Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic!, 17 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Once again, an exciting, interesting, and thouroughly enjoyable edition from DK. 'Animal' is possibly the best book to begin exploring the myriad of animal life that is gracing our known world.
This book is not just a colourful guide to the Animal Kingdom, indeed it is more an informative reference guide that involves us in each Species within. It informs us, via impressive Data boxes and stunning photography of the animals contained.
It classifies each animal group for easy, consise reading and explores habitats, Status, Occurences, and Statistics.
Excellent Reading, Excellent Viewing, and Excellent Reference.
Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring content and presentation, 25 Mar 2006
By 
L. P. Roche (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
"Animal" is extraordinarily good value for anyone interested in the natural world. In more than 600 superbly presented large format pages, several thousand species are beautifully illustrated and their key characteristics including distribution and conservation status described precisely and authoratively. There are introductory chapters providing a general overview of zoology including the tree of classification. The main part of the text is broken into large chapters on mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, reptiles, fish and inverterbrates, covering almost every species most people will have heard of, and many others. Attention to the more obscure branches of nature is as meticulous as that given to the best-known species. "Animal" is a book for stimulating browsing and for reference, for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 July 2002
By A Customer
Animal is such a brilliant book! I have been totally absorbed reading it! It's true to say that this book is engrossing and you can really get carried away reading the descriptions and seeing the pictures of the different animals/species, some of which I was not even aware of!
This book reads extremely easily and can be understood by all... the information is facinating and informative while not too indepth as to make it boring. The pictures are fantastic too... I cannot recommend this book highly enough. If you are at all interested in animals you'll love it!
This is an excellent book that is as entertaining as any documentary. I really love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book for all., 14 Mar 2002
A big heavy book, but the text within is anything but heavy. A wealth of information about animals, their habitats, feeding habits and phylogeny is presented in over 600 pages of fantastic photos, and in-depth but easy to read text. An essential book to animal enthuiasts, a very useful tool to students in zoology, biology and other animal related subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Review, 24 April 2003
By 
This book is a really good visual guide for all wildlife enthusiasts. The information is easy to understand and covers classification sytems, animal habitiats, behaviour, biology and loads more. The photos are excellent, I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to find out more about wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, Authoritative Text and Great Illustrations, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I cannot but fully agree with every praise showered over "Animal". It is one of the best reference works I have ever seen. The text accompanying the excellent illustrations is compact and to the point. It makes great reading.
Nevertheless, I have to raise three small points:
1. Where are "Homo Sapiens Sapiens"? I didn't find him in the Apes Section where it belongs. Religious Reasons?
2. Why not include feeding and reproduction information (e.g. gestation period, number of young produced etc.) in the animals' "Identity Cards"? It is true that in many cases the text offers that information, but not always...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of readable information, 17 Nov 2003
By 
Peter Roberts "PeterandtheGoose" (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this book a while back, but I'll never regret it. If you want to research animals, have a casual glance through a good book, or you are just interested in that kind of thing, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly superb book, 11 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Will definitely exceed your expectations. It's truly comprehensive, covering habitats as well as all the animals, making a fantastic reference for all the family. Sensational pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every familys bookshelf, 10 Dec 2001
By A Customer
A marvellous account of the Animal Kingdom.
Unusual to begin with Mammals and go backwards, most encyclopaedias of this nature,work their way through the animal kingdom from invertebrates up to mammals but nevertheless it is still a book that all the family should be able to use and enjoy.
It is beautifully illustrated throughout in the true Dorling Kindersley style.
My only complaint is that it is a heavy tome so probably better to order it by mail than carry it home from the shops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect..exactly as described. i dont need to buy any other animal books...this one has it all, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book my son(5) chose from his school library, it weighs a ton, but he managed to carry it with his book bag! It has a pic of almost everything featured. I even found family members were tempted to have a sneaky look for animals they wanted to know more about. This book will be a great reference book for my son for many more years to come :-) paid 6.49 was 40 when it would have been new!! bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal: The Definitive Visual Guide to the World's Wildlife
Used & New from: 8.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews