Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
My son loves wwe and this book was ideal for him. He had seen it in town but i refused to pay the price they wanted. Arrived in excellent condition and my son is enjoying this very very much.
Published 10 months ago by Jayne Burdett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book but not for a young wrestling fan
i bought this book for my 12 year old son who is a big wrestling fan, but didnt think it was suitable for his age, its more for the older wrestling generation fan as it goes many years back to unknown wresters for the younger generation, so great for your dad, grandad!
Published 19 months ago by rebz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son loves wwe and this book was ideal for him. He had seen it in town but i refused to pay the price they wanted. Arrived in excellent condition and my son is enjoying this very very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son LOVES this book! Well worth the money. He takes it to school every week and reads for ages at home too. He has learnt so much about his favourite past time. Only down side if it can be is its really heavy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book my son ever picks up!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can i say? The perfect book for a WWE fan. My son loves this book and reads it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for any wwe fan, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, a must for any wwe fan. Full of fab info, and pictures. My son loves it so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for WWE fans!, 5 Mar 2013
By 
C. Stott "Kir 007" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book to my brother and his son who have become WWE fans - they were thrilled by it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a WWE fan, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a 'surprise' extra Christmas gift for my WWE fanatic 13 year old.
To say he was delighted with it would be an understatement. He couldn't stop enthusing about the depth of content in the book and, having snuck a look myself, I can see why. The content is comprehensive yet presented in an easy to read manner. I found myself getting engrossed too. As is usual with Dorling Kindersley a great iem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Testament for the WWE's Bible!, 27 Oct 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In 2009, Kevin Sullivan and Brian Shields gave us WWE Encyclopedia; an absolutely mammoth book that was simply packed with everything to know about World Wrestling Entertainment. All wrestlers, managers, announcers, factions, Divas & titles (past & present), wrestling shows (live, TV and Pay-Per-View), match-types, storylines, merchandise etc, had been covered in such extensive, fascinating detail, the book was simply mandatory for all fans (not just of WWE, but wrestling itself).

The thing that made WWE Encyclopedia a masterpiece was the writers' compassion for the project. Sullivan & Shields DID their homework, and they were able to sum up (virtually) the entire magnitude of WWE in one big book, through a superlative layout, great use of pictures and text (varying in degree of importance of superstar), and enlightening chronicles with very little inaccuracies. It was an overall work of perfection.

Of course, that was back in 2009. Much has changed in the WWE since then. Wrestlers have come and gone, various superstars & legends have only grown in prominence, so it's only logical that Dorling Kingsley release an UPDATED version of WWE Encyclopedia. For this newer version, Kevin Sullivan and Brian Shields have managed to improve their masterwork. The hardback is now four-hundred & sixteen pages, with hugely updated profiles for the likes of CM Punk, The Miz, Edge, Kane, Christian (to name only a few) and many brand new inclusions such as Sheamus, Daniel Bryan, Wade Barrett and Drew McIntyre.

Most of the content of this newer version is as you'd expect before. The profiling of all the hundreds and hundreds of WWE Legends & Superstars varies depending on level of importance and achievements. Guys like Hulk Hogan, The Rock, Stone Cold, John Cena, The Undertaker etc get two-page treatments, Bret Hart, Randy Savage, Shawn Michaels & Eddie Guerrero get pages devoted to themselves, veterans, mid-carders & jobbers are provided with much smaller insights into their careers. Bottom-line, it's all sensibly done, and the fact that the pacing remains perfect as ever is just a plus.

But the level of detail has only been INCREASED this time around. For example, Kevin and Brian have actually delved deeper into each of the wrestlers' title histories, providing dates of when they captured various gold and who they defeated for said-prizes. More anecdotes like that are just simply a plus for this newer edition, and they're everywhere throughout. The writers' pride in producing something worthwhile remains as strong as ever.

It becomes apparent as soon as you start reading that everything that made the first version of this Encyclopedia so wonderful has been upheld and honoured. Vince McMahon hasn't allowed his ego to ruin the fans' enjoyment of this book and allows history to remain for the fans to savour forever. Jeff Hardy, Kurt Angle, Jeff Jarrett, Ultimate Warrior (and all those who either left or fell out with Vince) all remain honoured and celebrated. Chris Benoit is still chronicled (minus mention of the god-awful Benoit Tragedy), late greats like Owen Hart, British Bulldog, Mr Perfect are still remembered, guys like Tazz, Sabu & Goldberg are praised for their greater success in other organizations, and all of history's Divas are documented with tremendous acclaim. Facts about wrestlers' heights, weights, hometowns, finishing moves etc remain fun and enlightening, as does the special examination of all the various title histories, results of major shows, WrestleMania and the Undertaker's streak. For fans of the previous Encyclopedia, this remains a fun, pleasurable learning experience. For those who missed the first edition, this update will truly impress regardless. Kids will love it, and long-time wrestling fans will be equally amazed to discover things even they didn't know about the WWE and those who worked for the company!

If you haven't picked up WWE Encyclopedia before now, you're REALLY missing out. This is simply THE wrestling book for all fans to purchase. Even if you already have the 2009 edition, this update is still highly recommended. It somehow manages to improve on the original, and for that, this book is even more essential than ever! Purchase immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoWWE!, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is truly impressive, from the beautiful cover (front and back) to the sheer amount of content within. Literally every Superstar I can think of is covered in this book. It also covers TV shows, PPV's, merchandise and WWE's Oscar winning movies.
This is a fantastic reference book to dip in and out of, or a great one to read from start to finish.
It will keep me occupied for ages to come - and it covers such future Hall Of Famers as Beaver Cleavage, Brakkus, Goon, Gavin Spears and Danny Doring!
Full marks for this book; its great value and an essential purchase for WWE fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All it says it is and more., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
A true and amazing read forany true wrestling fan, this will keep you informed with entertaining facts about anything and everything regarding WWE. Events, Wrestlers past and present, historical facts, locations , refferees and just about anything else. A must have if you love the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE Encyclopedia
WWE Encyclopedia by Brian Shields (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2012)
22.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews