Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another DK Gem
DK always have well researched, sturdy, intuitive to use and beautiful books and this is no exception. I'm convinced web graphics were based on DK books and having this pocket sized handbook in your hand is like having a little
Computer with you but WAY more convenient! No battery problems, no crashes, no dodgy signals or passwords and best of all you can flick...
Published on 30 Aug 2011 by Neil

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 Tuscany (and a bit about Florence)
Beware, this is not a city guide to Florence (unlike other Top 10 guides). The title is rather misleading, as the emphasis inside the book is more on Tuscany than Florence itself.
Published on 26 Sep 2009 by G. R. Clayton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 Tuscany (and a bit about Florence), 26 Sep 2009
By 
G. R. Clayton (Middlesex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beware, this is not a city guide to Florence (unlike other Top 10 guides). The title is rather misleading, as the emphasis inside the book is more on Tuscany than Florence itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 Guide - Florence, 8 Jun 2009
By 
R. Claxton "Roz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Handy book with good information and maps, but trys to cover too big an area.
These are generally great guide books, but the ones that are city specific are better as they have more detailed information
Shame there are no maps of Pisa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another DK Gem, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Top 10 Florence and Tuscany (DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guides) (Paperback)
DK always have well researched, sturdy, intuitive to use and beautiful books and this is no exception. I'm convinced web graphics were based on DK books and having this pocket sized handbook in your hand is like having a little
Computer with you but WAY more convenient! No battery problems, no crashes, no dodgy signals or passwords and best of all you can flick easily from one page to another! It's time to shout out for OLD TECH! I love my DK books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bland and disappointing, 26 Jan 2011
I really enjoy the majority of DK books that I have bought over the years, mainly for their chatty style, rich images, and graphic demonstrations of the internals of buildings etc. The Kindle version of this book has none of these elements - it has all the stylistic charm of a wikipedia article, it has all the graphic flair of a telephone directory, and I can see it being about as useful as a chocolate teapot (top item to do with children "try picnicing" - pitiful....).

The images are almost universally postage stamp sized and when you zoom into them they pixelate to such a degree that they are unusable (even the street maps do this, which begs the question of why bother putting them in if you're not going to do it right). If you are looking for.a guide to Florence and using an iPad, get an offline map reader such as Offmaps 2 instead - it is lots more useful, cheaper, and more entertaining.as well!

In case any of the above is unclear, I'm really, really disappointed in this book, and it has soured the DK brand for me to such a degree that I shall first look for offerings from other companies in the future before resorting to purchasing a DK book (their editorial standards must have tumbled dramatically to allow something like this to be published under their name). Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Simple , clear and useful, 19 April 2011
By 
Mr. J. A. G. Currie (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top 10 Florence and Tuscany (DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Not a guide for travelers but a very useful starting point for tourists. The basic information about the region is presented in foolproof way and the indexing, illustrations and layout mean that it is a book useful for incurious illiterates who nevertheless need to know something about where they are going. A starting point but its "Tuscany lite".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good no nonsense guide book, 18 Dec 2010
these little books are what it says on the cover the top ten attractions in the area small enough to carry with you these are the best guide books you can buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shallow and out of date, 30 Aug 2010
We have used many Eyewitness Top 10 guides and found them to be informative and time-saving. They are particularly good for cities such as Paris where there is lots to see but you may only have a weekend to get the best from the place. This guide to Tuscany and Florence was disappointing. It focussed too much on Florence at the expense of other places. We also found it's eatery and cafe bar recommendations to be out of date. One cafe we made a point of visiting was actually closed down. As a pocket guide to the area this book was just OK. Choose one that has more depth and is up to date to get the best from Tuscany. If you are just visiting Florence then choose a guide book dedicted to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 12 Aug 2010
I always use the Top 10 guides, they are light and easy to carry and with this one, as always we ended up seeing small places off the normal routes that are not always included in the larger guide books. These are the best books if you only have a small amount of time. For a longer trip I would recommend buying a more indepth guide, read it at home before you leave and bring the Top 10 with you, especially if you intend spending more than a couple of days in Florence. Only one critisism, this is not a driving guide however a little information on parking would still be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Mar 2010
By 
B. S. Dhillon "jeetdhillon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
excellent book - i always stick to this series of books for my holidays. Its handy and lightweight - easily fits into a back pocket. And it comes with a fold out map. All the major information is within - i love the top 10 lists and iteneraries for day trips are excellent for short trips / short city breaks. Definitely recommend to everyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Italian holidays, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Y. Warren (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and rummage through for information, especially for fleeting visits when you want to make the best of the time available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafe05d5c)

This product

Top 10 Florence and Tuscany (DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guides)
Top 10 Florence and Tuscany (DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guides) by Reid Bramblett (Paperback - 21 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews