Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got Me Through My 1st Sewing Project in 22 Years!
this is a great reference for someone who can sew a straight line but little more. It's a quick, practical, UNDERSTANDABLE, guide for the procedures glossed over in most patterns. The only part of the book that I would expand is the layout, marking, and cutting sections. This is where I would have appreciated a discussion of different techniques/shortcuts that will...
Published on 10 Jun 1999

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful if you are a absolute beginner
This is a very small book, suitable for someone who knows absolutely nothing about sewing, so if you can sew a bit already, or at least in a straight line I would recommend a more detailed/advanced book.
Published on 2 May 2009 by Orjana


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got Me Through My 1st Sewing Project in 22 Years!, 10 Jun 1999
By A Customer
this is a great reference for someone who can sew a straight line but little more. It's a quick, practical, UNDERSTANDABLE, guide for the procedures glossed over in most patterns. The only part of the book that I would expand is the layout, marking, and cutting sections. This is where I would have appreciated a discussion of different techniques/shortcuts that will not ruin a project. Overall a great little book, the kind of thing I'd like to send my kids off with when they leave home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the beginner, 21 Oct 2006
By 
E. Charters (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
I class myself as a beginner in the sewing world . This is a great book for someone who is an absolute beginner but surprisingly was too basic for me . Very clearly laid out. Recommended for those who can sew a straight line but sew little else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners who need an easy and concise reference, 6 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This book is exactly what the title says, basic sewing. The book's illustrations are easy to follow and includes information and step-by-step guidance on how to make a dart, seams, sleeves, work with a pattern, hem and other sewing essentials. The book also shows how to make simple clothing repairs, something that plagues every household. In fact, I plan to give a copy of this book to all of my friends who show up with clothes and ask "can you fix this."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivers its promise, 19 July 2001
This book keeps its promise of delivering "101 essential tips". From choosing cutting tools to repairing a button hole, there are lots of tips to satisfy the beginner sewer. While I like the layout, which includes step-by-step instructions accompanied by photos, this little book could be vastly improved by adding a few more pictures to some of the tips to make them more clear. A couple of pictures could also be improved by better choice of colour (e.g. attaching a flat collar, which is a glaring yellow, and darning a hole, which is so well done you cannot see the example stitches clearly enough!). Nevertheless, overall it is a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful if you are a absolute beginner, 2 May 2009
By 
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
This is a very small book, suitable for someone who knows absolutely nothing about sewing, so if you can sew a bit already, or at least in a straight line I would recommend a more detailed/advanced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic? Only if you understand 'sewing speak'!, 6 July 2007
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
101 tips, yes. Pictures unclear. Often refers to terms unfamiliar to someone new to sewing. some tips are about choosing the right type of something, it'll list 4 or 5, but only give an explanation of 2, so you're left wandering what the others are. I'll probably refer to it at some point, but I wish I'd picked a different 'basic sewing' guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible small sewing handbook, 30 July 2011
By 
Elizabeth S. Wells (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
This little book is packed with information and clear illustrations for home seamstresses. Not only a book to refer to for items of information, but clear, illustrated demonstrations. I am glad to have this by me, when I am sewing - a really useful discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sewing know how, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter to go with her new sewing machine, she was very pleased as it covers a lot of tips and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The size of the book was deceiving., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
I was deceived by the book as it looked bigger on amazon. Too small and not enough detail. I would look for a better book next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter traching herself to sew, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing (Paperback)
My daughter has decided to sew in her 30s and as we live 300 miles away I can't teach her, I bought this for her. She really likes it as an absolute beginner. Wish she'd shown an interest when young
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing
101 Essential Tips: Basic Sewing by DK Publishing (Paperback - 20 Sep 2004)
2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews