Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!
This book does clarify and explain a lot and in a few cases provides new definitive answers. I now understand things the show had me scratching my head about. Was very much worth getting hold of! :)

Definitely a book for fans...the book is NOT a substitute for the tv show.
Published on 27 Oct. 2010 by Fido Brown

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typorific
Could have been great but isn't. The sheer amount of typos is beyond belief. Proof reading people??!! Some nice schematics of the Dharma stations but also copious entries on peripheral unimportant characters. Sorely missing a chronological timeline of the lost universe. Don't bother just look browse (...) instead.
Published on 14 Jan. 2011 by Thomas J. Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, 27 Oct. 2010
By 
Fido Brown (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This book does clarify and explain a lot and in a few cases provides new definitive answers. I now understand things the show had me scratching my head about. Was very much worth getting hold of! :)

Definitely a book for fans...the book is NOT a substitute for the tv show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4815162342 Reasons To Love Lost All Over Again, 1 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Lost was a show you either loved or hated. Those that 'got it' went along for the ride. Those that got left behind will sadly never be convinced that what they missed was something truly special, the likes of which will never be seen again.

To pull off a show that had such a huge story arc and fantastical elements to it, yet have the characters all remain such well-realised and believable is no small feat, and reading the Lost Encyclopedia just makes you appreciate the sheer depth, scope, and hard work that went into delivering the show to such a rabid and passionate fanbase who asked as many questions of the creators as they demanded answers. There is only one other show in recent memory that I can think of that had such a consistent and rich universe to play in, and that was Battlestar Galactica - a show that touched upon things that spoke to the core of who we are as people. Lost was no different, but it does approach things in a more intimate and direct way by pushing emotional buttons.

All of this aside, the work that Tara Bennett and Paul Terry have put into this mammoth tome really shows. It is lavishly illustrated at every turn, with detailed information on every and any character that ever made an appearance - be that big or small. If it had some bearing on Lost's winding narrative, it can be found here.

The one thing you will not find however are too many definitive answers - many things are expounded upon, and the wealth of information and trivia is plainly obvious right out of the box. But the cryptic nature of The Island and its mysteries was (and always will be) the beauty of Lost. The only definitive answers you will find here are what the show already provided us with. The fact that this overwhelming wealth of information is collated here in one book is pretty awe-inspiring when looked upon as a whole, and gives you a real appreciation for the sheer depth of the show. A great example being that I've recently started rewatching the show from scratch on Blu-Ray, and in Season 2 Locke answers a crossword puzzle with the word: 'Gilgamesh'. The scene must last all of 2 seconds at most on screen. I went and looked it up on Wikipedia...pretty amazing stuff in hindsight.

Those that got it, enjoyed one of the most rewarding and satisfying shows that connected with us on very personal levels. This book only seeks to prove this further, and does so with great style and conviction. I applaud the authors and the obvious amount of hard work and effort that went into making it happen, I certainly don't envy their task!

For those of us who went down with Oceanic 815, this is an absolute must have. For those of you who are yet to visit the Island and uncover its secrets - put this on your Amazon wishlist, because once you've reached the end you'll be left craving more - and this book delivers that in spades, and then some.

PS: It smells absolutely great out of the box too - nothing like the smell of a freshly printed book! Kudos to all involved in putting this together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made my man read, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
My boyfriend never ever reads books he is such a laptop junkie so I thought I was taking a risk buying him this, however being such a Lost fan he could not resist and spent ages perusing the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic for clarity, but don't expect any definitive answers to the show's mythology, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Having been a massive Lost fan from the start, I was delighted when this book was released. The sheer amount of material covered in the 6 seasons was mind boggling and this book categorises everything you could ever want to know regarding Lost, including the smoke monster, the characters, the numbers ect.

When reading the book, you begin to appreciate how intricate the show was, almost everything had a hidden meaning or agenda which is very easy to miss on the first viewing. Written in clear sections, things seem a lot clearer and certainly joins the dots together about things that you forgot, or went unnoticed when you were watching the show. However, if you are expecting clear and definitive answers with pages of explanations about all the Lost mythology, you will be disappointed. The book has clearly been written with the idea of giving the reader a load of information and then expecting them to come to their own conclusions about the show. If you are Lost fan, there is more than enough material here to keep you going for ages and certainly makes you want to watch the show again so you can go back and find all the things you missed on first viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Encyclopedia, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:55 Mins

I recently purchased this book on sale. Having not seen "Lost" in several years, the book actually has inspired me to revisit the series. I think this is a must-own for Lost fans, and it would make a great gift.

Like a regular encyclopedia, the entries are arranged in alphabetical order. Everything is included - characters, locations, props, companies/organizations, etc. The book also makes use of the show's extensive collection of memorable imagery and includes a variety of pictures on each page. The authors clearly wanted to place as much of an emphasis on the visual aspect of the book as the written aspects.

There are a few factual errors and odd omissions here and there, and these are detailed more closely in other customer reviews. But I would say that the authors had a very tough job here in rounding up all the information and mythology from Lost - not only was the show very dense in general, but it's non-linear presentation made keeping track of things all the more difficult. Overall, they did a good job compiling and editing content for this encyclopedia.

Link to Photo Gallery: movieartbook.com/2015/04/photo-gallery-lost-encyclopedia.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect book... almost, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Wow, what a book this is. But let's be clear about this right from the start - this is NOT an episode guide. This book does not list any of the episodes. It is simply a (very good and detailed) A-Z of all the characters and their relevance in the show. The book is not a lightweight either. Try holding it in one hand for long enough and you will start to feel the strain of just how heavy it is!

It is definitely a must-have item for any fans of the show. The attention to detail is breath-taking and you will find yourself saying "oh I remember that bit" or "I remember that person". The book evokes fond memories of the show and will most likely make you want to start watching it all over again.

Without an episode guide, I cannot rate the book as a 5* perfect book.... but it's not far off...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any lost fan, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This book is a definite purchase for anyone who likes Lost. Over 400 pages of information, with beautiful images and pictures. It has literally everything you need to know about the show - characters, locations, stories, even an entire page on chocolate bars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative!, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This was for my daughter who is a complete Lost fan and she loved it. She knows lots about the series but there was information in here that even she didn't know! Also good is the fact that each character has a section all of their own. A great book for Lost fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book!, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
As an avid Lost fan this book has proved invaluable in answering a few queries I had and things I didn't quite understand. It's full of photos, facts and figures and character descriptions. If you loved Lost you will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for lost fans everywhere, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
a great book and good value for money. a perfect gift for the lost fans . good quality and very thorough reference , its a big book so I would recommend buying a coffee table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Encyclopedia
Lost Encyclopedia by Paul Terry (Hardcover - 21 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £17.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews