Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And just when you thought it was all over..., 29 Jun 2009
By 
James L. Munro "Jim Munro" (Farnham Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspirator (Foreigner Novels) (Hardcover)
When I read "Conspirator" I felt that it marked the end of this fascinating exploration of a situation where humans are not only the aliens but are also far from being the dominant partner in the relationship. I am delighted to be proved wrong. In this book, CJ Cherryh has begun to explore a new facet of the complex relationship between the human ambassador Bren Cameron and the son of the Atevi ruler of the planet. In this she explores the wider implications of Bren's commitment to the Atevi and his increasing alienation from his own race. The Civil war is over but a new power struggle has begun which as the book ends seems likely to draw Bren deeper into his persona as an Atevi Lord and to bring on the inevitable conflict between his loyalty to his biological and his adopted races. Roll on the next episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, Paidhi, 17 July 2010
By 
Stephen M Blank (Altrincham, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this an enjoyable read that fell away rather badly in the last chapter. I suspect CJ Cherryh had to do some serious scene setting for the next books in this series. The action seemed to stop and get replaced with a great deal of introspection about politics and Associations in the South and Weest. Also the relationship between Bren and Jago seemed to have cooled.
Still the series is very enjoyable and it's good to have it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Joyeuse (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great addition to a superlative series and I am resisting the temptation to read the next volume in hardback rather than wait till the neater pb comes out.

This episode sees Bren, the Dowager Aiji and their bodyguards from the Assassin's Guild holding off attacks on the home estate after rescuing an absconding Cajeiri (going stir crazy after his return from space and subsequent adventures in the closing days of rebellion to the disciplines of parental and tutorial supervision)from an ill advised sailing venture in the period after Tabini's return to power as Aiji.

A quiet holiday, in which Bren had hoped to wrestle with the social implications of the likely advent of the mobile phone into Atevi society, turns into unexpected mayhem and, as usual in this series, it is the development of the characters and the exploration of subtle and not so subtle differences in social mores that supports the action.

Long may the Foreigner series continue - it's the only SF series I can think of which sustains itself so well over such a number of volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She can't write them fast enough!, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The latest installment of Cherryh's "Foreigner Series - and I found it un-put-downable. Like the rest of the Series, I'm sure my copy will be read, and re-read, until the next installment becomes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conspirator (Foreigner), 6 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Conspirator (Foreigner Novels) (Hardcover)
Conspirator deals with the continuation of the attempted coup in Deliverer. The bad guys have still not learned that resistance is futile when dealing with Tabini Aiji and his counselor Bren Cameron. CJ is obviously setting us up for the arrival of the Kyo. A couple of plot developments indicate that the increasingly frail Ilisidi will not be taking such an active role in the next adventure. But an increasingly mature Cajeiri has won his father's approval and is likely to use his linguistic and leadership talents to aid Bren in dealing with the Kyo and the trouble on their interstellar border. This novel is about character, plot development and waiting for Cajeiri to grow up. It has earned its place on the bookshelf.Conspirator (Foreigner)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conspirator -- Foreigner Series, 8 July 2009
By 
C. R. Narraway "C J Cherryh fan" (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspirator (Foreigner Novels) (Hardcover)
This series has never lost its excellence and I have read and re-read each book. The characters are all believable and real. As with all her Sci-Fi novels they are difficult to put down and while complicated all contain humour at times. She has become my favourite author of all time. My only complaint -- see 3rd sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 16 Dec 2012
By 
R C Bourget (Granada Hills, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books. Even coming into the middle you can figure out what's up but going back to the start will increase your enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Conspirator review, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book in the Foreigner series. None of the books in this series have been a disappointment. C.J. Cherryh remains my favourite author. If you haven't read anything in this series I recommend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conspirator (Foreigner Novels)
Conspirator (Foreigner Novels) by C. J. Cherryh (Hardcover - 28 April 2009)
15.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews