Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 March 2009
This book is a fantastic book for anyone with even a slight interest in the ocean. It is filled with information and colourful yet relevant photographs!

It is split into 4 main sections, each of which are further divided into topics -

INTRODUCTION
- Ocean Water (Includes info on properties of water)
- Ocean Geology (Origin of and evolution of the earth and the oceans)
- Circulation and Climate (Info on winds, currents, climate etc)
- Tides and Waves (Ocean waves and tides)

OCEAN ENVIRONMENTS
- Coasts and the seashore (formation of coasts, processes involved)
- Shallow Seas (features of rocky sea beds, kelp forests, coral reefs)
- The Open ocean and Ocean floor (features of the ocean, zones, geology, human exploration etc)
- The Polar Oceans (structure of ice shelves, icebergs, water circulation)

OCEAN LIFE
- Introduction to the Ocean Life (classification, history, zones of ocean life)
- Kingdoms of Ocean Life (examples of ocean life from bacteria to fish to mammals, photos and details on specific species)

ATLAS OF THE OCEANS (detailed maps of the five oceans that seperate the major landmasses of the world, additional photos of other features of that area)
- Oceans of the World
- The Arctic Ocean
- The Atlantic Ocean
- The Indian Ocean
- The Pacific Ocean
- The Southern Ocean

Each chapter is really easy to read. It is detailed yet broken up into small sections so it can easily be picked up and read at any point. I think that anyone who has an interest in the ocean would love this book. There are so many different things to learn about the ocean and this book really is a good introduction for anyone who wants to learn more. The price is fantastic value for the quality and volume of the content and I would urge you to get yourself a copy!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
I own every book in this series -- Animal, Plant, Earth, Human, and Universe -- and was perplexed why there wasn't an Ocean. When this came out, I was thrilled and nabbed it asap. As usual, the photos are stunning, and Ocean focuses on life at all scales, from microscopic plankton to whales. The multicolored crustaceans and deep-sea bioluminescents are my favorites. I think this is my favorite book in the DK series. No, wait -- Universe is. No -- Ocean. Definitely Ocean.
22 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
If you have an interest in oceans this is the only book you will ever need.Itis very well written and illustrated-particularly the denizens of the deep.In addition to the author thereis one consultant and 9 contributors listed.
The book is divided into various sections as follows a)introduction covering ocean water,geology,circulation and climate,and tides and waves b)the ocean environment dealing with coasts and seashores,shallow seas,the open ocean and sea floor and polar oceans. c)ocean life covering classification,bottom living,migration,and history plus 7 other matters,but the main part is devoted to ocean inhabitants both plants and animals including bacteria and protozoa d)the final section is an atlas of the oceans.
There is an excellent glossary
This book has the failings of all DK pictorial publications in that the best pictures cover two pages completely destroying the image.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
I bought this book to learn a little more about the ocean and its ecosystems so that I could keep up with my own teenagers! I was totally impressed from the word go. The photographs are fantastic but the book is so usefully divided up into manageable sections that once I start to read a section I can't put it down. Packed with valuable information, this is much more than just a coffee table picture book. A great resource for students and parents alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
This book's packed with information on everything that lives under the ocean, and, the ocean/water/layout itself. The book might not be as big as you'd expect from my review, but it's still packed with information though. It seems to contain everything you could ever want to know about the ocean and it's living creatures (amazingly) for it's medium size. Contents are as follows ...

Ocean Water

Ocean Geology

Circulation and Climate

Tides and Waves

OCEAN ENVIRONMENTS

Coasts and the Seashore

Shallow Seas

The Open Ocean and Ocean Floor

The Polar Oceans

OCEAN LIFE

Introduction to Ocean Life

Kingdoms of Ocean Life

ATLAS OF THE OCEANS

Oceans of the World

The Arctic Ocean

The Atlantic Ocean

The Indian Ocean

The Pacific Ocean

The Southern Ocean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2008
500 stunning pages full of pictures, illustrations and diagrams covering different oceans, ocean habitats, marine plants and animals, ocean geology, currents, etc. Ideal for homework, reference or just plain interest. A lovely book for the study or coffee table
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
When I brought this book I wanted a broad update on the latest thoughts in oceanography and marine biology. 'Ocean' easily achieved this in an entertaining and highly readable way. Traditional concepts are established in a fresh visual style and latest research is highlighted for future reading and exploration as required by the reader. The photography throughout is stunning and the illustrations and diagrams excellent enhancements to concepts. 'Ocean' is a good primer text for future studies and would sit comfortably as an additional text in a first year university marine science course. Thoroughly deserving of a handy place on the bookshelf for its beautiful illustrations and photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
A mix between a coffee table and informative book. An exploration of the ocean which combines beautiful photos with a significant, but also easily to understand, amount of text.
I gave this book as a present and the recipient spent the next few days not wanting to let it go, whilst other in our group tried to dip in and out when we could!
Suitable for the the more serious scientist or passers by just interested in the underwater world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
This book is so packed with information that if you tried to digest it all your head would explode. The presentation is wonderful, then there are the superb pictures and photographs! Wow, you need this book. Really, if you're even slightly interested in the oceans you have to have this book. I've never seen anything so chock full of interesting stuff. I wasn't a fan of DK, but now I'm searching Amazon for everything they do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
This book has been perfect for my 9 year old son who is seriously into oceans and marine animals - great pictures and write ups - it has kept him totally occupied since christmas day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)