Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2010
Brilliant book for everyone interested in the subject. Note this book goes under a variety of titles for some reason. I particularly like the use of the human body for comparison with the illustrations to show scale. The computer generated artwork is terrific. This is probably one of the best books to show all prehistoric life and not just the dinosaurs, particularly giant snakes, crocs and sharks. Recommended for all ages.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I've given 4 stars purely for the images which give a wonderful impression of the many life forms that have existed and make a good reference work. I'm disappointed in the text though. It deals purely in small sound bites and is lacking in any detail. If you want to learn about the subject you will need another book to accompany this one. If you treat the text largely as extended captions, it's a very useful and fascinating book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
I wanted a book with pictures and basic facts and a book that could inspire a child.
This book goes beyond that with great descriptions,good layouts and great images.

I bought it for my 5 year old - and it was perfect for him to dip into.
He is now considering a career in paleontology, replacing David Attenborough and working on the next revision of this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
This magnificent book charts life through from the birth of the planet to the present day. Introductory sections briefly cover scientific investigations and dating rocks, earth's origins and it's early history, plate tectonics, climate and the evolution of life. These are followed by sections on the classification of fossils, extinctions and other essentials before launching into wonderful sections on life through the immense periods of time that allowed it to evolve giving rise into so many forms including of course those favourites, the Dinosaurs. It gives 'pictures' of ancient ecosystems and the many life forms that are part of them. Wonderfully illustrated throughout it is accessible to all age groups although for the younger ones an adult is needed both to hold the book and focus at first on things of interest.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
This has literally made the perfect gift ever! My boyfriend is 19 and is extremely interested in dinosaurs as well as early humans, the ice age and generally all things before us, I bought it him as a Christmas gift and he loves it so much! He said it covers everything, even the smaller things that are usually skipped. Not only that but the illustrations are incredible! This is honestly a must for anyone interested in the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This masterfully illustrated book and scholarly commentary carry the readers imagination through all the epochs of prehistoric life in a handy sized volume with a detailed index.A very absorbing and enjoyable experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
A very well done and diverse take on the history of life. I did not read this from a professional point of view, but as an amateur hobbiest in evolution and I greatly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Everything you ever wanted to know is in this book.
Very educational, well illustrated and great value for money.
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Excellent! Amazing graphics. Very comprehensive. Very useful for fun / school projects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
This is a really marvelous canter through all of pre-history. Exciting presentation with numerous side facts and asides that really brings life to not just the fossils but also the world these amazing creatures lived in and the way they were preserved. Fantastic to dip in and out of, I particular enjoyed the evolution of plants which is often forgotten and the brilliant illustrations of all my favourites (Velociraptor with feathers - classic!). Every time I pick it up I learn something. I will be enjoying this rich volume for some time I am sure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)