Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 29 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
A masterpiece! Based on Jim Chapin's personal observations of the great drummers of the swing era, this book uses exercises to gradiently build up one's independence.
This is a totally essential book for anyone interested in improving their drumming.
And this new edition, with Jim playing the exercises in the book on 2CD's, is remarkable. It's a lot easier when you can hear these, often challenging, exercises played with precision, yet still grooving. Utterly essential! Every drummer needs (bookwise) this book, Ted Reed's Syncopation and G.L. Stone's Stick Control, regardless of style.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible., 8 Mar. 2008
By 
Alex Haines "Alexo" (Newport, S. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
This book changed my life. If you're an experienced jazz drummer, Get it. If you're a rock drummer who wants to learn jazz (you should), get it. If you're a drummer of ANY kind of ANY style of music, get this book from somewhere and practice it like you've practiced nothing before!!

You only get out what you put in. Buy this book and PERFECT each excercise before moving on to the next. Make it your ambition to complete this book to the best of your ability.

After almost 2 years of solid studying from this book, I can safely say that I am a much better drummer, and it has taught me more than anything. It has also made me realise just how much there is to learn.

Thank you Jim Chapin. THIM CHAPIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS drumming, 23 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. T. S. Crook "Muffy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
The best book I own, If you are serious about jazz get this and with patience you will suprise yourself. Set out in a very logical order and very easy to follow this is many years worth of study, comes with two good cd's that show all the examples. Plus you get to the back of the book and find a tiny little section on applying all this knowledge to other styles, extending the life of this master's work. Jim Chapin, I salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for my girlfriend. She was very excited to receive this book because she is very enthusiastic in her drum studies.
Her review:
4 stars because there (in CDs) where just 10sec examples but not full length examples of songs. I recommend this book for beginners, especially for beginners of jazz drummers. Liked because of big variety of rhythms and possibility to play swing, shuffle, bebop as well as other playing styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must have, 7 July 2013
By 
S. Tworowski (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
this book is pure legend !!! and of course, you quickly understand why : it is so progressive and clear at the same time.
I'll say it again, this book is A MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Chapin TFMD, 22 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
A great instructional book, with audio examples and helpful commentary. Will keep me busy for years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All drummers should own it, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 (Paperback)
Every serious drummer need this in their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1
Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer: Vol. 1 by Jim Chapin (Paperback - 27 Jun. 2005)
£18.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews