Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Schone hits the target again!!
If you liked 'Lady's Tutor' you will LOVE 'The Lover'. I cannot rave enough about this book. This is an extremely racy tale, with plenty of sexy scenes to satisfy any erotica lover. I would not recommend this book to anyone easily shocked or who would prefer a Barbara Cartland-style love scene.. but if you're a fan of Susan Johnson you would be mad to miss it. But sexy...
Published on 1 Feb. 2001 by lian_heather@hotmail.com

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written
This is the first erotic romance I have read-it is sophisticated and very well written-this lady writes like a poet-her style and nuances seen to be very authentic and her decriptive technique is excellent. This is an intriguing and sometimes very painful story-not what I personally can handle as a romance-I dont mind the darker elements of life but I found that this book...
Published on 21 Jan. 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Schone hits the target again!!, 1 Feb. 2001
If you liked 'Lady's Tutor' you will LOVE 'The Lover'. I cannot rave enough about this book. This is an extremely racy tale, with plenty of sexy scenes to satisfy any erotica lover. I would not recommend this book to anyone easily shocked or who would prefer a Barbara Cartland-style love scene.. but if you're a fan of Susan Johnson you would be mad to miss it. But sexy love-scenes is not all this book offers. Both the hero and heroine are ultimately looking for love (even though they do not admit this... even to themselves)... and the dance they play together sent shivers up my spine while reading the entire novel. What I loved best about this book is that the hero is flawed, he is not the perfect man (and where will you find one of those in real life)... but as a reader you cannot help falling in love with him, along with the heroine. Definately a must read... P.S. For those who are interested, Robin is writing a sequel to this novel, continuing Gabriel's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phew!!!!!!red hot, sexually explicit, best book I have ever, 13 Mar. 2001
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Robin has written the best book I have ever read. It is not for the faint-hearted. Michael and Anne are two very scared individuals phisically as well as emotionally who are looking to be loved. There are some very horrific parts near the end of the book, but they do not detract from the story. They make you understand why Michael is the way he is.
This book is very explicit and graphic but Robin puts it all together beautifully. Well done Robin and I look forward to reading Gabrielle's story. He is definately a man worth reading about. Please keep Michael and Anne in it, I want to carry on reading about them in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent: Robin is a master., 2 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
If you are used to ordinary romantic fiction you are in for a surprise. Deep characters not the fluff one often encounters. More than an erotic romance (although its certainly that) but a look inside the heads at the motivations of the leading characters and a hint of Gabriel's pain as well. Read this before Gabriel's Woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating read..., 18 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
The Lover is at the same time both tender and brutal story about two adult people who struggle to find happiness. The focus is on our sexual needs, be it woman or man, and the society's view how it should be stilled. It requires courage to go against the society's pressure to confirm, something the protagonists show plenty of. They are people who wish to live. There are no simple answers, no happy ever ending in style with the common romance books, only the life with its unanswered questions. This is a wonderful book that I can recommend to anybody who wants to read a romance book that goes outside the clichés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, 21 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lover (Brava Historical Romance) (Paperback)
This is the first erotic romance I have read-it is sophisticated and very well written-this lady writes like a poet-her style and nuances seen to be very authentic and her decriptive technique is excellent. This is an intriguing and sometimes very painful story-not what I personally can handle as a romance-I dont mind the darker elements of life but I found that this book was too dark for me-and instead of making me feel blissfully happy it made me feel sad and unsettled. This book would be good as a single title that did not necessary come under the romance genre as such but rather as a well written peice of literature that deserves it place amongst many other great novels. I think though I shall stick to the likes of Karen Marie Moining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!, 17 May 2011
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lover (Brava Historical Romance) (Paperback)
I kinda knew what to expect from Ms Schone as I have already read The Lady's Tutor, (another stonker that you MUST get!), but I wasn't expecting how gritty this book would be. The characters are beautifully written, Michael is a dream come true and Anne would fit right in, in today's society.

This tells the story of Anne Aimes, a lonely 36 year old spinster who just wants to lose her virginity and feel some kind of love from a man. Michael is a male prostitute who is employed to do just that. But what neither of them count on is falling in love.

The sub plot keeps you turning the pages, even when the writing gets a little choppy, and builds upto an amazingly, brutal and heart stopping climax. Gabriel is Michael's best friend and confidante, and is to be found again in the book 'Gabriel's Woman', which I have now started.

The love scenes between Anne and Michael are written very tastefully but extremely honestly, so if you embarass easily or are looking for Mills and Boon stuff look elsewhere!

An extremely beautiful book, don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 21 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lover (Brava Historical Romance) (Paperback)
A very unique book. Well done Robin Schone. The book was full of intrigue, suspense and contains steamy love scenes. I loved the main character, Michael " The scarred angel that made women weep with pleasure". I would highly recommend this book and the sequel to this book "Gabriel's Woman". This is a book that touches the heart and is about the true bond of friendship and love existing between two wonderful men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, sensual and erotic, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lover (Kindle Edition)
A meaty, sensual, erotic VERY dark but compelling novel. No point in looking for chocolate box romance with Robin Schone but her writing is addictive. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay but not for me., 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lover (Kindle Edition)
I finished this novel but found the writing style (lots of internal monologue) difficult and distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lover (Brava Historical Romance)
The Lover (Brava Historical Romance) by Robin Schone (Paperback - July 2002)
£9.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews