Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geniuses and Demons
This is the fifth installment of the Artemis Fowl series, with reportedly just one more to go. Most of the surviving characters are back, including of course Artemis, the teenaged criminal genius and Butler his bodyguard, as well as Holly, the former female LEPrecon official, Foley the Centaur and Mulch the amazing digging dwarf, but this time there are also new and...
Published on 28 Sep 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Artemis, but not as we know him
Having simply adored the previous Fowl books, my anticipation was at Fairy-pitch for the latest addition to this fantastic series.

Colfer has great ability as a story-teller; he can beautifully craft a narrative in a succinct, concise and hilarious style - what he does in a few pages takes most other fantasy authors chapters apon chapters.

But the...
Published on 18 Dec 2006 by O. C. Bryant


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't cheat yourself. Never accept 2nd best., 28 Jan 2010
I am an avid fan of the Eoin Colfer Artemis Fowl Series. However, if you are going to spend money on an audio version, don't cheat yourself, never accept second best.
Spend the extra - even double- and get the entire story, read by Nathaniel Parker who reads it with a gravitas which is becoming to Artemis and the other characters.

All the glowing reports of this version are not by fans. Fans wouldn't waste parts of the book on the editing floor to provide this abridged version. It is like eating trifle, but leaving the jelly in the bottom of the dish.

Do yourself a favour, spend the extra and buy the unabridged version.The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl (Digital))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, 13 Nov 2006
I would never of found out about this book, unless someone in my class didn't tell me about it. Completely forgot about Artemis Fowl until I read this book, and then realized why it liked the first four!

However I thought the plot was slightly bitty and there wasn't really a main focus, good but not Eoin Colfer at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. J. A. Murphy "CPM" (STAFFORDSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
good series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 23 Jun 2007
I loved it. Best book yet.

Colfer really knows how to turn a line!

Favourite book of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent post-sequel, 18 Nov 2006
By 
Paul Ruwette "paul-film" (Dubai) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It seems it never ends with Artemis. But this time he has a worthy adversary, a girl nonetheless. Heaven forbid that Mr. Fowl would ever give in to this. All the main characters are back in place. This is enjoyment pure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost Colony? More like Lost Quality., 26 Sep 2006
By 
I found this the weakest of the Artemis Fowl books. For one thing, Artemis is good now, therefore his character cannot be developed to be more good. Part of the reason the others were good was because we were waiting to see him turn good. To be honest, I would stop with the Eternity Code or Opal Deception. This one has too much of the same elements. It is like somebody has read Colfer's other books and written their own, over-exaggerating every single aspect. Before, Artemis called Butler 'old friend' perhaps once in each book. To see him say it twice on one page really raised questions about the writing.

I may be getting a bit too old for these books, but I know what I like in Artemis and this, sadly, is not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another winner, 13 Sep 2006
By 
Lou (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
Artemis is back on top form. His encounter with another young genius -- a girl! -- is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl (Prebound Unnumbered))
The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl (Prebound Unnumbered)) by Eoin Colfer (Hardcover - Mar 2008)
Used & New from: £137.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews