Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gates of Sleep
An excellent new addition to the world of, 'The Fire Rose' and 'The Serpents Shadow.'
All these stories are extremly loosly based on popular fairy tales, although you do have to look quite hard to find the links.
The Gates of Sleep is set in a somewhat alternative Victorian Time, where some people have a link to a particular element such as Water. This enables...
Published on 14 Oct 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Gates of Sleep
I agree with the review by gegi on 9 July 2009 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0756401011/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_img_sol_10). I don't think there was enough time spent developing the characters in this book.The plot seems to have taken a backseat in favour of long rambling descriptions of scenery and I was left with too many unanswered questions at the end. The turn of...
Published 14 months ago by J. Quah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gates of Sleep, 14 Oct 2002
By A Customer
An excellent new addition to the world of, 'The Fire Rose' and 'The Serpents Shadow.'
All these stories are extremly loosly based on popular fairy tales, although you do have to look quite hard to find the links.
The Gates of Sleep is set in a somewhat alternative Victorian Time, where some people have a link to a particular element such as Water. This enables them to command mythical creatures linked to that element and to perform magical feats.
Some of the plot features parallel 'Sleeping Beauty,' with a curse being cast on the main character which is eventually triggered. However the inclusion of the Arts and Crafts Movement, Factory conditions and the 'prince' who is in fact a doctor give it a very different slant.
Overall a fantastic book, as are the other two. I eagerly await the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Gates of Sleep, 28 April 2013
By 
J. Quah (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gates of Sleep: Elemental Masters #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with the review by gegi on 9 July 2009 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0756401011/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_img_sol_10). I don't think there was enough time spent developing the characters in this book.The plot seems to have taken a backseat in favour of long rambling descriptions of scenery and I was left with too many unanswered questions at the end. The turn of events did not make much sense, especially the battle scenes and sudden love interest which felt like a 'quick-fix' to end the story.

I had hoped that this book would follow in the footsteps of The Serpents Shadow (which I really enjoyed!), but was slightly disappointed when I finally closed the book. All the 'good' characters seem too good to be true (to the point where Marina is slightly annoying) and the 'bad' characters are too predictable. I hope the rest of the Elemental series are better books than this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mercedes lackey, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Gates of Sleep: Elemental Masters #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
She can do no wrong in my eyes. As an aspiring writer myself she is a brilliant role model. Once again she has produced a book I was loth to put down till I'd read it from cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A complete misfire, 9 July 2008
This review is from: The Gates of Sleep: Elemental Masters #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
This is attempt at reframing 'Sleeping Beauty' within the setting of industrial England and Mercedes Lackey's Elemental Masters series. However, the plot just doesn't work, and is completely absent for large stretches of the book, which are instead busy talking about how wonderful it is to be an Elemental Master and how misguided everyone else is.

The villain is known from the very beginning of the book (no suspense) but WHY she does what she does is completely unknown to the very end. Her schemes simply make no sense. If she has the power to murder powerful magicians at a whim, why does she instead waste power on a complicated curse for a helpless infant, and then seem unable to actually carry out that curse until the writer realised the book was almost over and it had better get on with the plot? What was the point of cursing her anyway? What was she doing with all her supposed power?

No one really carries out any plans - when the final crisis comes, it is quickly solved without us having to wonder about how, and all the actions taken by characters earlier in the story are completely meaningless. And then we're suddenly told two characters who have barely interacted are in love and are going to get married.

About all you can draw from this story is that pottery factories are bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gates of Sleep: Elemental Masters #2
The Gates of Sleep: Elemental Masters #2 by Mercedes Lackey (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Feb 2008)
5.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews