Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 January 2009
I am gradually buying every book by Selznick - this book is picture book size and of course has wonderful illustrations and a story that blends fact and fiction. My youngest son has an admirable reading age but is extremely reluctant to use this skill. Books should be inspiring and this one certainly is - one book should lead onto a desire for another - and so our family continues to enjoy his collection. It is a nice length to read in one sitting and is lovely read out aloud. Don't hesitate...buy it.(oh, and all his other books !)
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
Another great book from this author, once again the detailed drawings throughout the book seemed to really involve my boys (8 and 11) in the story. We read it together and they have re-read it themseslves. Loved it. Looking forward to the 3d movie of the other great book from Selznick - Hugo Cabret.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This lovely story is based on the wonder and secret behind the magician's magic. Victor, a young boy, is obsessed with magic and tries to replicate the tricks performed by his hero, Houdini. One day he meets Houdini and he takes Victor's address to one day write to him. Houdini dies and leaves Victor a box, but the box is inscribed E.W. so Victor feels cheated and never opens the box.

One day when Victor is older and married, he finds reason to open the box and finds out the secret.

Brian Selznick creates lovely books that are works of art as much as anything else. His illustrations are perfect and lovingly drawn, matching the stories being told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
This is a beautiful book that will appeal to children of all ages. The story is brief and straightforward but spans a generation and has a few very interesting twists. Magic, escapology and the greatest exponent of both, Harry Houdini, are all appealing subjects. Brian Selznick writes and draws beautiful books and this one is no exception. It's not a long or complicated read, but it certainly holds the attention and is both funny and poignant in parts, drawing on factual information. The book has links to wider reading and is beautifully illustrated. I loved it and I'm sure most children will too. This would make a great gift. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I didn't really like the book.Why? because the end finished very quickly and it didn't explain the secret of how he escaped from his grandmother's trunk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Great book but my daughter read this in ten minutes ,we have read all his books and they are great ,great sketches too,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
The b/w cross hatched technique he uses in illustrations makes them stunning! So meticulous....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I bought this for my son as a Christmas present and he loved it. Good story, great images... Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.