Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic First Encounter
The Foreigner series, I think, is one you either love or hate, depending on whether you buy into the character of the protagonist, Cameron.

The story in the Foreigner series starts start rather slowly and awkwardly due to heavy dose of background material. Once one has passed that initial humpt, though, the action picks up and Cherryh starts doing what Cherryh...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Michael A.

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but......
Explorer (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Universe Books)Deliverer (Foreigner Universe Books)Pretender (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Universe Books)Defender (Foreigner Universe Books)
Unlike many of CJ's earlier works, including the Chanur and Alliance Space novels, the Foreigner series is about 6 books too long. The initial setting is limited in scope...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by A. Swiecicki


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic First Encounter, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: Foreigner: 10th Anniversary Edition (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Foreigner series, I think, is one you either love or hate, depending on whether you buy into the character of the protagonist, Cameron.

The story in the Foreigner series starts start rather slowly and awkwardly due to heavy dose of background material. Once one has passed that initial humpt, though, the action picks up and Cherryh starts doing what Cherryh does best (in my opinion) - spinning a tale of a believable alien race that is just different enough from us to be really believable. If you've read others of Cherryh's first contact stories and liked them, this one comes highly recommended.

A note of caution though: this is very much the first book of a series and to really understand the events of Foreigner, you need to at least read the two next books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Book, 1 July 2008
By 
D. B. Rose (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foreigner: 10th Anniversary Edition (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
The foreigner series, especially the first three novels, are an outstanding achievement.

In 'Foreigner', the subject matter underpinning the - gripping - story line includes communication with an alien mindset; relationships both personal and political; intercultural impact and the exchange, to some extent, of different values.
A unique diplomat is the vital go-between for a lost group of humans and the atevi alien race. For the atevi, diplomatic options include assassination. The characters, human and alien, all have real, convincing personalities, and the action sequences, especially in the later part of the book, are fast moving and enthralling. I defy anyone to read this book, and then not want to read the volumes following!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but......, 14 Sep 2008
By 
A. Swiecicki "6whiskeys" (Vietnam, UK, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foreigner: 10th Anniversary Edition (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Explorer (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Universe Books)Deliverer (Foreigner Universe Books)Pretender (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Universe Books)Defender (Foreigner Universe Books)
Unlike many of CJ's earlier works, including the Chanur and Alliance Space novels, the Foreigner series is about 6 books too long. The initial setting is limited in scope and the plot lines become increasingly attenuated as the series progresses.Ok...ok I admit that the characterisation is good but enough already! The last book can be summarised a couple of sentences - a kid gets kidnapped and then, after a chase through a snow-shrouded landscape, he escapes. End of story. Come on Cherryh - you used to cover light years, alien mind-sets and space opera with mind-expanding ease. You need to stop this increasingly tedious series and invent again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foreigner: 10th Anniversary Edition (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
The first book in a brilliant series. I have now stated buying them for my Nephew who I know will enjoy them as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AND SO IT ALL BEGAN, 17 Oct 2012
By 
James L. Munro "Jim Munro" (Farnham Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually have an acute phobic attack when it comes to stories which appear in seemingly endless episodes bound in brick thick volumes - you'll know the ones I mean - but this is different. Somehow, the unfolding story of the world of the Atevi and of Bren Cameron's relationships within that world is just as engaging as it was when this first volume was published. It is sobering to think that so much has passed in real and book time since then and yet the series is still fresh and fascinating.Partly because the characters are believable, partly because there is always more to discover about the Atevi, but mainly because the plot is so well crafted that you are always left wanting to know what happens next. Will the Kyo suddenly appear in orbit? Will the Phoenix ever rediscover the lost route back to Earth? What happens if Illisidi dies? If you haven't read this yet,buy it and take the first step into an enthralling world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good way to start a series, 13 Sep 2002
This review is from: Foreigner (Paperback)
The book throws you right into a world of intrigue and confusion, brilliantly describing the simple complications of a first encounter situation. From there the story works well, but is not truely oustanding. It acts as a good base for the rest of the series (up to 'Precursor') and I would feel that anyone who reads this novel will eagerly devour the rest of the series. Please read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foreigner: 10th Anniversary Edition (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Novels)
Foreigner: 10th Anniversary Edition (Foreigner Universe Books) (Foreigner Novels) by C. J. Cherryh (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Dec 2004)
4.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews