Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as good as ever
This is one of my favourite series due to its complex theme and focused viewpoint. This is just as good as the rest of the series but I would start at the beginning since much depends on the history.
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by London Life

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Cherryh's work but the saga is a bit played out
Nice to read another one of this series. However this is a bit of a pot boiler. The same themes and plots and action sequences are rehashed. Hope Cherryh will embark on a new Venture and bring back some Pride to her work. Or widen the scope of the series and get off planet again.
Published on 20 May 2012 by hilarychrissarah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as good as ever, 16 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Betrayer (Foreigner Novels) (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourite series due to its complex theme and focused viewpoint. This is just as good as the rest of the series but I would start at the beginning since much depends on the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars toward peace, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Betrayer (Foreigner Novels) (Hardcover)
I hated the end of the last book because it was a cliffhanger and this couldn't have come too soon. Bren and Cajeiri are interesting people with very clear personalities and the whole universe is coherent and fascinating. This book gives a clear picture of Cajeiri growing into his position of heir and is almost Arthur to Bren's Merlin - except there is no magic just deep understanding of two alien psychologies. the peripheral characters are coherent and well drawn and intriguing. can't wait for the next step. Will the South be willing and able to join the central alliance, will the western tribes find a place without piracy? will the foreigners from the stars find the Atevi home world and if they do will that go smoothly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A circle completed, 22 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the previous story (Deceiver) the description on the back of the book refers more to the previous novel than to this one.
'Deceiver' ended with Ilisidi sending Bren Cameron to talk to a hostile lord, Machigi. 'Bertrayer' opens the following morning, with Bren about to have an interview with Machigi, who, it turns out, is not responsible for many of the hostile actions laid at his door. To prove his good faith, Machigi returns the accidentally kidnapped Barb as well as Veijico, the young Guild member who had followed Cajieri's orders a little too literally.
Cajieri is growing up fast and in helping Bren's injured brother, Toby, learns a great deal of what is going on and does not, for once, act rashly.
This story ends the 'mopping-up' actions which followed the Civil War and does make for a satisfying conclusion, as we finally learn exactly who has done what to whom - and who will suffer for it!
If you have never read one of the 'Foreigner' stories before, I wouldn't recommend starting with this one, as it follows the action in 'Deceiver' so closely - try 'Conspiritor' instead, as this is the first of the three in this series.
Hopefully 'Intruder', the start of the next trilogy, will deal with a visitation of the Kyo - wouldn't it be great if their 'hostile neighbours' turned out to be the Hani ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well up to Cherryhs usual standard. Waiting for the next one - I want to see what happens to the politics when the Kyo come visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Series, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Foreigner series is an awesome feat of imagination and I look forward to continuing for a very long time. It is difficult to begin because the words names and character relationships are complex but it is worth every bit of effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Atevi brilliance, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Twelve books into the Foreigner series and I'm still in love with everything about it. Even though the politics and intrigue is pretty heavy in this one there's a fair bit of action in the second half of the book. I'm enjoying reading the interspersed Cajeiri point of view segments. I love Bren but his relationship with his Atevi bodyguards and his place in Atevi society has become a lot more stable in recent books, so Cajeiri being more in flux with his associations and shifting man'chi holds a degree more fascination. If he was a human boy it wouldn't work half as much. It's Cherryh's brilliantly conceptualised alien culture that powers the fascination throughout. Writing reviews for books in this series does seem a little pointless as if you are even contemplating reading this one I'm already preaching to the choir. Long may this series continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love Cherryh's work but the saga is a bit played out, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to read another one of this series. However this is a bit of a pot boiler. The same themes and plots and action sequences are rehashed. Hope Cherryh will embark on a new Venture and bring back some Pride to her work. Or widen the scope of the series and get off planet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betrayer (Foreigner Novels)
Betrayer (Foreigner Novels) by C. J. Cherryh (Hardcover - 5 April 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews