Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Okay, that's awesome, now where's book four?
This is an excellent continuation to the world of Green Rider; I couldn't put it down. Events pick up not far from where we were left at the end of First Rider's Call and introduce new characters and fresh elements to the plot. There's fresh intrigue with the Eletians, some new Riders to break in and some old enemies to contend with. The characters continue to draw you...
Published on 5 Jan. 2008 by kaidragon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Damaged but readable
A few pages were ripped and bent, and the binding was held together with tape. Still a good book though.
Published on 8 Dec. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Okay, that's awesome, now where's book four?, 5 Jan. 2008
By 
kaidragon (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Green Rider 3) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent continuation to the world of Green Rider; I couldn't put it down. Events pick up not far from where we were left at the end of First Rider's Call and introduce new characters and fresh elements to the plot. There's fresh intrigue with the Eletians, some new Riders to break in and some old enemies to contend with. The characters continue to draw you in and frustrate you in equal measure and there is so much happening that you can't help but wonder if there's anything Kristen Britain didn't think of. The book is excellent and storyline continues to move along, but there are times that you can't help wanting it to move along a little faster.

Everything is starting to tick over, but (despite the fact that the hardback is big enough to cause small earthquakes when dropped) it doesn't take long to realise that there's no possible way for everything to be tied up by the end. You'll finish it, having loved every second, but will be more than frustrated to realise that (a) you'd kind of already figured out some of what was going to happen and were just waiting for Karigan and the others to catch up with you and (b) everything you were really waiting on is still out of reach, because it hasn't happened yet and you have to wait for the next one.

An excellent read, but be prepared to be incredibly frustrated and desperate for more when you finish it.

If you haven't read these books yet, start now; this is definitely one of the best fantasy series' around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating..., 10 Nov. 2007
By 
R. Shutler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Green Rider 3) (Hardcover)
First of all, if you haven't read the first two books you really should before you start this one. The story draws on characters and events seen in both previous books and picks up shortly after the end of First Rider's Call. Regardless of this there is a self contained event here that is concluded to the reader's satisfaction but is still connected to the overall story that seems to be underlying the series so far.
High King's Tomb is entertaining, easily drawing the reader back into Karigan's world, though slow to get going we have a more indepth look into the workings of her world. After such a long wait there isn't much dissapointment regarding characters we've grown to know over the previous books, though some characters that took a much larger role have been reduced to bit parts here.
Unfortunately by the end of High King's Tomb I was left feeling frustrated, the book seemed to be just a platform to set up future events, it had the feel of a fill gap, yes very enjoyable and something to whet my appetite for the follow up, but nothing to move the overall story along or answer any of the questions left hanging at the end of First Rider's Call.
If you liked Green Rider and First Rider's Call you'll like this. If you've been waiting with baited breath for High King's Tomb's release just be prepared to want the next installment all the more after reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the book starts out slow., 21 Dec. 2007
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Green Rider 3) (Hardcover)
Yes it has been a long wait for this book. But I was so happy it finally come out. I couldnt wait to read it. I read slow this time becuase i have a feeling its going to take awhile before the next one comes out. The book starts out slow. but in my view it picks up. I liked how Karigan deals with her feelings about the king. I do wish there was more scences with the king and her. It was nice seeing her finally accept that she is a green rider and that she is good at it. It was nice when she started to be a teacher to a new green rider. It gets really good at the end. I liked how there are no big cliff hangers in the end. yes there is more to come. The wall is not repaired yet. The fight between evil and good is not over yet!! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bk3 well worth the wait!, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
A. M. Archer "wolfgirl" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the 3rd instalment of the green rider series which has been a long time coming and continues the story started in The green rider and The First Riders Call. Further character developments of the complex relationships of the characters continues while the problems of the kingdom past and present swirl about the lead roles. A return of a couple of characters and locations from the first book is a nice touch to the story. Cant wait for the next instalment. This book is a must for fans of the first two and if you haven't read them then get a hold of the green rider and hear the rider's call!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of action, 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Paperback)
Once again my son and I enjoyed reading Kristen's work together. As I have said before, Kristen Britain's writing makes reading aloud a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Her prose flows through my eyes and out of my mouth with no effort on my side.

We are both fans of Karigan G'ladheon's adventures however unlikely they might be. In "The High King's Tomb" you will find plenty of action and political scheming. It is always interesting to see how two sides can be equally certain of how right their points of view are. Following along with Grandmother's fight for the Second Empire is an excellent lesson in just that. Both the followers of the Second Empire and Sacoridia are certain that their way is the right way. I am on Karigan's side, of course, as she is the one I have followed all along. But it is easy to see how it could have been the other way around if Grandmother/the Second Empire had been the ones whose story had been told as a fight for the right side.

Another new player is the Raven Mask. Noble-women swoon and wish for a visit by him in their budoirs or bedchambers. But he is a thief, a thief who is going to have his values challenged.

I love Karigan's teaching experience with Fergal. Two stubborn people travelling together makes for funny situations and lessons in patience for them both.

Alton is another person who has had his patience tested. Getting into the Tower just isn't working for him and he is getting more and more frustrated. All of the effects of the poisons of Blackveil have not worn off yet. Thankfully he gets Dale Littlepage (another Rider) up by the wall. She gets him out of his self-pitying funk.

It is strange how some writers manage to give so much to their readers. Kristen Britain has a talent that has given my adult son and me the opportunity to spend some fun time together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The adventure continues, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Paperback)
This is the third book in the Green Rider series and even though it ended well in the last one, things are yet to be resolved.

The enemy is defeated, and yet he is not. Karigan is in love with the king and he loves her, but this fairy tale can get no happy ending and he is to be married. Which breaks my heart because they love each other and should be able to be together. But I liked her strength as she stays away, her sense of duty and honor is strong.

This book is about Karigan and a new rider being sent away to find something to save the D'Yer wall. We also learn a bit more about her rider gift. Then there is the story of Grandmother, an evil woman who is hiding with followers of the Second Empire. A bunch of evil idiots who wants to take over the country. And last the story of Alton and Dale who is trying to save the D'Yer wall, because for it to fall would mean that the darkness behind will escape. As for the characters, Grandmother is a good bad guy since she believes everything she does is good, and those are always the scariest. Karigan is good as always and I mourn her loss when she is not allowed to be with the one she loves. Then we got the usual baddies and good people trying to do their best in a world in turmoil.

And as the book ends I have no idea what will happen next, and I can't wait to read the next part. What will happen? And most of all, will she be happy? Because I do want happy even if that means not being with the one you loved first.

Conclusion:
An adventurous third part in this saga and I am looking forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crack in the wall, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Third in a series of fantasy novels featuring a main character called Karigan who works as a green rider. This is a special kind of messenger who delivers messages for the monarch in a fantasy kingdom. A typically feudal place with local rulers and a high king and no species other than humans.

Whilst it's a new story for the main cast of characters it does follow on from the earlier books Green Rider and First Rider's Call and although you may be able to get into this if you havent read those you're better off reading the series in order.

Not least because it's very good.

Anyhow, in this volume, karigan is still dealing with her feelings in regards to the king and impending marriage. her father is looking to marry her off. People are still trying to repair the wall that keeps the evil in the forest. And a very nasty lady called grandmother has a group of followers who would like to make some drastic changes to the kingdom. Karigan also has to train a rookie green ride who's a bit of a handful.

All these plot strands will collide and put her in deadly peril once again.

The strength of the first two books was in the characterisation and the detail. The characters were so very believable and did very believable things, and the prose really drew you into the world, making you feel what it would be like to do this kind of riding. The same is true here. Karigan gets into trouble early on, for example, because although she'd become pretty good with a sword she's never had to swordfight whilst wearing a dress. Over the course of the book, she has some more growing up to do.

The engaging writing does carry you through the first hundred of the six hundred and eighty pages easily, but then for the next couple of hundred you may start to think that you don't know where this book is going, as there's precious little incident. hang on in there though because with a couple of hundred pages to go everything does start to come together very well and you will be highly involved in what you are reading.

grandmother is a splendid villainess, because she's three dimenaional. she's a seemingly ordinary person who nonetheless does bad things because she thinks she's in the right. That makes her a very believable character.

All in all another entertaining read in an engaging series. The end does indicate that the story isnt done yet. I look forward to resuming it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great build up for Blackveil, 29 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Paperback)
The third part in this epic series and one that really demonstrates when an authors idea's allow the series to not only grow but expand in an organic pace so that the reader is not only satisfied with what they get but that they know that things won't be rushed or quickly packed up in a neat little bow in the final few pages.

What Kristen does in this title is allow the world to expand, generates new characters to help replace not only those who have been lost but fulfil some of the gaps and also brings great pace as well as dialogue to the series that has been a pure joy to read. Back this up with a great overall plot, some wonderful sleight of hand and a whole host of wicked twists and the reader really has a treat in store. Whilst you can read this title having missed out on the others, I'd recommend starting with Green Rider, after all you'll get the most out of it and by the time you've finished this book you'll be all ready for the fourth book (released June 2011) which many a reader has been waiting for since 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still unoriginal but entertaining, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Paperback)
As usual with these books I'm going to start with the list of new-found nicked ideas. So in this one you have pirates who carry around cursed gold and live unnaturally long lives, a chapter called 'Avatar' and the mention of dragons that used to be around but are now just myths... Along with all the others that have been around since the beginning of the series. Oh dear.
But finally there is the glimmer of some original ideas which are creative and in some cases outstanding. I particularly loved the description of the tombs, which we see more of in this book. There was one part which I thought was pushing the believability a little too far in terms of Karigan's character and abilities, but this is a fantasy so I suppose anything is possible.
I still love this series and am now starting the 4th book, which is currently the last. I have no idea when the 5th instalment is out so it looks like I'll be waiting a while, which makes me a bit sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read., 16 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The High King's Tomb (Paperback)
Of the three books so far, I found this one the best in terms of plot and pace. I really liked the Raven Mask character (romantic that I am) and am left wanting to know how the relationship between him and Karigan progresses, as well as Karigan's relationship with the King. Of course romance aside, it would be great to find out how 'good' overcomes 'evil' with it all coming to a climax in the next book, however reading reviews of the fourth book it seems only disappointment is to come.

Considering it has taken me great effort to read through the first two books (which I persevered with due to this having been a recommendation from a friend) to get to this one, I'm not confident I will continue reading on in the series.. which I feel is a shame for the potential I felt this had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The High King's Tomb (Green Rider 3)
The High King's Tomb (Green Rider 3) by Kristen Britain (Hardcover - 6 Nov. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews