
I really liked this book, but despite the hot, hot sex scenes, I could not really give it 5*s. The plot line was just a little too vague, and there wasn't enough emotional intensity that was not sex-related. Still, I have happily re-read this book and would not hesitate to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms McKenna Keeps Up The Heat . . . . . ., 31 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Me (Paperback)
I'm not going to give a story synopsis as that has already been done by another reviewer.
By now you are probably aware of Ms. Mckenna's incendiary style of writing from her first two novels, Behind Closed Doors and Standing In The Shadows.It's a definative style that you will either love or hate.
In Return To Me, Ms.Mckenna keeps tradition and the heat well and truly turned up. The mystery/plot in this one is not as strong as her previous novels but for pure erotic escapism you can't buy a better read. The characters are appealing and sexy and my only quibble would be the naivete displayed by the heroine at the age of 32, it was slightly unreal in places ~ namely with her fiance at the start of the story. But once that was dealt with the story fairly zipped along. There was good use of secondary characters too.
Overall it was a really enjoyable and sexy read and I look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They keep getting better!, 20 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Return to Me (Paperback)
Shannon McKenna delivers another great story and sizzling romance. She always manages to get the alpha hero just right. Well worth buying and has made it on to my keeper shelf, highly recommend it! Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Return to Me (Paperback)
I really really looked forward to Miss McKenna's new book hoping it would move on to the next McCloud brother Davey or Shaun. This was not to be, but never mind I said, anything written by her must be good. Not so, I was very disappointed. Lot's of sex yes, but very little else. Don't get me wrong, sex in a romance book is a must for me, but there must also be a good story to hold the whole thing together. So far every book I have read (admittedly she has not written many) by this author I have enjoyed. I just wish I could say the same for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They keep getting better!, 20 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Return to Me (Paperback)
Shannon McKenna delivers another great story and sizzling romance. She always manages to get the alpha hero just right. Well worth buying and has made it on to my keeper self, highly recommend it! Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return to Me
Return to Me by Shannon McKenna (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Mar. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews