Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but big - great pictures
As with all Eyewitness Guides, the multitude of glossy colour photographs are a real selling point of this guide. It's very helpful for pre-departure planning. The maps are good and integrate well with the text. There are also close up double page spreads focussing on the main sights, highlighting the best bits and mentioning the rest too.

The guide focusses...
Published on 24 July 2007 by BookWorm

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for history
Used this book on a short trip to Prague. It is very good on the history of all that there is to see. It is not so good on:

Maps - These are inconsistent (things move about between maps) and overly simplified so at times it is impossible to work out which direction to go without walking to the next junction just to see where you are.

Walks and...
Published on 8 May 2011 by Bill Deeley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but big - great pictures, 24 July 2007
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As with all Eyewitness Guides, the multitude of glossy colour photographs are a real selling point of this guide. It's very helpful for pre-departure planning. The maps are good and integrate well with the text. There are also close up double page spreads focussing on the main sights, highlighting the best bits and mentioning the rest too.

The guide focusses on the sights, and achieves a good balance between showing highlights and 'best ofs' to help a time-poor traveller choose their itinary, while still showing the less famous attractions the city has to offer.

There is also information on places to eat and sleep, general cultural information, and practial information, plus a phrasebook. I found this section informative and well laid out, with just the right level of detail.

The main disadvantage with this book is the size. It's just a bit big and bulky to be comfortable to carry around. However, for pre-departure planning it's well worth a look, and of all the guides I looked at, the number and usefulness of the pictures inside are unrivalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need for a stay in Prague, 29 Aug. 2012
I bought this book before our recent stay in Prague and can't praise the publication highly enough. The book disects Prague area by area, provides detailed street layouts and highlights the most important buildings / sites. It also suggests a daily itinerary and general information about getting around, eating and drinking out, etc. It also includes plenty of history and contains great glossy photos and illustrations as well as a superb pull out map. It's generally good reading and once you've got it, you'll feel as though you are already there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DK Eyewitness Travel Prague, 20 May 2010
By 
Ms. Zb Zain "unknown" (malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was surprised to have seen that the price was half of the price in the bookshop. I received it brand new and in hard cover. It will be my first time visiting Prague and the book has really good insights about the place. Lots of photos and short thumb notes. It categorizes the sights area by area so you will know the main attractions it offers. Travelers' guide, restaurants and pubs, shopping and etc. I find the book is very useful for any use. I was shocked of the quality given by buying it online and getting it half-off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for history, 8 May 2011
Used this book on a short trip to Prague. It is very good on the history of all that there is to see. It is not so good on:

Maps - These are inconsistent (things move about between maps) and overly simplified so at times it is impossible to work out which direction to go without walking to the next junction just to see where you are.

Walks and walking routes: These vary from OK to poor - it looks like some have either never actually been done or are so many years out of date they would be better not included.

The general layout of a guide book is always going to be a compromise. This was reasonable, but I did find I had fingers in three pages at times! It may also have been improved if the maps were at the back rather than sandwiched between the street index and the general index. I never could go straight to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Visiting Prague, 26 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for planning what you want to see and do on your visit to Prague. Good descriptions and info, pictures fab for helping you locate the place once there. Found the smaller maps a little less reliable and got loss at one point but not a major disaster. Love the extra info on whether a place charged admission and which days closed.I always purchase DK books for planning my travels because of quality of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read from DK Eyewitness, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
Lisa Walker (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having booked a short stay in Prague I wanted to maximise my time there and see as much as possible. I thought this book would help as i've bought many DK Eyewitness guides for various city breaks. The prague one didn't disappoint. It had fantastic pictures of what to see and how to get there. The map is very durable and incredibly useful. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb DK Guide, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We found this absolutely fantastic when planning our 5 days in Prague. With this wonderful guide book we were able to avoid being part of the crocodiles of people on guided tours. It's crammed with superb illustrations and great inside information logically set out and easy to follow. A great asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great help indeed, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Travelled to Prague at the beginning of this year and I found this guide invaluable, well worth purchasing. Gives the new traveller a city route and full of descriptions. The only thing missing is a warning about the tram numbers and routes which change constantly, so I suppose that is difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent DK guide, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. J. J. Percival "sedgemoor" (Hungerford(ish), UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DK's eyewitness travel guides are a dependable staple, especially if you have limited time and need to prioritise what and where. We used this extensively during our stay, the maps are accurate and only one of recommended bar/restaurants let us down (well, closed for refurbishment as it happens)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In-depth info, 6 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want the ins and outs of Prague this is the book! Has great reviews for pubs, clubs and restaurants. Maps inside are real helpful and i planned out my trip on them. Goes into detail to help you travel about the city and explains local customs to look out for. Major holiday help!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prague (DK Eyewitness Travel Guides)
Prague (DK Eyewitness Travel Guides) by Vladimir Soukup (Paperback - 21 Feb. 2011)
Used & New from: £13.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews